We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of great beer”
Review of The Lower Depths

The Lower Depths
Ranked #675 of 3,202 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Fenway / Kenmore
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lot of great beer”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

They have a great selection of beer both on tap and in bottles/cans. I am a fan stouts and this is the first place I found with beer of comparable smoothness to Guinness but that has its own distinctive flavor.

Stay away from the oatmeal stout, it has too much "pain and suffering" flavor but not enough smoothness.

The indoor is a bit loud due to the small space and music, so the patio is best for a fun conversation over a few pints.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcharkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    33
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wethersfield,CT
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great atmosphere, great food, bring cash or ATM card”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

If you've been to their other restaurant in the back bay area, Bukowski's, you know what to expect....a good variety of beers, good food and no credit cards. Also, don't except white linen service but if you like habenaro aioli with tater tots, this is the place to be. The restaurant is in the lower portion of the bldg and the deck is below street level so you are less distracted by all the foot traffic and cars...makes people watching a bit more challening though. All in all - great place.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaLWethersfield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Casual hangout place to chill and have a beer”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I visited this place on a Friday night with some friends and it was pretty crowded at about 11:30 pm. They had a good selection of beers and was decently priced. They had some nice outdoor seating for the summertime, but the place is small so I would recommend getting there early to get a good seat. Overall, a really chill and unpretentious bar to talk with friends.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cool Place, Unique Food”
Reviewed March 6, 2011

This is a really cool spot. I had been craving a hot dog for a while and when I saw then great hotdog combinations they have, I couldn't resist.

I got the Belgian Hot Dog, which was a hot dog with frites and spicy mayo. It was really good, particularly the nicely toasted bun. The atmosphere is really relaxed, but also cool. I will be going back for sure.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RyanKam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“perfect bar food, beer list is great... love the Tator Tot menu.”
Reviewed September 6, 2009

perfect bar food, beer list is great... love the Tator Tot menu.

Helpful?
Thank LorenZoMagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lower Depths also viewed

 

Been to The Lower Depths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing