We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very bad service”

Gourmet Dumpling House
Ranked #149 of 3,243 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very very bad service”
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Definitely not worth the 1/2hr wait. The staff discriminate by sitting Asian customers first. The food was very average compared to similar types of food available in other cities.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charger265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    147
    49
    28
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“the best dumplings”
Reviewed June 9, 2011

the best dumplings i have ever had. i dont live in boston anymore, but anytime anyone visits, i tell them to go here. its a little taste of heaven

Visited July 2010
Helpful?
Thank Superlise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's All About Dumplings And Taiwanese cuisine”
Reviewed April 11, 2011

This place is excellent for soup filled dumplings, greens with garlic sauce, and taiwanese dishes. If you are looking for cantonese food or szechwan food, you are better off elsewhere, but if you want some great buns and dumplings, noodles, and soup dishes, this place is awesome.

You gotta be ready for the small size (cramped) and zero ambiance, but truth is, that is pretty authentic for a lot of dumpling places in china and taiwan.

It's not the kind of place that brings you fortune cookies with the check. Some of the waiters know just enough english to take an order, but that's the kind of place i like.

Yeah, it's tiny, but's crowded for a reason. If you are a party of two, you might have to share a table for four with two other people.

Still, I highly recommend it, particularly if you are familiar with Taiwan cooking. Make sure you get the juicy dumplings - it's what the place is all about.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrubbyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Delightful gourmet dumpling..."”
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We chose this Chinese restaurant because of great reviews it received online. Much to our surprise we found a storefront luncheonette restaurant. The restaurant was so small that we had to wait for about 20 minutes in freezing weather. We were seated in a small table "elbow to elbow" with the other customers. That being said, the servers were expeditious , accommodating and responsive to our requests. The vegetarian dumplings were gourmet delicious and delightful. The lobster with greens soup was most generous in portions,fresh and was served with the whole lobster still in the shell. Our third course was mushrooms with baby bok choy which we requested to have fried bean curd added. It was simply delicious perhaps even better with less salt. The food was served in very generous portions and the priced were very reasonable. Overall we had a good dining experience.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Horrible people”
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Sometimes it's about more than food.
My wife left a package in the restaurant. Not only were they unhelpful, they made her feel like a fool with "there never was a package". Needless to say, we'll never go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Fstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet Dumpling House also viewed

 

Been to Gourmet Dumpling House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing