We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Be prepared to be moved!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New England Holocaust Memorial

New England Holocaust Memorial
Book In Advance
$25.00*
and up
Boston Jewish Culture Walking Tour
Ranked #9 of 371 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The six glass towers of this striking memorial serve to represent the six million Jews who perished in the Holocaust, six main Nazi death camps and the candles on a menorah.
Salem, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Be prepared to be moved!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Bring your kleenex, you'll need them. A warm, sunny day makes it easier to spend the time needed to fully appreciate the impact. Near City Hall and other sites!

Helpful?
Thank Charlie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,204
    395
    85
    17
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Powerful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This wasn't something we planned to see & it isn't to be missed. The quotes are powerful & the numbers of people involved is staggering. We went after lunch & was a sobering experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CUBuffFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful and heartbreaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Something every person should visit. It was overwhelming, really. The design is genius - one of the most moving memorials I have ever visited.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So touching!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I brought my 3 daughters to see the holocaust memorial this weekend, before their shopping adventure. They were reluctant at first but afterwards understood why I insisted they came to see the memorial with me. It is touching by its simplicity and overwhelming with the numbers engraved in the glass towers. Very much worth it! It is part of history which deserves reflexion!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sychel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Time for sobering thoughts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We liked the unique design of the memorial and its convenient location. A lot of thought had gone into the design to preserve the memory of those to be remembered..

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bracknellwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New England Holocaust Memorial also viewed

 

Been to New England Holocaust Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing