We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“World Class Science Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Science

Museum of Science
Book In Advance
$54*
and up
Go Boston Card
Ranked #21 of 371 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Spend a couple of hours or the whole day at this hands-on museum that has something exciting for everyone. Touch a lizard, watch chickens hatching, see lightning being created and enjoy hundreds of other exhibits, where you can't help but learn something new about science and technology. Hold onto the edge of your seat at the IMAX movie theater, which costs extra.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Brookline, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“World Class Science Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Really awesome exhibits, always fun, great if you are visiting Boston from out-of-town with children. Even without kids, if you like (or want to learn more about) science, this is a must see attraction in Boston.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lance K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,398
    553
    232
    74
    42
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
AUSTIN
Level Contributor
142 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Extraordinary for children and adults”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great planetarium and theater as well as hands-on exhibits. Also great for handicapped folks-- they have electric mobility carts for free.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JONATHON L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best museums”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Wonderful place for all ages, kids and parents enjoyed equally. Very compact place with lots and lots to see and experience, we spend there almost 6 hours and could go back any day to finish the parts we did not yet get to see.
iMax: Very nice show about orphan animals, very good for kids in 5 and 8 y age
Simulator: Bit overreated, if it were real movie not a cartoon I would be more impressed, good experience anyway
Electricity show: Very cool, my 8 year son was thrilled and kept talking about it for the rest of the night

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jukka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslindale, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to spend the day with kids .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great place to spend the day with kids ! We have a membership we go about 10 times a years . Something new all the time . You can have a picnic when you go ,they have tables . That is what we do or you can buy good food from them .They do have good fast food .

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Mammoths and Mastadons: Titans of the Ice Age”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our family really enjoyed seeing this new exhibit at the Museum of Science the other day. Even my 13 year old was intrigued by the exhibits. Seeing the sheer size of these ancient creatures and actual fossils was very educational. Hands-on exhibits were fun and in good working order. The exhibit is included with regular museum admission and no timed tickets are needed. Always enjoy the musical stairway that leads to the special exhibit hall near the Omni Theatre and Planetarium. We also took the Boston Duck Tours for the first time today. On Veteran's Day, veterans get to ride free and family members could ride for only $10. The tour was great and I learned some things about Boston I did not know, even though I lived in MA for a long time. I would recommend adding this to a day at the Museum, but pick a warm day and look for discounts.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TrekkerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Science also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing