We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot spot”
Review of Scampo

Scampo
Reserve with OpenTable
Scampo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #90 of 3,227 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Cambridge
Transit: Located directly across the street from Charles/MGH stop on the red line
Description: The stunning first floor restaurant in Boston’s Liberty Hotel, Scampo, is a culinary destination created by legendary chef Lydia Shire and The Lyons Group in April of 2008. In Scampo, Shire’s reputation for defying tradition translates into Italian-inspired cuisine unrestrained by borders, drawing on flavors from the Mediterranean and Middle East. Scampo is a reflection of Chef Shire: bold, red and full of energy. The contemporary space features shiny copper lanterns, a glowing orange bar and seating overlooking the mozzarella bar.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hot spot”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This place is rockin! You MUST have a reservation several days in advance! The menu as wonderful, but, go for the lively atmosphere, not necessarily the Italian food. With the North end so close by, this is not the Italian restaurant of choice.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank onlinequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    145
    44
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod, MA
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Loved every bite: made staying at the Liberty Hotel worth it”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had the Burrata with Carpaccio for appetizer; glazed duck for dinner; Bolognese; fried green beans; cocktails and it was all fantastic. The flavors, presentation, servers all on-board with what Scampo is selling! A delicious and enchanting experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gem restaurant--Service & Food---outstanding”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Service consistently good---we see Bhill locals in every visit. Not stuffy
Lunch menu is solid--1 gourmet special---combined with lobster or lamb pizza choices, etc
Eating at the bar is a strong option either solo or as a couple.
Best terrace outdoor on this side of Boston--better hurry it's Fall
Weekend brunch is what turns out the locals--ck the menu online

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 374bhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great concept - maybe we got the 2nd String team on a Sunday night”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had a quick stay at the Liberty Hotel before a morning flight out of Boston. Great hotel and having a restaurant of Scampo's caliber was an added plus for the hotel

The concept has italian roots with world influences. Great idea but somewhat hit and miss

Loved the mozzarella bar idea and our simple dish with tomatoes and arugula was spot on. Our second app choice was scallops with roasted eggplant and an eggplant puree. It came with papadams and a yogurt / cucumber raita - definitely an Indian feel. The presentation was great but I felt like the flavor of the additives over powered the scallops. Not horrible, but I've had scallops many times and would not reorder this rendition.

For entrees, we had a Proscuitto and Artichoke pizza- great but it also shows up with slices of pear and arugula. Together they are a great combination, but you think the menu or the server would explain these two major additions. The other entree was the lamb sirloin skewers. This dish had too much going on. It was served with beans, a couple of stuffed grape leaves and tzatziki sauce so this dish had a heavy greek feel. It had a lot of different spices going on - not particularly horrible but it just didn't work- for $44 it should

Wine - great mix of wines by the glass with an emphasis on italian wines. Nice to see an Arneis and an Aglianico.

Service - decidedly average. I have a number of issues but will point out one - ordered a chianti and a syrah. They were delivered backwards, shouldn't happen in a restaurant of this caliber and this was after a number of other miscues (2nd string?)

While this place may be great for many, I wouldn't return - too many other great choices in Boston

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank wayfarerblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent and Very Fun!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I took a road trip to Boston for the weekend from DC and had a blast. Central to that was dinner on Saturday, at the strong suggestion of the concierge at the Ritz, to go to Scampo in the Liberty Hotel. What a fun night. The restaurant was lively without being too much so. Beautifully decorated, working with the hotel which was, remarkably, a former prison! The service was terrific and extremely knowledgeable, the kitchen open and fund to watch and food very memorable. We HIGHLY recommended Scampo's mozzarella bar, it was awesome. My wife ordered Mozz with White peaches and delicious, tender prosciutto - and so much of it! I had the Mozz with the most wonderful beef carpaccio - oh my gosh was that good. We both settled on the saem pasta disch which was the rigatonia with sausage and fennel in a incredibly delicious tomnato cream sauce. After dinner, take a walk through the "hotel lobby;" unlike any other we've been to. Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank donc880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scampo also viewed

 

Been to Scampo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing