We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel along the road to the birth of America.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freedom Trail

Freedom Trail
Book In Advance
$40*
and up
PhotoWalks Freedom Trail Tour
Ranked #3 of 371 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The red line on the sidewalk leads you on this 2.5-mile, self-guided tour of American Revolution sites. It starts at the Boston Common, America's oldest public park, and ends at the famed Bunker Hill Monument.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Travel along the road to the birth of America.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

What a great trip along the historical route of the British army and the the Revolutionary forces. Fascinating to see the places and hear the names of those involved in this significant era in US history. .

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DunKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,895
    2,683
    464
    52
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
655 reviews
297 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Nice way to get a lay of the land”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a 2.5 mile trail that takes you past some of the most historic buildings and sites in Boston. It's an easy walk. There are sites you can down load maps and info.

Tip: from Faneuil Hall there are free National Park Service tours of the south portion of the Trail, and also free Park Service tours of the Bunker Hill area that leave from the Constitution. Definitely a nice way to learn a little more about the places you are seeing.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 3RedDoxies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gotta walk it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is it. Where it all began. Follow the walking trail or take a tour. Lots of stops, great restaurants, shopping, sights to see!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charlie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge U.K.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Do the Freedom Trail backwards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Take the trail in the opposite direction from the rest of the visitors! Take the ferry from Aquarium across the harbour to the USS Constitution and visit the museums and the ship. Then visit Bunker Hill and climb the monument while you are still fresh. Then do the rest of the trail.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank IanTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Must do experience in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Freedom Trail is not for the faint of heart ! ... if you're doing it by foot that is. My boyfriend and I stayed in Boston for Thanksgiving weekend and decided to do the Freedom Tour on Thanksgiving Day. We were lucky with beautiful weather and started in the morning about 10am. We decided to do the trail ourselves walking and altogether walked about 6 miles or so (did the whole trail back as well, we love to walk!) and loved every minute of it. It was so fascinating to see the history of our country and where history was made. Some of our favorites were the old cemeteries, and the spot of the Boston Massacre and first reading of the Declaration of Independece, and the USS Constitution. All of the spots were special in their own way - it was a little sad to see that the old corner bookstore is now a Chipotle, I have a feeling it would have been very charming if it were still original. It was also really interesting to see all of the different parts of the city (Little Italy, etc.) each part has a different vibe of its own. If you are planning to do a lot of walking then wear comfy shoes ! It's definitely doable to walk the whole city but just leave yourself several hours to really do some exploring. Highly recommend this if you are visiting Boston, it's a great way to connect with our heritage and ancestors and really feel a great sense of pride and patriotism to our country, it made us proud to be Americans !

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KellyAnnL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freedom Trail also viewed

 

Been to Freedom Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing