We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View, convenient location to Westlake area of SML” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westlake Waterfront Inn

Westlake Waterfront Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hardy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Westlake Waterfront Inn
Save
You added Westlake Waterfront Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hardy
Lynchburg Va
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful View, convenient location to Westlake area of SML”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

If you want to be on the lake, especially is you fish, this is a great spot. It is basic construction, nothing fancy, clean and taken care of. Beautiful views, when we were there only one other rm was taken so I can't comment on noise between rooms ect. There are two dogs there, they do not bother you other than to greet you upon arrival. Our basic complaint is about the water. Our water ran a red rust color no matter how long you used it, when we got out of the shower the washcloth was red. Toliet water was red, ect Makes everything smell like rust, the owner explained when we got there, there was iron in the water but it wasn't a problem, well it's only a problem if you use water! Wouldn't stay there again with that issue. Refig/microwave and small table in rm, cheap furnature, alarm clock didn't work, tv did have cable channels. Shopping and places to eat nearby,,

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnLynchburgVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    2
    5
    0
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut, New England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

We have stayed at the Westlake Waterfront Inn twice, and each time it was just wonderful! The owners are so friendly and did everything they could to make us comfortable. We love dogs, and I do have to disagree with one of the previous reviews. The dogs --especially the Rottie -- did NOT approach us and actually had to be called over several times before they would come. (Especialy the Rottie, who was the sweetest and most well trained I have ever come across.)

I dont know how anyone can be threatened by a Golden Retreiver., but can certainly understand being afraid of a Rottie --- until you meet this one! (I think his name was Zeus?). He was so well-trained that he would not come into our room, even when coaxed with food. The owner told us she had trained him that way as she felt it would be more comfortable for the guests if he kept his distance. Make no mistake.... in my opinion the dogs were sweet and gentle. (We missed our own pets alot and wanted to have theirs with us.) So even if you are not an animal lover, this is the place for you. Just dont call them over.

The rooms were clean and had wonderful views, both in front and in back. We sat out on the porch in front of our room each morning with our coffee and it was just magical. There was also a gazebo that we sat in and read.

The husband and wife owners were quick to fill us in on places to eat and see, but did not insist on talking talking talking to us every minute (which is why we do not stay at Bed and Breakfasts anymore.)

We will definitely return and want to thank the owners (and the animals) for making our trip a wonderful one.

  • Liked — The views and the owners.
  • Disliked — It was a little hard to find but well worth the search.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2travellersfromNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2007

We booked 3 nights at the Westlake Waterfront Inn sight unseen, in order to visit Smith Mountain Lake as a potential retirement location. We ended up adding an extra night to our stay!

The Westlake is run by a very friendly couple and their adult daughter. They do have 2 dogs and 2 cats. One dog is a golden retriever, the other is a laid-back rottweiler. They do not pester the guests unless the guests approach the dogs. They are usually quite busy catching small fish (the golden) or moving rocks in the water (the rottweiler). The cats are tame, but prefer to be petted and not picked up.

The Inn is beautiful. Every room has a front and back door, with a water view from each. There IS a tub in every room. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are quiet (at least ours was, and one night of our stay was a full house). There are loaves of bread to feed the carp, and chairs outside of every room for sitting on the covered balcony.

Rooms have microwaves and good sized mini-fridges. The coffeemaker only has regular coffee, so bring a decaf if you want.

We rented a pontoon boat right across the street and the boat was beautiful. The marina staff is friendly and helpful. There are also two dogs at the marina. Smith Mountain Lake seems quite dog friendly!

There was a LOT of boat traffic on the lake on Saturday and the first half of Sunday. Weekdays in the summer are much nicer for boating and fishing.

Pick up a free map in the lobby...they are invaluable if you are cruising the lake. It was our first trip here, but definitely not our last. It took us over 7 hours to drive here, and I'll probably cry the entire way home. If I could just stay and stay, I would.

This is a not a Sheraton or Hyatt. There is no room service, gift shop, or coffee shop. However, there's a nice strip mall not far away with a Kroger's, CVS, and Wendy's. You won't starve.

  • Liked — Waterfront location
  • Disliked — No food availability within walking distance
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

The Westlake Waterfront Inn is basically a Super 8 by the water. If you don't mind putting up with a hard bed, no bathtub, paper thin walls, no hair dryer, no shampoo/lotion & towels like sandpaper then this is the place for you. In its defense the room was very clean & did have a wonderful view. Sitting on the balcony looking out over the water was the highlight of our stay. Oh, & you must love big dogs as the proprietor allows her dogs free reign of the place. I personally don't like dogs & they don't like me. They look at me & see lunch, it seems, I've been bitten so many times. So I wasn't happy with these dogs asserting themselves on me while I sat there. I tried to hint to the owner that I don't like dogs but she defended them. It isn't good when a hotel's owner doesn't care about the comfort of her guest. This stay was to celebrate my 2nd honeymoon with my husband but we were so uncomfortable we checked out a day early.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — the hard bed & the price!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anglepoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amma,WV
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2007

My friends and I stayed here on a fishing trip april,6-7. Met dad and daughter upon check in, very nice and friendly people. Very clean rooms, dock slip for every room with eletric so bring your boat. We hired pro guide Todd Keith from the shad taxi he will pick you up at the hotel dock.

  • Liked — All lake front rooms
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WVJs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, VA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2006

On a spur of the moment weekend to Smith Mountain Lake, VA, we stumbled upon the Westlake Waterfront Inn which sits on a point offering amazing lake views. It's a mom & pop & daughter operation that provides basic and clean accomodations. Basic: they give you soap and towels but no shampoo or body lotions, a coffee pot with styrofoam cups rather than mugs, a mini-fridge and microwave oven, and cable tv. Ah - but there is so much more. The hotel is one-room deep, so you get a back door and front door. You can sit on the deck chairs and enjoy views of the lake from either side. If you bring your boat or rent one, you can dock right at your door. There were also several grills lined up on the side of the hotel, which seemed to be free for the borrowing. Across the road is a boat rental company and a gourmet restaurant. We will definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
8 Thank Wendymath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hardy
2.5 mi away
Halesford Harbour Inn
Halesford Harbour Inn
#1 of 1 in Moneta
5.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
13.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake
21.6 mi away
Peaks of Otter Lodge
Peaks of Otter Lodge
#1 of 4 in Bedford
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake
15.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 672 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westlake Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westlake Waterfront Inn

Property: Westlake Waterfront Inn
Address: 2050 Morewood Rd, Hardy, VA 24101-3940
Location: United States > Virginia > Hardy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hardy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Westlake Waterfront Hotel Hardy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing