We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh Air” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pines Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pines Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh Air”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

This place is great!! Clean and neat. Dog friendly. Cute and cozy. Close to hiking and canoeing. The owners are extremely accommodating! Clean towels daily. If you want to cook the cottages have kitchenettes. The kitchen is so cute and reminds me of a grandma kitchen from the 70s. Our cabin#13 had a great fireplace. High definition TV. Outdoor patio. The owners decorated the cabins for Christmas. We had a Christmas tree!! This was perfect for us because it is very vintage in style. To me it was like a cottage or cabin right from the TV show "Madmen". If there is anything you need to know or if there is something you need in your cottage the owners will do their very best to accommodate you. They even made homemade biscotti for the guests! How nice. We have stayed here a few times now and really love it.

Room Tip: The Website is accurate in the description of this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CavalierAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thepinescottages, Owner at The Pines Cottages, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank You! We love having you and look forward to your next stay. Allen & Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    37
    13
    9
    7
See reviews for
33
96
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Wow, this was a huge letdown. Based on reading many of the posted reviews and perusing the web site, we expected a quaint, simple, bucolic setting. We were tremendously disappointed. The cottages are definitely cute and much is as advertised. The major problem is location and noise. Any advantages of the experience are undone by the fact that the cottages sit immediately adjacent to a major highway. We are talking feet here. Originally we were set to stay in cottage #13. Walking up to check it out, I felt like I was nearly in breakdown lane. The cottage is probably 50 feet at most from the highway. The owner offered us a choice of two other cottages. We chose one closer to the other end of the property (where there is another thoroughfare with heavy traffic). The noise from both roads, especially the highway, was continuous throughout our stay. Traffic on both roads is very heavy. There are no natural or installed noise barriers on either side of the property. We found the noise and experience to be jarring. The cottage was also not very clean, at least to our standards. There was dust behind the furniture and the hardwood floors were very dirty. There was no mat at the doorway which would help reduce the amount of dirt coming in the place. There were not enough pots and pans to cook more than the simplest meal and the number of dishes were also sparse. Finally, my husband and I both stepped in large piles of dog poop walking into the cottage after dark. The owner told us this is a common problem; however, we saw no preventative strategies or remedies in place. such as signs for owners to pick up poop, dog poop bag stations, or a regular pick-up service). All considered, this place is way overpriced and a poor value for what is provided.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I thought we were staying in a cute log cabin with a fireplace for one night. Sounded cozy on a cool October night. I've never stayed in any accommodation where the sheets were so worn they slid off the bed during a normal night of sleep. The towels and washcloths were thin. A fireplace was in the one bedroom cabin, but no way to start the fire....not even matches. There was not a coffee pot with all parts available. What REALLY got to me was the note on the wall that said I should wash and put away any cups, glasses, etc. that were used, to put all dirty linen in one pile and take the garbage out to a dumpster before our departure the next morning. Maintenance issues...like broken furniture....all in all not a good value or experience at $165.00 total for the night. I would not go back or recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin #1
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Pines in cabin #13 for a long weekend and really enjoyed it. It was a simple, quick drive to downtown Asheville, the Blue Ridge Parkway, and the various points of interest like the Biltmore estate or Grove Park Inn. The cabin was well appointed and charming; it had a great fireplace (with plenty of firewood), a porch, a convenient kitchenette, and a grill too (with charcoal). Allen mentioned that it was recently remodeled and my wife was thrilled at what she described as a "cute cabin".

We honeymooned in Germany and were surprised to discover an authentic Bavarian restaurant next door to the cabins, too. Plus, when I mentioned that this was our anniversary, Allen made sure that there was a bottle of champage in the cabin when we arrived.

Room Tip: Look at the room descriptions on the website to ensure that you pick one that suits your needs or pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed in Cottage #4 for 6 nights in the beginning of October. The cottages are all vintage, tiny and adorable - just as I expected. Furnishings were also vintage or vintage inspired. It was like a fun step back in time.

My main complaints revolve around the cleanliness and general maintenance of the cottage. The kitchen in particular was quite dirty and really needed a good, deep clean. The toilet seat was so loose it was ready to fall off. Not sure when the wood floor in the living/sleeping quarters were swept last.

Thankfully the linens were all clean. Beds were what you'd expect at Motel 6 or Super 8. Dueling traffic from the two highways was pretty loud during morning rush hour.

All in all, the best I can say about the Pines is that it's just OK. I wouldn't go back...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank BLPChas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a great time in Asheville for Labor day weekend. These cottages are minutes from downtown Asheville and the Blue Ridge parkway. The friendly staff made excellent recommendations from natural attractions to dining and night life. The cottage itself (we stayed in #10) was slightly larger than a typical hotel room. The small kitchen really came in handy. We spent a lot of time on the small front porch and really enjoyed the heavily wooded location. The privacy definitely outweighed the proximity to the highway. All in all we had an amazing weekend and our stay at the Pines Cottages was definitely an integral part of our fantastic experience. Economical. Comfortable. Convenient. We loved it there and would recommend it to anyone. We will be going back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bakershane33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Alan and Tara, the owners of "The Pines Cottages" go out of their way to ensure you have a positive stay. We stayed in Cottage #2 from August 1-15. The cottage was remodeled, and more importantly, clean. The cleaning staff also go out of their way to ensure you have everything needed to enjoy your stay. I highly recommend The Pines Cottages.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarasota2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
6.6 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#24 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
8.2 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#31 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
7.2 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
4.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Cottages

Property: The Pines Cottages
Address: 346 Weaverville Rd, Asheville, NC 28804-1229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pines Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer studio and two bedroom cottages and cabins located just 6 miles from downtown Asheville and 8 miles from The Biltmore Estate. The Pines Cottages is a great place to stay while visiting Asheville and Western North Carolina because we offer more than just a hotel room. Our cottages and cabins have fully equipped separate kitchens and bathrooms. We are pet friendly and our 4 1/2 acres of grounds offer a place to walk your dog, sit next to a fire around our fire pit or cook-out on one of our grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Pines Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pines Cottages Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing