We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Electrifying Experience!”
Review of Museum of Science

Museum of Science
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$56.00*
and up
Boston CityPASS
Ranked #20 of 392 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Spend a couple of hours or the whole day at this hands-on museum that has something exciting for everyone. Touch a lizard, watch chickens hatching, see lightning being created and enjoy hundreds of other exhibits, where you can't help but learn something new about science and technology. Hold onto the edge of your seat at the IMAX movie theater, which costs extra.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Cavendish, Vermont
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Electrifying Experience!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I had never been to Museum of Science as a child, but I could see children having so much fun. There are so many experiences to see and hear. It's definitely worth stopping by for the experience and the Electricity Show was truly enlighting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DBG1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,589
    643
    251
    85
    45
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
270 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A Must See For Kids”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My kids and I loved this museum. There are a lot of hands-on exhibits and also different types of displays of different types of science (life science, chemistry, etc). The Mathematica exhibit if a lot of fun even if you aren't very good at math. There is a cafeteria that serves lunch- pasta, sandwiches, etc. It's not too terribly expensive. You can also bring your own lunch. The IMAX theater is typical of most others across the country- we saw the movie on the sea and pollution- it was excellent. Many of these exhibits have stood the test of time and my husband still remembers some of them from his childhood. We spent all morning and half of the afternoon here- crowded with lots of school kids in the morning but no one was there in the afternoon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jen_K_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“great museum for adults and children”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I went to see the Dead Sea Scrolls, but ended up going back and spending hours just wandering around. I saw a demonstration on lightning and another on the use of nanos in everyday life. The presentations were well done and professional. Lots to learn for children and adults. I will go back often when I am visiting Boston.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SophiesMom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My family came to see the Dead Sea Scrolls Exhibit. It was very extensive and displayed very well. I was truly impressed. What an awesome opportunity to see this important history! I will return again for other exhibits.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dftis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
110 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Definate Must-see in Boston”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

One of the Best Science museums Ever! To do the entire museum justice, one would have to spend more than 3-4 hours. There are many hands-on exhibits (especially on the upper level by the Electricity show), with docents/volunteers available to explain and instruct. Speaking of the electricity show, it's a Must See. No additional entry for it, and it IS loud. If you watch from the upper levels it's not as loud d/t the plexi. Many of the other exhibits mentioned require an additional entry, so check the website. The choices and quality of the cafeteria food was suprisingly good, and the views of the Charles and downtown- not bad either! Everything (including gift shop) is nicely wheelchair accessible.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Science also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing