We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Quick Trip Back”

The Paul Revere House
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Boston's North End and Waterfront Walking Tour
Ranked #53 of 382 things to do in Boston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This National Historic Landmark is the home from which silversmith Paul Revere, in 1775, set out on his famous midnight ride to warn his compatriots that the British were coming. You can view the colonial furnishings and the famous Revere silver, including a 900-pound bell in the back yard.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Wheelchair access
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
225 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A Quick Trip Back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Revere House cost 3.50 per person when we went and we got there 45 minutes before closing. We were assured that we had plenty of time and we did. We did not have the crowds reported by some, but even four or five people in the same room can make it difficult to enjoy the room. The rooms are small. We went back for a second view on one of the rooms. I would suggest that those who have had a chance to view the cordoned off portions of the room step back or aside to enjoy other parties to allow others to view the items on display. This was a bit of a problem in the first room, the kitchen. Still the 4-5 room house is a treasure trove of history and our docents were quite engaged and knowledgeable. It is hard to imagine a large family in such a small house! Visiting in March, means it is less crowded but the surrounding buildings were closed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    384
    220
    39
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
se ct
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Surprisingly small, but huge in information”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Visited this small location in the North End of Boston - $3.50 entry fee seemed inexpensive, because, as it turned out, the house was smaller than I remember it. The guides inside were incredibly well versed in the home, the family, and the history. This is a great stop-by when you are in Boston, as it is certainly a piece of history, but don't plan a whole lot of time there - again, it's quite small.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kambea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Poorly Run”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

As a museum professional I was horrified at the way this amazing historic site is run. The "docents", if they can be called that were cold and un-engaging. They didn't offer any information or friendliness. Basically they just sat in their chair reading. They also allowed it to become too crowded. It is a walkthrough style tour, so if 50 people get there at the same time they just let them all in.

The only reason I gave it a 2 was because it is an amazing piece of American history; but it makes me so sad to see the way it is being run.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jkfhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This house can be easily found on the Freedom trail and is in a great part of Boston that is very fun to walkthrough. It is a quick visit but is very interesting and the tour guides give a lot of information.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jmol72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A really great experience for kids and adults”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Really, it transports you back to olde Boston, and right in the middle of the North End, a wonderful experience in itself.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank wrightdda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Paul Revere House also viewed

 

Been to The Paul Revere House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing