We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1900 Inn on Montford
Ranked #19 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“B&B Heaven”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My fiancee and I came down to Asheville for the first time to celebrate our birthdays. What a treat to stay at the 1900 Inn on Montford. It was like a luxury hotel, but better, because of the personal touches and attention. Pampering treats like hot coffee delivered to your room in the morning, an elegant sun room with fresh baked goods and coffee service in the afternoon, and delicious local wines in the evening on the beautifully appointed southern porch, complete with wicker furniture and a porch swing. The breakfast each of the three mornings we stayed was a fine dining experience, with top-notch creative dishes, served in an elegant setting. Saturday evening we were treated to music by three local musicians along with the other guests and our gracious innkeepers. After that, we were treated to a ride into town to our chosen restaurant in the inn's Rolls Royce! The best part was the warmth, hospitality and humor of our innkeepers, Lynn and Ron. They are a delight to chat with and have great recommendations for local dining and activities. We especially appreciated the classy and detailed decor throughout the inn, and the carefully tended gardens and flowerbeds encircling the inn. Our room, the Fitzgerald, was luxurious and cozy. The newly remodeled bathroom offered several pampering treats, including an air jet tub and a 72-jet rain shower (we are ordering one to install at home!). We enjoyed a soak in the jet tub before our in-room couples massage given by two local massage therapists. Can't wait to come back to this special retreat!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    30
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
663
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Had a delightful stay in the William Morris suite. Very private and quiet. All the comforts I could imagine and then some. The bed was so comfortable, my husband wanted to buy it! The breakfasts were delicious and beautiful to behold. Looked forward to 9:30am delivery every morning. Lynn and Ron are very gracious hosts and know Asheville well. We enjoyed sipping wine and getting to know them on the charming front porch. They provided a bottle of champagne in our room in honor of our anniversary. We missed music night on the porch on Saturday, but will make time on our next visit. The house is lovely. We hated to leave, but will be back because once is not enough!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the 1900 Inn on Montford for 3 nights in the Edith Wharton room to celebrate our 5 year wedding anniversary. We have stayed at a handful of B&B's before and have always had an enjoyable experience. After staying at Inn on Montford, I will tell you, the bar has now been set for which all other B&B's we stay will be compared.

It is quite apparent that Lynn and Ron have benefited from their years of experience operating the Inn because they do a lot of things right. As others have mentioned, they have really thought of everything, I just LOVE the coffee or tea on the door and the soft knock wake up call. I also love that each breakfast is 3 courses and includes fruit, savory, and sweet courses, versus alternating between the types each day like we have experienced elsewhere. The food is the best that we have had at a B&B. Lynn orchestrates conversation at the breakfast table with incredible finesse and we really enjoyed getting to know her and the other guests. The music on the porch on Saturday evening was really nice and Lynn & Ron offered delicious Biltmore wine that we now buy at home. I think the wine choice and the music is an example of what sets the experience at this Inn apart, a lot of B&B's do a wine hour and it is nice, but Lynn & Ron offer better quality wine then we have had elsewhere and they have added the live music - such a nice treat - and just an example as to how they do what they do very well, they have gone the extra step, made the extra investment to make the experience exceptional. Also, I was really amazed that Ron offered rides into town at certain times of the day or evening, that is really going above and beyond.

We walked into town and back quite a bit from the Inn both during the day and at night. It took us 15 min to get to the edge of downtown where the Indigo Hotel is and another 5ish minutes to get to anywhere we wanted to from there.

The Edith Wharton room was very pretty and very comfortable and I would choose that room again. I slept great in that bed from night one. We felt very relaxed and at home. One day, hopefully we can splurge and stay in one of their other fancy rooms!

Room Tip: The Edith Wharton was very pretty, comfortable, quiet, and had a very nice jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runnerchic79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had our wedding at 1900 Inn on Montford last week and spent one night at the inn. The wedding was everything we wanted and more. The goal was to have a small wedding with just the two of us and three family members with as little stress and planning as possible. Lynn handled all the details - photographer, cake, bouquet, minister, etc. We were driven to dinner and back in the Inn's chariot. First time I had ridden in a Rolls Royce. We were upgraded to The amazing Cloisters Suite. The Inn is beautiful. Breakfast was amazing. Ron, Lynn, and everyone at the Inn made the experience unforgettable. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013

we just returned home from a lovely two night get-a-way to asheville nc. we stayed at the fabulous 1900 Inn on Montford. the innkeepers, Lynn and Ron were charming and full of great information! we traveled with our dog and stayed in the carriage house (dog friendly) in the Rossetti Suite. it is the most incredible place ever!!! every thing you could possibly need and more. our breakfast was delivered to us and we ate outside in our private garden. the food was delicious! i highly recommend this inn to anyone visiting asheville!! we also loved 6:00 cocktails on the porch!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed in the Fitzgerald room for 4 nights while exploring the NC, TN area. The room was absolutely beautiful. My husband loved the rain shower...not sure what he will do when we get back home. Ron and Lynn surprised us with balloons, champagne and a wonderful cupcake for my birthday. They were wonderful hosts and we thoroughly enjoyed our time here. Now, we hit the road and it is back to reality!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpbiwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, IL
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Since I have traveled for business all my life, I prefer to stay at B&Bs when traveling for fun. So, this trip to Asheville, being for fun, we chose the Monthford Inn. The Inn is a beautiful, well kept place and the room was adequate. The shower curtain was impossible to keep from hugging me during my shower. The room as ok, but the window AC had a hard time keeping it cool in the room due to the very warm days. The breakfast left quite a bit to be desired. Maybe it was my wife and my taste being different than the southern cooking, but underdone eggs are not something we care for. The sweet rolls were great and we enjoyed the conversation with the guests as we ususally do at B&Bs. The entertainment on the veranda Friday evening was quite special along with a glass of wine to sip while enjoying the music.
All in all, I give the Montford Inn 3 stars. It is average, ok, but far from the best B&Bs I have had the pleasure of staying in over the years.

Room Tip: I recommend getting one of the newer suites, even if they cost more money. I suspect, but am not su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aturnauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeme46, Owner at 1900 Inn on Montford, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We want every guest to have a comfortable and relaxing vacation. We are disappointed with ourselves that we did not do so for this guest. The room the reviewer stayed in was the O. Henry. This is the only room in the inn where we have maintained the original bath. That means we have a claw footed tub with an overhead shower and a shower curtain. The reviewer is correct that the shower curtain can cling to you.

He is also correct that the air conditioner may have been unable to keep up with the fluctuating outdoor temperatures. We were unaware that the reviewer was having issues with the temperature of his room. We can only assume he was not comfortable in approaching us. I apologize. If we had known we would have replaced the air conditioning unit. We keep a spare in the inn for that eventuality.

As for the eggs, well, this is clearly a misunderstanding. We serve a dish where the eggs are baked in cream and cheese. They are baked in the oven at 350 degrees for 25 minutes. The eggs are fully cooked but the cream is still soft and may give the appearance of being under cooked.

I am delighted he enjoyed the music and the social hour. We agree with the reviewer that we do have wonderful guests!

Lynn Carlson
Owner/Innkeeper since 1997
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
2.6 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,181 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
2.9 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
1.0 mi away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
230 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 66 in Asheville
5,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1900 Inn on Montford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1900 Inn on Montford

Property: 1900 Inn on Montford
Address: 296 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — 1900 Inn on Montford 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and Romantic AAA Four-Diamond Inn with four large bedrooms and 1000 sq ft suite in main house and three secluded pet-friendly suites in Griffin Cottage with private, enclosed back gardens. King beds, fireplaces, whirlpools, steam baths, HDTV, personal refrigerators, and high-speed Internet access. Social hour each evening with live music Saturday nights. Full three-course breakfast served at 9 am. Breakfast delivered to your room in Griffin Cottage Suites. Fodor's Choice Award selection for 2009 thru 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 1900 Inn on Montford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1900 Inn On Montford Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing