We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trinity Church

Trinity Church
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Boston Freedom Trail to Copley Square Walking Tour
Ranked #33 of 382 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This National Historic Landmark, one of America's great buildings, was built in 1877 by architect H.H. Richardson.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This place is beautiful. I'm not a religious person, but I enjoyed the beauty and history here. Have to pay to tour, but still pretty neat

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chelle725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    223
    64
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An island of calm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Trinity was in the original list of the USA's top 10 important buildings and is the only one still there! Compared to many European cathedrals, Trinity is just a baby but it has the same aura of peace, tranquillity and awe. Some of the glasswork is the best that I have seen anywhere in the world (because the artist didn't know what he was supposed to do!) and after the commerciality and noise of Boylston Street, this is a welcome rest.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul1810Mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“beautiful old church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I went to a Sunday morning service there on a recent trip to Boston. What a beautiful old sanctuary, reminiscent of old cathedrals in Europe. I think you have to pay to tour it if you do not go to a service but it is definitely worth seeing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SophiesMom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the donation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a beautiful church, with beautiful woodwork and stained glass windows--like all of the reviews have said. Be glad to make the donation for a self-guided tour, and know you are helping to save a beautiful piece of our nation's history. These landmarks may be lost one day, so I am happy to make a donation to any of these beautiful churches, to have the opportunity to take in the beauty and craftsmanship.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of America's Top 10 Historical Pieces of Architecture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Known as one of America's top 10 historical pieces of architecture, Trinity Church is a must visit. As a local Bostonian, this was my first time inside and it was an awe-inspiring visit. From stain glass to carved wood, to amazing sound, you will be pleased you went in. And of course, notice the historical significance of the John Hancock building right across the street built in glass so as to architecturally reflect the beauty of the exterior of Trinity Church, giving the impression of old and new together, and maintaining the historical value of Trinity Church at the same time. Simply, gorgeous.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mlle_Cosmopolite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trinity Church also viewed

 

Been to Trinity Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing