We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a lot of TLC”
Review of The Pines Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pines Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Needs a lot of TLC”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Lovely setting, charming looking and very close to Asheville, but this place needs a lot of TLC. I understand many are being remodeled , but ours was not. It was stuck in the fifties. It needs a great deal of updating. The grounds need a lot of grooming. I hope they continue to work on it because it could be lovely,one day.

Room Tip: Ask for remodeled cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thepinescottages, Owner at The Pines Cottages, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We take our customers reviews seriously because we live here on the property and this is how we make our living. And we want your experience here to be as pleasant and memorable as possible., and we want you to tell your friends and family obout us. This cottage #6 has been completely remodeled and when we were remodeling we found and repaired a leak around the fireplace that was causing dampness in the cottage. I am happy to say the cottage has been redone from top to bottom. We upgraded the plumbing and electrical to make the cottage more functional. Like raising the shower head height, installing new faucets in the shower and kitchen, installing a new curved shower curtain rod on the tub and replacing the old light fixtures and light switches and outlets with new ones. We completely repainted the interior with custom built in features like a custom mantle over the fireplace and custom shelving in the kitchen and upgraded moldings in the kitchen and bathroom. We also upgraded insulation and weatherstripping to make the cottage easier to heat and cool. And refinished the beautiful hardwood floors through out. We added a 40" flat screen and a new comfy couch in front of the fireplace as well as replacing one of the beds. We replaced the window screens and repainted them as well and adjusted all windows and doors to operate smoothly. We have been working diligently remodeling the cottages to make your experience as carefree and pleasant as we would like for ourselves while traveling. Please take a moment and visit our website and see our renovations. Thank you for taking the time to consider us as your place to stay while visiting Asheville.

Allen and Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    38
    13
    9
    7
See reviews for
33
99
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, Sc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I thought my cabin (#10) was absolutely adorable! Very friendly, very clean, very quant... A nice weekend escape! Thank you!

The cabins are close to downtown, the Blue Ridge Parkway, grocery store, restaurants and the beautiful Biltmore Estate!

The only con would be that the bed was a bit too firm for my particular liking. However, I would still highly recommend my little quaint cabin to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at cottage 9 this weekend and loved it. The cottage is cute and cozy and clean. Bed was comfortable. Alan, the owner, was incredibly helpful and friendly. Shower was tiny but otherwise a great experience. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in cabin number seven. The cabin itself, while small, was just what we were looking for. Essentially it was a three room cabin with a living room/bedroom, bathroom and kitchen. There was a small front and rear porch as well. The size of the cabin was on par with a large hotel room. It is an early to mid century motor lodge so don't expect more than you would from a mid priced motel. Some people have commented about the rundown look of the cabins, they are old, I preferred to see the character instead. I wanted a place to stay near the Biltmore, reasonably priced, that accepted pets. This place fit the bill perfectly. I would stay here again and will recommend this place to my friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The owners of these nostalgic road side cabins are trying real hard to make this a quaint, relaxing lodging option. They are doing a pretty good job. Our family of five stayed in cottage number 6 we found it roomy and the beds very comfortable. The bathroom was cramped but the shower was fantastic. In addition the one window air conditioner was Inadequate, thank goodness temps were below avg for August in Ashevile. The cabin also has a strong musty smell. It was however so great to sit out on the front porch with a cup of coffee and put my feet up on the rail. A great alternative to the Comfort inn.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjinwaldokc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Purchased through Groupon. We were in cabin #4 for 4 nights. First the positive - Pet friendly and plenty of green space for our dog. Quiet and peaceful location. Close to town. The owners were helpful and friendly. Nice king size bed and the bed & pillows were comfortable enough. My husband said when he walked in "well this is pretty rustic" :-) The cabin had some upgrades, like new faucets, and it was clean, but overall it was a little run down. When we first walked in their was a funky smell. Probably just a damp smell as the A/C dripped water inside the room and the floor was wet. We would open the windows in the AM when it was cool outside and that seemed to resolve the smell. The slipcover on the chair looked really dirty. Biggest gripe - the showerhead is at a really low height. It was level with my nose and I'm 5' 9". Good for a budget minded traveler. We probably will not be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Pines Cottages for a few days in July. We hadn't done much research and didn't realize these were vintage cottages, so our expectations had to adjust when we got there. The place is charming, it has cute cottages, vintage furnishings, and is near to Weaverville, which we found to have great restaurants. The owner of the cabins was extremely pleasant and helpful - and he truly keeps the cabins clean and kept up. If you're not looking for vintage/rustic charm, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for that charm, this is right up your alley.

We had heard a lot about Asheville, but were not able to find the allure of the town - it was very busy and loud and lacked the quaintness we were looking for - but perhaps we were looking in the wrong place? I do have to say that the cottages were away from the hustle/bustle as much as they could be - as you got closer to Asheville center the busyness and noise increased dramatically. I felt very safe being at Pine Cottages.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImJustSayingIsAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.5 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,198 reviews
5.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
4.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
7.2 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Cottages

Property: The Pines Cottages
Address: 346 Weaverville Rd, Asheville, NC 28804-1229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pines Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer studio, one and two bedroom cottages and cabins located just 6 miles from downtown Asheville and 8 miles from The Biltmore Estate. The Pines Cottages is a great place to stay while visiting Asheville and Western North Carolina because we offer more than just a hotel room. Our cottages and cabins have fully equipped separate kitchens and bathrooms. We are pet friendly and our 4 1/2 acres of grounds offer a place to walk your dog, sit next to a fire around our fire pit or cook-out on one of our grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Pines Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pines Cottages Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing