We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“I got a refund on the ticket price” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Children's Museum

Boston Children's Museum
Book In Advance
$54*
and up
Go Boston Card
Ranked #29 of 369 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Highlights of this interactive museum include the "Science Playground," featuring giant soap bubble-making tools and the "New Balance Climb," which teaches kids the laws of physics while navigating through a two-story-high maze.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I got a refund on the ticket price”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I've visited a number of children's museums with and without my son, and I've worked at museums. This was chaotic, ill-planned, dated . . . we were completely disappointed. Kids running wild without staff to manage the craziness. Exhibits should have been more tailored to certain ages. Just not a good visit. Would not recommend this.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glzz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    186
    49
    15
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience for mixed ages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The museum spanned age groups from 0 to about 10 years old. We brought our 4-year and 10-month and they had a great time. Lunch time is a little crazy, but it worked out with the Au Bon Pain next door and open lunch space if you bring your own. You can only spend 3-4 hours there, so the price is a little high for $14 per person. We waited outside in line for ~30 minutes, so advance ticket purchase would be a great addition. We were kind of bummed that the bubble room was closed for renovation, but our 4-year old loved the Construction Zone (3rd floor).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tetramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wow! So many engaging exhibits!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We seem to find something new everytime we visit this museum. The baby section is terrific. This time we particularly enjoyed exploring the Japanese House and Circle Exhibit on the third floor. They were a little less crowded and really interesting, fun and educational for both our 5 year old and 1 1/2 year old.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rkf211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Truly a Children's Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My 6 yr old learned a lot from the various areas of the museum and slept tightly that evening. He was exhausted from all the games and exploratory activities from the museum. My only concern was the Japanese section. It smelled funky from the outside and we decided to skip it. Otherwise it was a trip worth visiting occasionally.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank axela14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A very nice place for children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our visit and spent approximately 5 hours there. This museum is a reciprocal member of ACM, if you have a membership you can visit here for 1/2 the price if you have a membership at a participating museum. We were pleased with the parking arrangements at Atlantic parking on Congress St. There is an Au Bon Pain attached to the museum with ample eating area and good food for your child.

The museum has some very good attractions that are educational in nature. In some ways, it was more interactive than I have seen in other children's museums (good books to read in the classroom, tools to use in the construction area, etc...).

A must see is the Japanese House that is part of the museum, it is quite unique and interesting to explore.

I give four stars out of five because two of the exhibits were closed and the water area seemed to be missing balls or rubber ducks or some sort of objects that would make it more interactive or interesting.

The Boston Tea Party attraction is between the parking lot and the museum. The milk shaped ice cream stand is definitely worth a visit on a hot day.

Bring the family, this is a sure fire hit with the (pre-teen) kids.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CTUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Boston Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing