We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Time for Kids of Many Ages” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Children's Museum

Boston Children's Museum
Book In Advance
$54*
and up
Go Boston Card
Ranked #31 of 371 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Highlights of this interactive museum include the "Science Playground," featuring giant soap bubble-making tools and the "New Balance Climb," which teaches kids the laws of physics while navigating through a two-story-high maze.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Time for Kids of Many Ages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We went n June 2013 with three kids (2, 5 and 7). All thought it was "super fun" and the two year old had a melt down when it was time to leave. There are lots of things to do for kids of a variety of ages. It can get a little tough navigating the different floors with several small kids. One of the better children's museums we have visited.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    195
    54
    16
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I got a refund on the ticket price”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I've visited a number of children's museums with and without my son, and I've worked at museums. This was chaotic, ill-planned, dated . . . we were completely disappointed. Kids running wild without staff to manage the craziness. Exhibits should have been more tailored to certain ages. Just not a good visit. Would not recommend this.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glzz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience for mixed ages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The museum spanned age groups from 0 to about 10 years old. We brought our 4-year and 10-month and they had a great time. Lunch time is a little crazy, but it worked out with the Au Bon Pain next door and open lunch space if you bring your own. You can only spend 3-4 hours there, so the price is a little high for $14 per person. We waited outside in line for ~30 minutes, so advance ticket purchase would be a great addition. We were kind of bummed that the bubble room was closed for renovation, but our 4-year old loved the Construction Zone (3rd floor).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tetramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wow! So many engaging exhibits!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We seem to find something new everytime we visit this museum. The baby section is terrific. This time we particularly enjoyed exploring the Japanese House and Circle Exhibit on the third floor. They were a little less crowded and really interesting, fun and educational for both our 5 year old and 1 1/2 year old.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rkf211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Truly a Children's Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My 6 yr old learned a lot from the various areas of the museum and slept tightly that evening. He was exhausted from all the games and exploratory activities from the museum. My only concern was the Japanese section. It smelled funky from the outside and we decided to skip it. Otherwise it was a trip worth visiting occasionally.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank axela14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Boston Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing