We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent walk with added interest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freedom Trail

Freedom Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$236.40*
and up
Private Boston Freedom Trail Tour with Driver
Ranked #3 of 379 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The red line on the sidewalk leads you on this 2.5-mile, self-guided tour of American Revolution sites. It starts at the Boston Common, America's oldest public park, and ends at the famed Bunker Hill Monument.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An excellent walk with added interest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

The trail can be undertaken in a single trip or broken into "bite sized" chunks. The day we did it was very warn and sunny so we did all the outside bits and left the visits to the State House, the Old State House etc for a day when the weather was not so good.

We chose to undertake the walk unguided using the very useful guide book available from the Tourist Office next to the Old State House ($6.95). Alternatively you can join on of the guided walks starting at the Tourist Information Office on Boston Common.

The trail takes as long as you want it to. If, like me, you like looking around graveyards then leave plenty of time as there are several on the trail well worth a good look.

All in all a good day out at very little cost

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mallard58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,104
    3,088
    524
    56
    19
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Traveler231232
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Amazing but have your walking shoes on!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

This is definitely a well put together trail- you see everything all at once. We got a $3 map at the. Visitor Center across the street from Boston Common staring point and it was Well worth it. It mapped the whole trail and gave info about all the stops that really helped you understand what you were seeing. We took the Beacon Hill detour and it was really cool but you probably don't have to do the whole trail to get the effect of that area. We only paid to do the Paul Revere house b/c it was only $3.50 for adults- I think it was worth $3.50 but the other pay stops probably wasnt worth it but I also didn't go in to see. If you do want to go in them all, you can buy a $13 combo ticket at the visitor center. Definitely leave a full day so you will have time to leisurely stop and take in everything. We were 4 able bodied adults and we spent a full 8 hrs exploring, eating, and looking along the trail. We did detour in Little Italy to get a Canoli at Modern Pastry and it was well worth the wait! We also ate at the Qunicy Market and there is something there for everyone to eat. The talk at the Old North Church is free and very good so try so time it right to listen to it. The only thing we didn't do was the Bunker Hill monument- didn't seem worth the walk. We did take the T ferry from the pier next to the USS Constitution over to the warf next to the aquarium instead of walking back. It is only $1.70 pp or included if you have the Multi day Charlie Card. It was just as good as a harbor cruise b/c the views awe stunning. Highly recommend b/c you are tired after walking and this is the perfect way to top off the day. This is a must do attraction in Boston. Loved it!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler231232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellettsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
164 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Absolute Must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

You can't visit Boston and not take the Freedom Trail tour either with a tour company, or self-guided. Wear good walking shows as the cobbled streets in some areas will take a toll if you don't have well-constructed shoes. There are fees to some of the attractions (i.e Paul Revere home), but most are free and interesting to history buffs of all ages. You can spend as little or as much time as your schedule and physical condition will allow!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank cswright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wish History in School Was this Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

Our tour guide was the most interesting and entertaining former high school teacher that told the best stories about our forefathers and the beginning of our nation. After going on the tour we found ourselves yearning for more. Would not miss this on your trip to Boston.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ksr1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Level Contributor
109 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Worth every minute and every penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

My family of four (two daughters 10 & 14) took the tour of the Freedom Trail on a rainy, miserable Sunday afternoon... and it was still GREAT. The guide was amazing, dressed in Revolutionary clothing and was incredibly enthusiastic and knowledgeable. The tour hits all the pertinent historic spots in Boston and plenty of background information is provided by the guide. The cost is absolutely reasonable for a 90-minute presentation.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freedom Trail also viewed

 

Been to Freedom Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing