We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Boston Tea Party Ships & Museum
from $29.95
More Info
from $45.15
More Info
from $38.00
More Info
from $449.90
More Info
Reviews (6,386)
Filter reviews
6,386 results
Traveler rating
4,244
1,581
415
96
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,244
1,581
415
96
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews re enactment town meeting interactive experience gift shop all ages short film history lesson american revolution samuel adams a lot of fun actors character overboard throwing replica huzzah roles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
628 - 633 of 6,386 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2019 via mobile

This museum took you through the events of the Boston Tea Party in a very interactive way. Through actors dressed in period costume, the background to the events were explained and we were immersed into the events very effectively. It was amusing and informative and we were very impressed with the guys who took the acting roles. Being on board the replica ship was interesting and IT was used effectively to bring characters from the period back to life.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Yvonne U
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2019

It was a cold, rainy, dreary day in April when we arrived a little early for the "show."
We were hungry so we went to the Abagail Adams Tea Room for some warming coffee and cookies and scones. Nice place. Good scones.

Then it was time for the show. As others have said, you go into a room of a meeting house and listen to them talk of the ships in the harbor and the taxes expected. Then you board the ship and a colonist inspires you to aid them in throwing the tea overboard. (But you have to pull it back in too!). I thought we were done after that but we were taken through two more displays to cover more of the history of this time.

We thoroughly enjoyed the immersion process and felt like hearing this information repeated throughout many of the sites we visited helped us put events in order for us. We also appreciated more historical facts instead of the information we have grown old with and assumed was factual.

It was well worth the cost of admission. Glad we did this.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank MeryMeCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2019

Great to see, but had to be on a guided tour, no time to look around on your own, seems a bit over priced and the re-enactment was good, they were very loud, and felt more like it was for children. Felt we could have learnt more.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank shirleyfosterg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019 via mobile

On this tour you truly feel like you are in the 1700s. First you sit in a room where the enthusiastic actors portrayed a seen about how they needed to dump the tea into the harbor. Then you got on the ship and dumped boxes off the boat and went into the bottom where you are led into a room where a loyalist and a patriot are projected onto a screen and they have an argument. Then you go into another room where there are a bunch of paintings and a box and a vial that has tea in it from the Boston tea party. Then two of the paintings talk one of Sam Adams and one of the king and they have an argument. We then watched a movie about the revolutionary war.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank gnp67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2019 via mobile

I was on the last tour of the day so it was only a group of three people so didn't have the same affect as it would with a larger tour group.
Be prepared to roleplay, however this is optional.

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews