We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great museum”

Museum of Fine Arts
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.00*
and up
Go Boston Card
Ranked #2 of 392 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Boston's oldest, largest and best-known art institution, the MFA houses one of the world's most comprehensive art collections and is renowned for its Impressionist paintings, Asian and Egyptian collections and early American art.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
291 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great museum”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

MFI is a fantastic museum containing plenty of artefacts from ancient Egypt, but it contains some fabulous pieces of art from the best known European artists. Unless you really want detail, I would avoid the audio guide. $25 adult entry - worth every cent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mini_d51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,049
    1,139
    160
    26
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Boston's MFA and the American Impressionists”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Nothing to dislike about one of the great art museums in the country, certainly one of the best on the New England Coast. If you like Winslow Homer and many of the American Impressionists, this is your museum.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Exhausting”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The building is intimidatingly huge with a great deal of empty space, requiring cruel amounts of walking. The entrance fee is $25 - more than almost any comparable place. The collections are well done, but a lot of the European art is second rate. Best thing is the reconstructions of American rooms from 18th and 19th centuries. Although the so-called 18th century furniture is so impossibly clean, it can never have been used and preserved for over 200 years.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Becky0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Rich immerse moment in history with great guide”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a fabulous experience with just too much to see, so we chose to join the free tour of samples of world art over time. Both of us had been to Egypt but had not seen the exquisite carvings of the afterlife companions. We loved the American paintings and learned so much about their history - we were full up but would love to go again! So much more to see.
We also loved the glass of wine in the bar and the gift shops! Lovely choices of top value!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DrJanetHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“From 10am to 5pm--a WOW experience”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Something for every aged individual--and all of the selections within the exhibits are really the very best examples. We loved the Musical Instruments, the Jewelry, the Art of the America's and Rembrandt's etchings the best. Lane photography collection is also splendid. The American Cafe on Level 1 had some interesting and very good menu choices. I asked for something that didn't come with my order and was accommodated easily. Restrooms are clean and information desk very friendly and helpful.

Get the sound guide if you don't go on any of the guided tours--we got so interested in what we were seeing that we missed both tours we wanted to take. Be sure to check the batteries on the guides to make sure they all fully charged before going on to the exhibits.

Don't try to see everything--it's really a grand place, and you'll want to take your time with what you DO see. We came when the museum opened and stayed until closing on a Saturday, and we couldn't believe how quickly our time went. Do not miss this art museum.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BJLarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Fine Arts also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Fine Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing