We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss This”

Black Heritage Trail
Ranked #56 of 143 Tours in Boston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Operated by the National Park Service, this is a walking tour of Boston's 19th-century African-American history. Tthe Black Heritage Trail focuses on the emerging free black community of the 1800s and their leading efforts in the Abolition Movement, the Underground Railroad, and the early struggles for equality and justice. The tour's focus is on the years between 1783 when Massachusetts abolished slavery to 1865 when slavery was abolished nationwide after the Civil War.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I learned so much on this guided tour. Our American history books never covered all that I learned, and it answered so many questions that i had. This was one of the highlights of our trip to Boston. The guide was so knowledgeable and added so much we would never have known if we had just walked the trail alone. I can't encourage you enough to take advantage of this free tour.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank NRuthC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    4
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This tour was the best tour I have done during my 2 days in Boston. You meet a Ranger for free and he takes you around beacon hill. Great combination between historical part of the freedom as well a amazing view of this part of the city. A must do.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lau167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not to be missed - amazing tour”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This walking tour is run by the Park Service so it's free - but it would still be worth every penny whatever they charged. This is a tour that focuses on the experiences of black americans in Boston from their arrival as slaves through emancipation. The houses and buildings you see are interesting, but the fascinating thing about this tour is the encyclopedic knowledge of the guide about individuals and events that shaped Boston society. They have stories about every stop on the tour and relate each stop to a particular individual or event so you can feel - even if just for a moment - the struggle experienced every day for equality and freedom. It was an amazing glimpse of another world for this white Canadian, and I wouldn't have missed it for the world.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingCanuckYOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing self guided tour”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Interesting and informative information on the Black Heritage Trail. We downloaded the pdf maps of the trail, and wasted an hour playing find the buildings. Our take away from this attempt was, that this is not a tour to take without a guide, because for some unfathomable reason, the locations which are supposed to have such historical significance have no markers.

We spent a lot of time saying, "oops, i think we passed it". Apart from the lack of markers we had to spend way too much time sidestepping dog poop on the cobblestone sidewalks, "pick-up after your dogs, neighbors".

If you too decide to forego the guided tour, then put your map away, meander around Beacon Hill, a charming neighborhood, then relax in the park or one of the many Starbucks and read all about the Black Heritage 'landmarks'.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The self guided tour was disappointing”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We decided to do the self guided tour using the leaflet handed out at the museum so that we could go at our own pace, however, this turned out to be a mistake. The leaflet itself was interesting, however, walking around and seeing the various buildings from the outside didn't really add anything to the experience. If I have the opportunity to go again, I will certainly take a guided tour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank miss_muriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Heritage Trail also viewed

 

Been to Black Heritage Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing