We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY!!! OUR ROOM HAD ROACHES!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whispering Pines Motel
Ranked #63 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We had a group of four people going to NC on vacation. We got to the area late, most hotels were booked. It was late, we were tired, it was raining, and although we did not like the looks of the hotel much, we decided to stay. We ask to see the room first. The lady that showed it to us rushed us in and out quickly. The room was not the cleanest but we were tired and got the room. Once we got the key, we went in and looked around a little more. Thank GOD I had only set my purse on the table when I pulled out the desk chair and a roach came running up the chair. Then my boyfriend decided to check the beds. To our supprise another roach came running out. I immediately went to the office, and the lady that rushed us in the room sent a man to our room to see. We showed him the roaches that my boyfriend had killed and he grabbed them in a hurry anf flushed them down the toilet. We asked for our money back and he refused. My boyfriend was persistent so the only way we could get some of our money back was if my boyfriend signed another recipt for them to keep a percentage of our money! It was this or lose all our money! So the motel ended up keeping $13.75 of our $73.75! All this and not to mention both people there were rude and nasty with us!!!
DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ChevyGal70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2010

I was traveling to Asheville and planned to stay 3 nights in this motel. However, my vehicle broke down on the way and I was unable to make it. I called on the first evening of my reservation to cancel the next 2 nights. The person that answered the phone hung up on me several times and keep saying there was no manager. Needless to say I was never able to cancel my reservation and my credit card was charged the full amount. I am still trying to get reimbursed. I wouldn't stay at this motel if it was the last one on earth and was free!!!!!!! VERY UNSATISFIED!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Service
3  Thank CindyLou49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We were treated very rudely by the management. We were later told that the rude person was a friend of the manager who was filling in for Labor Day weekend... felt that the management could have been much more selective in chosing a fill-in person to represent the service provider, The room smelled like smoke even though it was advertised NON-SMOKING. This also was disappointing. The rate is low, but I don't think we will be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geowood64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

Whispering pines is beautiful, I had a great stay and the owners were really nice!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank melissasmith7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Indian Hbr. Beach, Fla.
16
Reviewed October 27, 2003

We read the review of this motel at this web site. Decided it sounded nice. When we arrived we were leary of the way it looked. Went into a dingy lobby that had a smell and an attendant that looked unkept. Some of the motel room doors were standing open. They wanted $70.00 for a room with one bed. We were tired, it was raining and 9:00 p.m but decided this was not for us. Found a nice Days Inn with a wonderful fresh, clean, room, with two beds, and breakfast for $53.00 for the night.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2002

Pleasantly surprised to find a remodeled, clean, privately owned budget motel.

1  Thank emailjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
#50 of 66 in Asheville
1,191 reviews
1.1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Asheville
WoodSpring Suites Asheville
#59 of 66 in Asheville
53 reviews
0.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
#40 of 66 in Asheville
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Tunnel Road & I-40
6.7 mi away
Ramada Asheville Southeast
Ramada Asheville Southeast
#56 of 66 in Asheville
1,177 reviews
9.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Motel

Address: 140 Smokey Park Hwy, Asheville, NC 28806-1139
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range: $65 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Whispering Pines Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Asheville NC. The Whispering Pines Motel is a well maintained motel with restaurants nearby. Close to all of downtown The Whispering Pines Motel is your destination when you want to relax in Asheville NC. Just minutes from scenic parks and The Biltmore House. Privately owned property with friendly staff and all the amenities you could need. Let our friendly staff make sure your visit is the best it can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Whispering Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Pines Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing