We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1900 Inn on Montford
Ranked #19 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
tucson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We began our visit to The Inn on Montford on Dec 28 and had a great 6 day visit. From the moment we pulled up to the Inn until we left, the experience was fantastic! The house, grounds, food, staff and Christmas decorations were incredible. The breakfast was a wonderful three course meal. Snacks were always avalable through out the day. A really cool Social Hour every evening between 6:00 and 7:00 PM made for an easy way to meet your neighbors in the house with you. Wines from the Biltmore Estate vineyards were offered during this hour. We were fortunate enough to be able to enjoy the Saturday night three piece local band that performed at the house. If you like early 1900's homes and antique furnishings, this is the place to stay. It's three storys, wooden floors, and water radiators were just a few of the many items found in the house. The Inn Keepers, Ron and Lynn are very well versed in the rich history of the area and go the extra distance to make sure you see the sights and answer your questions. We highly recommend this B&B and will stay at the Inn again the next time we visit the Asheville area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shopgirl9161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    30
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
35
667
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We found this B&B by searching the internet & were TOTALLY blown away during our stay! We went for a weekend away from the kids to get *back to each other* & couldn't have asked for a better place to be! We stayed in the carriage house (The Cloisters). It was so peaceful, relaxing & were spoiled rotten by Lynn & Ron & their helpers. The amenities were first rate, the food was awesome, the ambience was magical. The *room* had an unbelievable walk in shower, jetted tub, big screen tv's, robes, toiletries that were 1st rate, soft sheets & plush towels. We never wanted to leave the room & we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcdiane2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Food was wonderful, house owners were very nice and helpful. The rooms were huge and the Fitzgerald bathroom was amazing. We highly recommend and will definitely be back. The house is located in a great area. Going around the holidays was a good idea because they had the house decorated beautifully.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boonegoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed in the Fitzgerald room. Very nice room with a fireplace that took the chill off after a day in the cold. Marvelous bath with an air tub for two, overhead shower, and magical lighting in the floor. Quite an experience. Lynn and Ron are wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tombomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at 1900 Montford Inn the weekend before Christmas. The Inn was decorated so beautifully with Christmas trees everywhere! Our room was one of the smaller rooms which was fine by me. We had a jacuzzi tub which I utilized every single night (and day). One of the neatest things is that they have a band that plays almost every Saturday night called "The Tator Diggers". Fabulous! They serve wine to everyone and you just sit and listen with your "clappers". It was great! Lynn was wonderful every morning at breakfast. All the guests are sitting together at a large table and she will engage everyone in conversation so that all the guests meet each other and it isn't just a bunch of strangers sitting at a table together eating breakfast. It ends up being nice conversation among everyone. I have stayed in many many B&Bs both in the US and Europe and I have to say that this is one of the best experiences i've had. For many reasons, all the special touches, fireplaces in every room, everything you need or could ask for is there. We will definitely be back.....in fact i'm booking our same room for May when they have the Montford Music Festival. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinderJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elora, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed two nights. Our room was one of the less expensive, smaller rooms but it was not short on any convenience or comfort. From the comfortable bed with soft, luxury linens, DVD, and jacuzzi tub, our room was quiet and felt very private. Lynn and her staff were extremely helpful and gracious in getting us our tickets to the candelight tour of the Biltmore and our Biltmore winery tour, our dinner reservations at a fabulous restaurant called Curate and gave us lots of cool info about local places including the local Gingerbread house contest/show.

One great touch that we've never had at any bed and breakfast was that Lynn' staff delivers coffee and tea to the room at 8am - breakfast at 9. It was a perfect touch for my honey who loves his coffee first thing in the morning! It was the highlight of his experience there.

Breakfast was top notch. Three courses. We had fresh fruit and yogurt parfait, fritatta, homemade pastry, fresh, hot applesauce topped with fresh pomegranate, and fresh orange juice.

We were so busy with our activities that we missed the social hour that Lynn puts on in the evening every night with refreshments....but I bet its nice, just like everything else at the 1900 Inn on Montford.

The location of this Inn is very convenient.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Edith Wharton room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronniekayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I also cannot say enough about this B&B. My friends and I have stayed at a number of B&Bs in Asheville. This is the one that we have returned to and will do so again when visiting Asheville. The hosts are personable, very friendly, and quick to laugh. My girlfriend and I always feel right at home.

Great location! Close to downtown and with a great restaurant just a very short walk away.

We will be back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,198 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 66 in Asheville
6,089 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1900 Inn on Montford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1900 Inn on Montford

Property: 1900 Inn on Montford
Address: 296 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — 1900 Inn on Montford 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and Romantic AAA Four-Diamond Inn with four large bedrooms and 1000 sq ft suite in main house and three secluded pet-friendly suites in Griffin Cottage with private, enclosed back gardens. King beds, fireplaces, whirlpools, steam baths, HDTV, personal refrigerators, and high-speed Internet access. Social hour each evening with live music Saturday nights. Full three-course breakfast served at 9 am. Breakfast delivered to your room in Griffin Cottage Suites. Fodor's Choice Award selection for 2009 thru 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your 1900 Inn on Montford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1900 Inn On Montford Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing