We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic and free!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boston Public Library

Boston Public Library
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Boston Freedom Trail to Copley Square Walking Tour
Ranked #6 of 379 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: On the National Register of Historic Places, the library opened in 1852 as the first free, publicly-supported municipal library in America.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic and free!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We decided to check out the Boston Public Library's art and architecture tour and were absolutely thrilled that we did! The well-informed docent led us through the beautiful McKim building with it's sculpted bronze doors, marble floors, and fabulous murals. We had no idea what a treasure this building is and would highly recommend to all.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alwaysplanning11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,943
    713
    78
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Free and good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

The exhibit are small and limited,but its good.nice place to hang for an hour.i love the painting on the wall and the nice back yard in the middle of thr museum

Helpful?
Thank solo808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Free exhibit near entrance-Boston's Sports Venues/history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We live in Boston & happened to be walking by and saw the exhibit signage, so we walked in. We really enjoyed learning about the history of Fenway (thought we knew it all), why the location was selected, how seating expanded over the years... Same for Boston Garden and why the floor was made of screws parquet floor squares back in the day & how fast the "screw crew" could lay down or pick up the floor when changing basketball to hockey. There is so much more, including BU Matthews arena!!!! It is a self walk style exhibit....need about 20-30 minutes and best part is it is absolutely FREE!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank love2travelKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, ME
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“If you love history - THIS is wonderful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

There are tours of this place - I would definitely recommend making arrangements to get the back story on this place. The artwork alone is amazing (some of the premier American artists are integral to this library - which is the oldest one in North America), but the stories about how the art work came to be there are equally amazing. This place is a treasure. After wandering around, make sure to stop in to the cafe for some excellent food.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank seefleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
235 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Free to All”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

As a museum and history buff, and a Boston denizen for over 30 years, I cannot belief we never visited the BPL before! In fact, we thought we had really run out things to do in Beantown and were looking to kill a bit of time before a movie. Now, I would put the BPL on my top 10 list!

The Boston Public library was the nation's first and this building (not the original home of BPL) was constructed as a showpiece to American architecture and craftsmanship. From the inscription over the entrance (Free to All) to the John Singer Sargent Murals every facet of our tour was both educational and artistic. I highly recommend a free (of course) docent tour - it will be the best hour you'll spend in the Back Bay.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pcyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Public Library also viewed

 

Been to Boston Public Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing