We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I could spend an entire day!”

Museum of Fine Arts
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.00*
and up
Go Boston Card
Ranked #2 of 382 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Boston's oldest, largest and best-known art institution, the MFA houses one of the world's most comprehensive art collections and is renowned for its Impressionist paintings, Asian and Egyptian collections and early American art.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wish I could spend an entire day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Love the Boston MFA! I've visited on two previous trips to Boston and I never have enough time to just wander. It's quite enjoyable and the exhibit on the Impressionists was especially wonderful. If you enjoy this sort of place, block out as much time as possible. We went on a Wednesday evening at 4:00 when entry is by "voluntary donation."

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank weeswap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,858
    1,106
    156
    26
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful Museum and Collections”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

I used to come here regularly as a child, but haven't been in years - I was so pleased with my visit last month!

I prefer sculpture and artifacts to paintings and drawings, so the large "ancient world" wings were where I spent most of my time. Their pieces from Egypt are wonderful, and beautifully laid out. I enjoy the dark rooms, and the displays of the pieces draw all of your attention to the piece itself.

It isn't too huge, so you're not overwhelmed. I would recommend two visits to be fully satisfied, but a well planned single visit could work quite well. The coat check is free, which is great for coats along with bags. There are several cafes with varying prices, so be sure to check your map!

I'm looking forward to keeping my eye on special exhibits and returning in the near future. Or just making a return visit with a sketch book!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Native_Maine-ah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just plain a lot of great art, a second rate museum just behind the Met-Louvre tier. Much above the Getty. Famous portraits of founding fathers, including the handsome John Hancock and the dwarf-like Adams brothers. Also, a lot of great French impressionist paintings, collected by Bostonians when the French thought impressionism was rubbish.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter33851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the Best Art Museums I've Ever Visited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

I have been to the Museum of Fine Arts many times over the years. Each time I fall more in love. The Museum boasts one of the finest collection of Old Kingdom Egyptian art in the world. Apart from the Egyptian section, my other person favorite is the museum's collection of Dutch Renaissance paintings. I especially love the Frans Hals portrait of a man and the tiny Rembrandt sell portrait. The new Art of the America's wing, which contains artwork from Copley and Sargent and silver from Paul Revere, is also well-worth the visit.

The building of the MFA is also worth seeing. The rotunda is beautiful and there are several Sargent murals. The courtyard is also a nice place to relax on a sunny day.

The museum's special exhibitions tend to get crowded so I would recommend visiting these exhibits on weekdays if at all possible. Also, on Wednesday nights the museum offers free drawing supplies for the public to use to sketch the artwork or clothed models.

The MFA is a must see for any art lover in the Boston area!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen71690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
“Worth the visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

very big collection. World class. A real cross section of work covering a variety of periods and movements throughout history.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Fine Arts also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Fine Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing