We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull B&B for Birthday Celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1900 Inn on Montford
Ranked #16 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful stay at the 1900 Inn on Montford. Ron & Lynn were the most gracious and kindest hosts of any B & B that we ever stayed at. When we arrived, there was a bottle of sparkling wine and birthday balloons waiting for me in our beautiful quaint room. We celebrated my birthday dinner at Curate, after being driven to the restaurant by Ron, in his Rolls Royce. What a special touch! The inn is beautiful and we made several new friends which added to the enjoyable experience. Wine is served on the porch every evening at 6:00 pm. We weren't there on a Saturday evening, so we weren't able to enjoy the music, but, we hope to return to the inn again. The Inn is a perfect size to give the guests a more personal and intimate experience. Thank you Ron and Lynn for such a special birthday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTWells2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (884)
There are newer reviews for 1900 Inn on Montford
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 884 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

My loving husband, pet Doberman Orion, and I stayed at the Montford in 02/2013 in the Cloisters. We had a wonderful experience. The innkeepers Ron and Lynn were very warm and inviting, honored our privacy, and treated us like family. We came to Ashville to help me relax and re-cooperate after spinal surgery. We could not have chosen a more relaxing place in the world. We definitely look forward to staying at the Montford again very SOON!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was my very first trip to Asheville and an unforgettable one at that. Aside from the fact that I got married, Montford was our haven for 3 days and I don't even know where to begin to describe our wonderful experience.

From the most comfortable and luxurious room (we stayed in the Edith Wharton), delicious breakfast and treats, beautiful historic decor, convenient location and true mountain music on the porch, Lynn and Ron truly made this experience worth our while. One element that rises above the rest is that they seem to go the extra mile for their guests.

Once we arrived back at the Inn on our wedding day; a bottle of champagne, a huge cupcake and big beautiful balloons, were awaiting us in our room. It was not expected at all, which made it all the more special. They succeeded in making our day even more romantic and memorable than what it already was.

We are delighted to have found 1900 Inn on Montford for our stay in Asheville and we hope to visit again in the future!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had a magnificent 2 nights here. The Inn Keepers, Ron & Lyn, and helper Pam are delightful, the house is beautiful and our fellow guests were interesting, friendly and very good company.

We would strongly recommend anyone to stay here. The house is beautifully furnished and well located a short walk from the Visitor Centre and excellent restaurant, The Nine Mile.

Our room was lovely and the bed very comfortable.

Our breakfasts were delicious, wine and chat on the porch each evening was terrific and a power cut was an excellent excuse for a candle lit breakfast and champagne!!

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be superb.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluenotebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I just returned from 3 nights at the Inn as part of our honeymoon. WOW. This place is so special and made our honeymoon that much more memorable. Ron & Lynn could not have been more welcoming! They are a wealth of knowledge about the ins and outs of Asheville and made us feel like family.

We stayed in the Fitzgerald room which was perfect with one of the most comfortable beds (the sheets are amazing and can be ordered through the Inn). Breakfast and social hour were highlights of the trip and are not to be missed.

All in all, a perfect example of what a B&B should be. Already yearning to return to the Montford Inn and Asheville. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The Fitzgerald room has a recently renovated bathroom with a jet-tub and rain shower. Quite; we neve...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mredfea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My fiancee and I came down to Asheville for the first time to celebrate our birthdays. What a treat to stay at the 1900 Inn on Montford. It was like a luxury hotel, but better, because of the personal touches and attention. Pampering treats like hot coffee delivered to your room in the morning, an elegant sun room with fresh baked goods and coffee service in the afternoon, and delicious local wines in the evening on the beautifully appointed southern porch, complete with wicker furniture and a porch swing. The breakfast each of the three mornings we stayed was a fine dining experience, with top-notch creative dishes, served in an elegant setting. Saturday evening we were treated to music by three local musicians along with the other guests and our gracious innkeepers. After that, we were treated to a ride into town to our chosen restaurant in the inn's Rolls Royce! The best part was the warmth, hospitality and humor of our innkeepers, Lynn and Ron. They are a delight to chat with and have great recommendations for local dining and activities. We especially appreciated the classy and detailed decor throughout the inn, and the carefully tended gardens and flowerbeds encircling the inn. Our room, the Fitzgerald, was luxurious and cozy. The newly remodeled bathroom offered several pampering treats, including an air jet tub and a 72-jet rain shower (we are ordering one to install at home!). We enjoyed a soak in the jet tub before our in-room couples massage given by two local massage therapists. Can't wait to come back to this special retreat!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Had a delightful stay in the William Morris suite. Very private and quiet. All the comforts I could imagine and then some. The bed was so comfortable, my husband wanted to buy it! The breakfasts were delicious and beautiful to behold. Looked forward to 9:30am delivery every morning. Lynn and Ron are very gracious hosts and know Asheville well. We enjoyed sipping wine and getting to know them on the charming front porch. They provided a bottle of champagne in our room in honor of our anniversary. We missed music night on the porch on Saturday, but will make time on our next visit. The house is lovely. We hated to leave, but will be back because once is not enough!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,208 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 66 in Asheville
6,250 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1900 Inn on Montford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1900 Inn on Montford

Address: 296 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $233 - $692 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 1900 Inn on Montford 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and Romantic AAA Four-Diamond Inn with four large bedrooms and 1000 sq ft suite in main house and three secluded pet-friendly suites in Griffin Cottage with private, enclosed back gardens. King beds, fireplaces, whirlpools, steam baths, HDTV, personal refrigerators, and high-speed Internet access. Social hour each evening with live music Saturday nights. Full three-course breakfast served at 9 am. Breakfast delivered to your room in Griffin Cottage Suites. Fodor's Choice Award selection for 2009 thru 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 1900 Inn on Montford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1900 Inn On Montford Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing