We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pines Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pines Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2008

My family rented two cabins and both were really neat and clean. Everything was comfortable and a really good bargain. Even with no air conditioning we were very comfortable at night; it was lovely to leave the windows open. Allan, the owner was helpful and friendly. The Pines is really dog friendly. We will stay again.

  • Liked — Clean and pet friendly
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank blynn444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    37
    13
    9
    7
See reviews for
33
96
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2008

Stayed at the Pines for 5 nights in February.My Incentive was the 1/2 price specials for the winter months.We stayed in #13 fireplace, full kitchen etc. Cabins are very small- actually pint size
Cabins appear old and very dated. All and all the place was adequate and could not complain about the price.
VERY BASIC accomendations. Owners and front desk were wonderful and very gracious. Only problem on a couple of nights housekeeping forgot about cleaning and providing towels. During seasonal rates cabins are very pricey. Check out Swiss Chalets SO MUCH NICER AND worth so much more in regard to area, quality of cabin, amenities,location, views and just plain exceptional

  • Liked — The price during winter specials
  • Disliked — Cabins
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mustardgirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2008

I had been staying at the Log Cabin Motor Court next door and on my last day, my cat ran out of the cabin and disappeared. I was extremely distraught and Mariah at the Pines went above and beyond to help me out. She was very caring and sympathetic, so much so that she offered my sister and I to stay a night at the Pines so that we could continue to look for my cat.
Not only was I impressed by the wonderful staff at the Pines, I was impressed by the cottage as well! Both the bedroom and kitchen were large and well laid out. There also was a full bath and shower. The cabin was extremely clean and there were absolutely no crevices or sharp edges. It looked very safe for pets or small children.
We ended up finding my cat the following morning underneath the floor boards of a run down cabin at the Motor Court next door and had to call Animal Control to get her out. If we had stayed at the Pines from the beginning, this likely would not have happened. I would definitely stay at the Pines if I were to go back to Asheville and I would wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — friendly and caring staff, clean and spacious cabins, full bath and shower
  • Disliked — there was nothing I didn't like
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kb123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2008

This is definitely not a place for luxury travelers. However, my fiance and I, who tend to the budget side of travel, loved it! It was perfect for us because it was unique, fun, and inexpensive, yet quite close to downtown Asheville. If we had been staying for longer, it also would have been economical because we could have used the kitchette for some meals.

The people were very friendly and flexible, and the cabin was the respectably clean. I "sprang" for one of the more expensive cabins with a fireplace in it, which was fun, but we weren't able to get the logs (free of charge!) to actually light. This may have been due to our lack of skills, but it may have been that the logs were wet due to the humidity? Don't know. Anyways, fun to have a fireplace nonetheless.

The cabin we were in was Cabin 1. I recommend it! It is cute and kept up, and is at the end of a row so feels slightly private. I do agree with other reviews that it is noisy due to the roads nearby. We brought ear plugs for sleeping, given those reviews though, and were fine!

As long as you're not coming into this experience with high expectations, and can appreciate a unique and cheap accommodation, the Pines is a great place to stay!!

  • Liked — location, funky rustic feel, value for cost
  • Disliked — noise from nearby highways
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lugz218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2008

My wife and I stayed 2 nights here this week in cabin 7. The cabin was comfortable and clean. The bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed the free firewood. The manager , Mariah, was polite and very easy to deal with. We day boarded our dog at a kennel, Blue Ridge, less than 1/2 mile away. The cabins are located on a road paralleling the freeway and easy to get to.

  • Liked — location (semi wooded)
  • Disliked — had to schlepp firewood from the woodshed located 50 yards away
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank johnfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2008

There are very few places that will allow pets, let alone leave them while you're out being the tourist. The Pines was very accommodating to our 75lb dog. We had no problems whatsoever in this respect.

Some people have commented on the noise. We didn't really notice it to the extent it bothered us.

The only disappointment was the lack of a fireplace. The website led us to believe that they they all had them. Our mistake. Make sure you ask.

The management was very nice. Mariah was friendly and was quick to get back to us when we reported an issue with the pilot light.

We would stay here again but probably would be more picky about the cabin.

If you're planning to go to the Biltmore it is about a 20 minute drive through town to the estate. Also recommend breakfast at the Newbridge Cafe. The food was excellent, priced right, and the owner was very friendly.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank VAtravelfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole196
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2007

We had a wonderful experience at the Pines - the cabin was cozy and rustic, complete with a wood-burning fireplace. The experience of having a cabin set the tone for a relaxing weekend getaway - there's no way a hotel would have had the same effect. Management was also very friendly and helpful - we got an excellent restaurant recommendation and helpful suggestions on what to see and do. We'll definitely stay there on our next trip to Asheville.

  • Liked — The rustic scenery, the fireplace.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
6.6 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#24 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
8.2 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#31 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
7.2 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
4.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Cottages

Property: The Pines Cottages
Address: 346 Weaverville Rd, Asheville, NC 28804-1229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pines Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer studio and two bedroom cottages and cabins located just 6 miles from downtown Asheville and 8 miles from The Biltmore Estate. The Pines Cottages is a great place to stay while visiting Asheville and Western North Carolina because we offer more than just a hotel room. Our cottages and cabins have fully equipped separate kitchens and bathrooms. We are pet friendly and our 4 1/2 acres of grounds offer a place to walk your dog, sit next to a fire around our fire pit or cook-out on one of our grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Pines Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pines Cottages Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing