We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient and delicious”
Review of Scampo

Scampo
Reserve with OpenTable
Scampo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #90 of 3,227 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Cambridge
Transit: Located directly across the street from Charles/MGH stop on the red line
Description: The stunning first floor restaurant in Boston’s Liberty Hotel, Scampo, is a culinary destination created by legendary chef Lydia Shire and The Lyons Group in April of 2008. In Scampo, Shire’s reputation for defying tradition translates into Italian-inspired cuisine unrestrained by borders, drawing on flavors from the Mediterranean and Middle East. Scampo is a reflection of Chef Shire: bold, red and full of energy. The contemporary space features shiny copper lanterns, a glowing orange bar and seating overlooking the mozzarella bar.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“convenient and delicious”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I live in Beacon Hill so Scampo is convenient and delicious. The breads and mozzarella dishes are great. I usually get a flatbread, but the vegetarian pastas are great also. Atmosphere is lively and I like the open style kitchen/bar.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    145
    44
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Delicious and creative food combinations. A wonderful wine selection.
Friendly, vibrant atmosphere. Great service. Hard to beat!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SkipperDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

While very tough to get into for dinner, we were able to get immediately seated on a Saturday for lunch. Food and presentation is very good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent food and srvice”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The pasta appetizer of white sauce on papperdelle with truffles shaved by the chef side table was excellent and the sirloin was prepared perfectly and was delicious. The Malbec was excellent.
The only complaint was that the kitchen shut down without preparing our sautéed spinach or informing us

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoeD1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Scampo where have you been all my life?”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I came here for a girlfriends birthday dinner and was upset I have never tried here before! I liked the ambiance of this restaurant in the liberty hotel, and our service was top notch. Our server was knowledgeable about the menu and made spot on recommendations.
We all wanted to try a pizza and instead of an app started with this - the white pizza with truffle cheese and fig. It was amazing. It was cooked perfectly and the flavors were all fresh and blended so well together. For dinner I had the spaghetti with bolognese and it was wonderful! I cannot wait to come back here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JennaBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scampo also viewed

 

Been to Scampo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing