We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to explore”
Review of Freedom Trail

Freedom Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$236.40*
and up
Private Boston Freedom Trail Tour with Driver
Ranked #3 of 392 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The red line on the sidewalk leads you on this 2.5-mile, self-guided tour of American Revolution sites. It starts at the Boston Common, America's oldest public park, and ends at the famed Bunker Hill Monument.
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great way to explore”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The trail is a brink or red painted line that leads you through the city to the major historical landmarks of the city. You can start at either the Boston Common or the Bunker Hill Memorial. Feel free to start or stop in the middle too, who am I to tell you how to walk around.

I bought a book and followed the trail solo, however, there are a ton of tours as well if that is more your thing. Some of the builds have a small admission price if you choose to go in; Old South Meeting Hall, Paul Revere House, I'm not sure about the Old State House.

It took me about 4-hours to do the trail however, but go at whatever pace is comfortable for you. I don't think there is a much better or cost effective way to see so much history anywhere. Highly recommend.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,616
    3,243
    547
    59
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best thing on our Boston trip.”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The trail takes a whole day, with tons of great historic sites. We did some of the tours, the best one is at the old state house. Bring water and good walking shoes. We used the EveryTrail app as our guide, which was useful. We stopped for lunch at Union Oyster, right on the trail. For dinner, we stayed on the North End for a well-earned pasta dinner. Overall, it was the most memorable day of the trip!

Helpful?
1 Thank kimrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
175 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Must do!”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The Freedom trail is about a 2mile red brick walking trail of Boston. The trail takes you to many historic churches, meeting houses, burial grounds, parks and other historic sites that happened either leading up to or during the American Revolution. This is a alot of fun to do, because as you walk from site to site you can also take in the rest of Boston, the shopping and the tons of food choices.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Marli0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1,635 reviews
714 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,230 helpful votes
“What a great way to see a city !”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Everyone talks about the Freedom Trail, so it was a must on our visit to Boston. There's so much to say about it that I've listed a few hints and tips to help.

- Just for the sake of it, you should start at the starting point and finish at the finish point. Its a great sense of achievement. The starting point is at the bottom right hand corner of Boston common.
- You can either walk the tour yourself or take a guided tour. Because we like to do things at our own pace, we did a self guide tour and don't regret it for a second!
- It sounds obvious but the trail follows a red (mainly brick) path all the way through Boston. You can't get lost...although sometimes you have fun wondering where the path has gone to around certain corners !
- I would also recommend taking a guidebook or picking up a leaflet about the stops on the tour. Most are clearly signposted as part of the trail but a number aren't. So it is useful to know what attractions you should be stopping at.
- The first stop is Massachusetts State House, where there appeared to be a big queue to take a tour - lots of people start the trail here. Take some pictures and keep going along the trail. Come back for a tour of the state house another day, in the afternoon when the rush of the FT has passed
- Don't forget to have some photo ID on you if you want to go onboard the USS Constitution. They just won't allow you on if you don't have this.
- By the time you have finished aboard the USS constitution, Bunker hill does look a long way away and you might be a little tired. Make sure you make the effort and go there. Its a lovely spot and if you climb to the top you get some great views.
- Take some water with you, especially if it is hot.
- At a leisurely pace and stopping to look at everything in depth, it took us 7 hours to do the tour from start to finish. So leave yourself enough time to do it all.

If you like history, walking, architecture etc etc then this is a great way to spend your time in Boston

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
10 Thank Travellover6128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
99 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Great HIstorical Tour Through Boston”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

The Freedom Trail is a 2.5 mile walk through our nation's history and a great way to see Boston. The Trail is marked by red bricks or, at times, a red line on the streets or sidewalks. Watch carefully at times because it can get faded in some places. The Trail has 16 specific historical sites along the way--with a number of other interesting sites as well. You may start the Trail either in Boston Commons at the Visitor Center or at the Bunker Hill Memorial. Keep in mind that the Trail does not "loop" so when you reach one end you will likely have to backtrack--but that is OK because you probably have seen some sites along the way that you would like to revisit.

My wife and I stayed at the Omni Parker House Hotel which is right on the Freedom Trail. We walked out the door and there was the red line. We were across the street from King's Chapel which is the #5 site on the Trail (if you are coming from Boston Common). Since it was a Friday afternoon we opted to follow the Trail from King's Chapel back to the start at Boston Common. One of the sites is the Old Granary Burying Ground which contains the graves of Paul Revere, Samuel Adams, John Hancock, "Mother Goose" and victims of the Boston Massacre.

One of the "unofficial stops" is the Shaw Memorial which is a sculpture honoring Robert Gould Shaw and the 54th Regiment which was the first African-American all volunteer regiment in the Union Army (depicted in the movie "Glory"). The sculpture appears at the end of the movie. It is located directly across the street from the State House and is at one end of Boston Common. Once we reached the start of the Trail in Boston Commons we backtracked to our hotel.

On Saturday morning, we started at King's Chapel and followed the Trail in the other direction to the Bunker HIll Memorial.

I purchased the Tour of Boston Freedom Trail App for my Motorola Atrix for $2.99 and it was well worth it. A guidebook from one of the stores there cost anywhere from $6-$15. It was very easy to use and provided a great deal of information and photos of the 16 specific stops and also pointed out a number of the "unofficial" sites along the way.

Some of the other notable stops on the Trail were the Old South Meeting Hall, the Boston Massacre Site, Faneuil Hall, Paul Revere's House, the Old North Church ("one if by land, two if by sea"), the U.S.S Constitution, and the Bunker HIll Memorial.

There are number of restaurants and bars along the way (especially in the Faneuil Hall/Quincy Market area).

Be aware that to get to the U.S.S. Constitution and the Bunker Hill Memorial you must cross the Charlestown Bridge walkway. It is a bit of a hike; but we thought it was well worth it. When you finish at the Bunker HIll Memorial you will have to walk back across the Bridge because there are no subway stations near the Memorial or the Shipyards; although you may be able to catch a taxi near the Shipyard. There is a subway station about a block away when you get back on the Boston side of the Charlestown Bridge if you a getting tired of walking.

Since we had the Freedom Trail App, we opted to walk the Trail on our own and at our own pace. There are a number of guided tours available.

We would highly recommend the Freedom Trail as a great historical tour and a great way to see the City of Boston.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank DRMIZZOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Freedom Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing