We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another must-see when in Boston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John F. Kennedy Presidential Museum & Library

John F. Kennedy Presidential Museum & Library
Book In Advance
$54*
and up
Go Boston Card
Ranked #8 of 369 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Relive the Kennedy era in this dynamic combination museum and library, where your visit starts with a short film and then leaves you on your own to explore a series of fascinating exhibits, including the Kennedy-Nixon debate, the Cuban Missile Crisis, the space program, 1960s campaign paraphernalia and displays about Jacqueline and other Kennedy family members. The striking, I.M. Pei-designed building overlooks the water and the Boston skyline.
Salem, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Another must-see when in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you're a history buff or just curious this is the place to learn it all about Pres. Kennedy and the Kennedy family, politically and personally.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charlie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,511
    568
    142
    23
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London U.K.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fascinating and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

You cannot visit Boston without also including the JFK Presidential Library. This was our third visit because there was a special exhibit for the 50th Anniversay of JFK's election. Also included were recorded memoirs from Jackie Kennedy released for the anniversay by Caroline Kennedy which were quite fascinating and gave a different slant on the short time spent in The White House. For those of us who were only teenagers when these momentous events happened it's incredible to believe how long has passed since we all thought the world would end with the Bay of Pigs.
It is quite thought provoking to wonder how world history was affected by the assasination and how things might have been had JFK and his brother Robert realised their destiny, even now I can remember that awful day, as can most people who were alive then. The library is well worth a visit - it's easy to get to with a free shuttle to and from the 'T' station, the memorabilia and photos are very thought provoking, we stood and listened to JFK's innaugural speech, and thought how little some things have changed and how relevant it still was all these years on. The site of the library is beautiful with a wonderful view right across to Boston over the water. You can certainly while away a couple of very interesting hours on a visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vansmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Takes me right back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Anyone who lived through Camelot and ensuing assisnation should make this a must see when in Boston. It is located south of city (not far) right on the water. The 3 story glass window to the water is breathtaking. By coincidence the day before was the 49th anniversary of JFK's assisination. I went with my 27 yr old son and he was impressed and moved.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barb258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, MA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great insight into JFK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This museum is right on the water - easy access and parking. It is very informative. The tour ends at a room with floor to ceiling glass that looks over the harbor and is beautifil.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank MomActon_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 482 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We went here a few weeks after visiting the JFK Museum in Berlin and were disappointed, Compared to that and thenClinton Presidential Library, we thought we didn't really get a sense of this great President. The space is lovely-modern and attractive. Be advised: getting a taxi after visiting the museum can take a while.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Aldo_Nola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John F. Kennedy Presidential Museum & Library also viewed

 

Been to John F. Kennedy Presidential Museum & Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing