We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating bathroom!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1900 Inn on Montford
Ranked #19 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fascinating bathroom!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Zelda Suite is perfect-be prepared to be wowed. I didn't want to leave the shower. Wonderful way to unwind after long day. Thanks, Ron and Lynn. I saw the other suites and they are all my favorites. The location is also really good for anything to do in Asheville.

Room Tip: the Zelda Suite is very roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigMillBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    30
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
662
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a great find in Asheville. I stayed in the Fitzgerald Room and Loved the shower. I could have lived in the wonderful shower. The coffee delivery each morning is a great touch and the breakfast was delicious too. Thank you for all the special touches Lynn and Ron! I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbsipprell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Had a relaxing, wonderful time at the 1900 Inn! Owners are very inviting, offering much genuine hospitality. Fantastic breakfasts, fun Happy Hour & we ate some great dinners on their recommendations! Loved the location, house & beautiful grounds. Very clean with fresh flowers in the shower! No reservations in recommending this Inn!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was an absolutely wonderful place, period. We stayed in the Fitzgerald room, with the bathroom of Pinterest fame. It was everything it appeared to be and more. The shower itself was worth every penny, but the rest of the Inn was just as fantastic. Our bed was super comfortable, the furnishings were gorgeous, it was just perfect. When we checked in, we were shown to our room and the concierge showed us how to work the various settings in the bathroom and the room to ensure we were comfortable. She then asked if we needed help finding a place to eat or getting settled. VERY accommodating. Breakfast was absolutely amazing both days. Neither one of us was hungry after breakfast until about two- it's just that filling. Lynn was extremely friendly and conversational, which was so different and nice from a standard hotel. We stayed on a weekend, which meant Saturday night during social hour a bluegrass band came to play. It was so nice having a glass of wine and listening to music. We were celebrating an anniversary, and when we got to our room there were balloons and sparkling wine waiting for us, which truly meant the world. Back to the bathroom, which was really the whole reason we first picked the Inn, the floor is heated, the rainfall shower is phenomenal, and the jacuzzi tub is to die for. There are even LED candles to put out to create a romantic setting in the bathroom. Overall, a wonderful place to stay, and we look forward to our next trip to Asheville just so we can return to this amazing establishment.
Note: This is an LGBTQ friendly establishment, which earns them extra stars in our book!

Room Tip: Definitely pick the Fitzgerald- AMAZING bathroom!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiq1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The inn was wonderful and exceeded our expectations! We staid in one of the pet friendly rooms, the cloister. It was so immaculately decorated. The owners thought of everything! They were even so kind to our dog, she had a personalized biscuit waiting for her arrival. Last but not least, the breakfasts were wonderful! We enjoyed every bite and especially loved that it was delivered right to our door.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelingarn0lds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My partner and I have stayed with Lynn and Ron several times while looking for a house in Asheville. We have two White German Shepherds, so there aren't that many top end places that will take our family of four. Lynn and Ron created a great dog-friendly retreat with their new Carriage House, which was designed by renound Biltmore Villiage architect, Robert Griffin. These guys are so nice, we were once held over during a hurricane, and we could not get back to New Orleans. Our room was rented, so they allowed us to stay in the Bridal Suite, which is the entire top floor of the Carriage House, and is right out of a story book. The living room feels like an English Church with carved woodwork and warm fireplace, the huge steam shower was just delightfully relaxing, the bedroom TV lifts up automatically from its cabinet. It was just an oasis during the storm. And...they ony charges us the same rate as our other room. Now that is hospitality. If anyone deserves FOUR DIAMONDS, its this place. You can't go wrong, and you CAN bring your fluffy family members!!

Room Tip: Carriage House is for pets or people (there is no dog smell or any hint they allow dogs there). The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOLARenovate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My boyfriend took me to 1900 Inn on Montford as a surprise for my 28th birthday. I had never seen the Biltmore before, so he made reservations at 1900 Inn on Montford, and WOW was I impressed. The room was absolutely stunning, super romantic with a gas fireplace, infinity jacuzzi, gorgeous furnishings.... the whole place was absolutely beyond any expectation. Ron and Lynn and the rest of the staff were truly wonderful people, and I really enjoyed just getting to know them.... not to mention the food was AMAZING! The breakfast served was so delicious and so beautifully made I almost felt bad about eating it (but not that bad.... it was just THAT good!). And the brownies? To die for. After staying at this bed and breakfast, I don't know how I would ever stay at a regular hotel again. I can't even give this place enough stars! Best birthday ever! Thanks so much Ron and Lynn, I will sing 1900 Inn on Montford's praises to everyone I meet who is headed to Asheville NC. And you can bet I will be returning!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 65 in Asheville
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 65 in Asheville
221 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 65 in Asheville
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1900 Inn on Montford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1900 Inn on Montford

Property: 1900 Inn on Montford
Address: 296 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — 1900 Inn on Montford 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and Romantic AAA Four-Diamond Inn with four large bedrooms and 1000 sq ft suite in main house and three secluded pet-friendly suites in Griffin Cottage with private, enclosed back gardens. King beds, fireplaces, whirlpools, steam baths, HDTV, personal refrigerators, and high-speed Internet access. Social hour each evening with live music Saturday nights. Full three-course breakfast served at 9 am. Breakfast delivered to your room in Griffin Cottage Suites. Fodor's Choice Award selection for 2009 thru 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 1900 Inn on Montford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1900 Inn On Montford Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing