We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful Venue.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boston Pops

The Boston Pops
Ranked #36 of 369 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Conductor Keith Lockhart leads the orchestra at Symphony Hall and on the Charles River Esplanade.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Venue.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I recently saw the Boston Pops tribute to Marvin Hamlisch. It was wonderful. I was traveling alone and spur of the moment decided to attend the concert. I bought the best "cheap seat" available and was advised that I could get a closer seat on the side of the theater. :( I could only see 3/4 of the Pops Orchestra. Next time I will go for a seat that faces the stage full on, no matter how far away it is.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank awalua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    45
    14
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
526 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“A grand traditon that never fails to please”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Boston Pops is a tradition that never grows stale. The quality of playing with members drawn from the Boston Symphony is world class. The programs are a mix of classical and popular music that strikes an ideal balance. On our latest visit music from the movies was the theme and a sequence from Pixar films had accompanying film clips. Seating on the floor is at tables for five with drink and snacks served by the wait staff. Everyone seemed to leave with a smile on his face. This is an attraction that should not be missed during their Spring and early Summer season. There is also a brief run as Christmas Pops.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarpeNox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
136 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Brillant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

A wonderful evening a must if you are in Boston at this time.Atmosphere great, audience out to have a fantastic evening.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank hollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
154 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Performance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

John Williams directed and orchestra played many of his movie scores. A wonderful experience. Only dislike is the way the audience is "packed in" with no knee room.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jimbob44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,MA
Level Contributor
223 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“I have enjoyed the pops since I was a kid, now I bring my kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This event is indescribable. It means something different to everyone, but it is always a special and unique feeling. The music will just take you away. This is definitely a Boston gem!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank BostonBabeBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boston Pops also viewed

 

Been to The Boston Pops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing