We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Stunning Samurai Special Exhibit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Fine Arts

Museum of Fine Arts
Book In Advance
$54*
and up
Go Boston Card
Ranked #2 of 371 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Boston's oldest, largest and best-known art institution, the MFA houses one of the world's most comprehensive art collections and is renowned for its Impressionist paintings, Asian and Egyptian collections and early American art.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stunning Samurai Special Exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We really enjoyed the portraits from the revolutionary war period and the Samurai Armor exhibit was absolutely stunning!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DPLPtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,249
    985
    139
    23
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Statesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
284 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

One of the best Egyptian collections in the world. The American arts section is also outstanding. Truly a world class museum.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kagatlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“World class museum for all ages and interests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Recently spent three hours there to see the Michelangelo "Sacred and Profane" special exhibit, as well as "Saumurai!" Both were excellent. The staff are very friendly throughout the museum. Used a pass from my public library to hold down the cost, but a museum membership can pay for itself in two visits. Even the floral arrangements at the ticket office and the information desks are spectacular. This is worth making a special effort to visit, not just 'if it's on my way."

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BostonBeanTowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
374 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Amazing...once in a lifetime show...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I don't want to be over dramatic...but...unless you are travelling to Japan, your chances of seeing something like this are pretty slim...when you think some of the stuff is 700 years old...or more...amazing.

I would like to have seen more swords though.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rkjlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

First off, I'm not a big museum person. When I saw this was rated as the #1 attraction in Boston, I was skeptical.... until I went. Hands down, this is a must-do activity while in Boston. The MFA displays amazing art (of all varieties), is well laid out, and is very clean. We spent ~4hrs wandering the halls, enjoying the exhibits. As of June 2013, they have an awesome Samurai exhibit that was worth the price of admission alone. They also display all the big names people love to drop: Michelangelo, Picasso, Monet, Degas, Cezanne, Van Gogh, etc. Those are nice and all, but some of the lesser-known, more contemporary artists shine. I agree with the other reviews that put the MFA on par with the nation's other top museums. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Fine Arts also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Fine Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing