We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas Eve Concert.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Boston Pops

The Boston Pops
Ranked #48 of 383 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Conductor Keith Lockhart leads the orchestra at Symphony Hall and on the Charles River Esplanade.
Chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Christmas Eve Concert.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

The music and chorus was beautiful. At the pops they have small tables on the main floor surrounded by five chairs. More chairs than space. Felt very cramped but the music and the acoustics are excellent. It was a great way to celebrate the holiday.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank HiFred123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    48
    15
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Boston Christmas tradition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Our family went to Symphony Hall the weekend before Christmas to see the Christmas POPs. The show has something for everyone, with our college freshman daughter singing along with her grandmother. The visit from Santa, the Polar Express reading, and the 12 days of Christmas were the highlights for me but the entire show was fantastic. I like the first row of the first level in the center to see the whole stage - we have been to "regular" POPs concerts on the floor and were jostled and felt cramped. I would recommend this experience to anyone in Boston over the holidays.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank dupetersentravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Boston Pops on the Fourth of July”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

This experience was one-of-a-kind! The music was unbelievable and the location was along the Charles River at the Esplanade. We arrived at 9am and left around 1am. It was an extremely long day, but WELL WORTH IT! The Patriotic spirit was incredible and it really emphasized how great it is to be an American! Definitely check out this location along the river if you can't make it to a performance.

Helpful?
1 Thank Joey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our first time at Symphony Hall & to see the Christmas Pops. A beautiful special Christmas gift for our family. What a gorgeous venue. Sound is amazing.So much fun. Highly recommend.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bridget A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic night at the Pops”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Definitely a Boston tradition. We had a table toward the front center, these aren't ideal as you can't see the entire stage, but you are close enough to talk to the musicians. The long time conductor always adds an enormous amount of energy to the room and of course singing carol's with the rest of the Hall is always fun. We found the space around the table to be very small however, I think those tables looked bigger from the upper levels :) it was a tight space but once the music began it wasn't an issue. We all loved it and will return next year as part of our Holiday tradition. I would always recommend seeing the Pops in Boston during a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank chris1gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boston Pops also viewed

 

Been to The Boston Pops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing