We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING”
Review of The Boston Pops

The Boston Pops
Ranked #48 of 392 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Conductor Keith Lockhart leads the orchestra at Symphony Hall and on the Charles River Esplanade.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We actually were on a business trip in which my husbands company had their awards dinner here with the Boston Pops Jazz Orchestra playing for us. I cannot say enough how awesome this experience was. It is absolutely gorgeous inside and what a show!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sloaneparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    48
    15
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
335 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Best of the Pops”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Amazing venue - beautiful! We sat on the main floor - cafe tables and chairs and ordered drinks and snacks for the performance. First half was a medley and second half was a fantastic show by Melissa Etheridge. Wonderful!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful music.”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I love the Boston Pops. The music is excellent with a wide variety of offerings, from classical to Broadway shows to the latest innovations. If you're in Boston in July, go for the free concert at the bandshelll on July 4.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gayle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Wow Wow Wow-don't wait until you're in Boston to secure tix as I did...”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

and lucked out, after waiting forty minutes, managed to buy the ONLY return seat for a sold out show where John Williams returned to conduct music from the movies. It was a floor seat, and, as I had no time for dinner, wound up spending almost as much as the seat itself. A mandatory 18% gratuity is added to all service. No food/beverage service in the upper or lower balconies. Symphony Hall is a magical venue. So, if not later this season- plan in advance for next summer!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonagold4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
114 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Do not miss!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

If you're here at the right time of year and if you do only one thing, do this (and whale watching if possible!). I booked just two days before and got great seats in the centre of balcony 1, (there are 2) at around $65 for the memory of a life time - John Williams conducting his classic film scores from such classics as Star Wars, Memoirs of a Geisha, and a surprisingly emotional Empire of the Sun.
Staff taking my booking over the phone were very thorough. The ushers on the night very helpful and respectful and quite good at 'organising' school kids too! People dress well but not overly formal unless by choice and in the stalls, you can enjoy drinks brought to your table. But it's not about ostentation and status, it's about the sheer enjoyment of the music which on this night just happened to be Mr Williams's annual treat for us who so love movies and where, in this hallowed space beneath the Greek statues, ovations, richly deserved, rounded off a sublime evening. I'll never forget it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank maddoghere4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boston Pops also viewed

 

Been to The Boston Pops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing