We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nastalgic cabins at a great price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pines Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Pines Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nastalgic cabins at a great price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in cabin number seven. The cabin itself, while small, was just what we were looking for. Essentially it was a three room cabin with a living room/bedroom, bathroom and kitchen. There was a small front and rear porch as well. The size of the cabin was on par with a large hotel room. It is an early to mid century motor lodge so don't expect more than you would from a mid priced motel. Some people have commented about the rundown look of the cabins, they are old, I preferred to see the character instead. I wanted a place to stay near the Biltmore, reasonably priced, that accepted pets. This place fit the bill perfectly. I would stay here again and will recommend this place to my friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    37
    13
    9
    7
See reviews for
33
97
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The owners of these nostalgic road side cabins are trying real hard to make this a quaint, relaxing lodging option. They are doing a pretty good job. Our family of five stayed in cottage number 6 we found it roomy and the beds very comfortable. The bathroom was cramped but the shower was fantastic. In addition the one window air conditioner was Inadequate, thank goodness temps were below avg for August in Ashevile. The cabin also has a strong musty smell. It was however so great to sit out on the front porch with a cup of coffee and put my feet up on the rail. A great alternative to the Comfort inn.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjinwaldokc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Purchased through Groupon. We were in cabin #4 for 4 nights. First the positive - Pet friendly and plenty of green space for our dog. Quiet and peaceful location. Close to town. The owners were helpful and friendly. Nice king size bed and the bed & pillows were comfortable enough. My husband said when he walked in "well this is pretty rustic" :-) The cabin had some upgrades, like new faucets, and it was clean, but overall it was a little run down. When we first walked in their was a funky smell. Probably just a damp smell as the A/C dripped water inside the room and the floor was wet. We would open the windows in the AM when it was cool outside and that seemed to resolve the smell. The slipcover on the chair looked really dirty. Biggest gripe - the showerhead is at a really low height. It was level with my nose and I'm 5' 9". Good for a budget minded traveler. We probably will not be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Pines Cottages for a few days in July. We hadn't done much research and didn't realize these were vintage cottages, so our expectations had to adjust when we got there. The place is charming, it has cute cottages, vintage furnishings, and is near to Weaverville, which we found to have great restaurants. The owner of the cabins was extremely pleasant and helpful - and he truly keeps the cabins clean and kept up. If you're not looking for vintage/rustic charm, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for that charm, this is right up your alley.

We had heard a lot about Asheville, but were not able to find the allure of the town - it was very busy and loud and lacked the quaintness we were looking for - but perhaps we were looking in the wrong place? I do have to say that the cottages were away from the hustle/bustle as much as they could be - as you got closer to Asheville center the busyness and noise increased dramatically. I felt very safe being at Pine Cottages.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImJustSayingIsAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crandall, GA
Level Contributor
275 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were unable to find a pet friendly B&B to accommodate us and our Chihuahuas on the 4th of July holiday, but I was able to find the Pines Cottages just outside the Asheville city limits and they are pet friendly. I called the week before and spoke with Alan and made the reservation. We were excited that we would be able to stay three nights. Upon arrival, we were glad that Cabin #10 was hidden behind the others at the end of the lane. There was a small porch on the cottage so we could back up to it and unload without getting soaked in the monsoon like rains that Asheville was experiencing that weekend. Let me just say that the cottage was very clean. The room was damp due to the windows being left open through the rains that kept moving through. I couldn't connect to the WiFi so I called Alan and he said that there was no secure connection, so I gave up trying. We appreciate the fact that the cabin was clean and that Alan let us stay there with our dogs. It was also in a very good location. A few minutes one way and you could be in downtown Asheville. I saw other reviews about the noise from the road, but unless we were sitting on the porch, we couldn't hear the traffic. It was a nice place to stay for three days,

Room Tip: Cabin 10 is behind the other ones at the end of the lane so there is no thru traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaandBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a quaint cottage setting that reminds me of the mid-sixties (in a good way). Rooms are clean and quiet, and the trees made us feel like we were deep in the woods even though The Pines is right off the highway. The owner lives on the property and provides great tips for dining and outdoor activities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Sweet little cottages and great location just minutes from downtown. The owners Tara and Allen are super nice and very helpful with recommending excellent restaurants and things to do in the area. Great value!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoma606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.5 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
7.2 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#33 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
6.9 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
5.3 mi away
Asheville Swiss Chalets
Asheville Swiss Chalets
#3 of 21 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Cottages

Property: The Pines Cottages
Address: 346 Weaverville Rd, Asheville, NC 28804-1229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pines Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer studio and two bedroom cottages and cabins located just 6 miles from downtown Asheville and 8 miles from The Biltmore Estate. The Pines Cottages is a great place to stay while visiting Asheville and Western North Carolina because we offer more than just a hotel room. Our cottages and cabins have fully equipped separate kitchens and bathrooms. We are pet friendly and our 4 1/2 acres of grounds offer a place to walk your dog, sit next to a fire around our fire pit or cook-out on one of our grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Pines Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pines Cottages Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing