We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
1900 Inn on Montford
Ranked #13 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a couple nights in September 2012. We stayed in the William Morris room/suite with our dog. The room is very beautiful and clean. The bed is so soft and comfortable. The huge shower stall, steam bath, and jacuzzi tub were out of this world relaxing. The only negative, and it is a small negative, is the satellite television. It is next to impossible to get a clear channel, no matter how many tricks you try to follow in the instruction manual. It did not bother us much though because we didn't come here to watch television. My husband did watch a movie which worked fine. The 3 course breakfasts were delicious. The owners are very respectful of your privacy and if you don't want to interact with them, you don't have to. They knock on the window to announce their arrival for breakfast delivery, and that is all we saw of them outside of in the main house. But they are very nice people. Aaron, who isn't an owner but was helping them out, made us feel very welcome when we arrived and showed us to our room. He explained how everything worked and was so polite and kind. We wouldn't hesitate to book another stay with this bed and breakfast. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristyW77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 894 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

From entering into a home elegantly furnished to an enthusiastic greeting from the innkeeper we knew we had chosen well. The beautifully appointed suite, the 3 course breakfast served on period china, fresh coffee and tea available at all hours, as well as fruit, sweets, water and soft drinks and the 6:00 social hour on the porch made for a pampered stay. Most important to us however, was the feeling throughout our 3 day stay that we were more comfortable coming and going than at stays both here and in Europe. A "winner" in all aspects.
Will and Janet M

Room Tip: Zelda's Retreat was awesome. Encompassed the entire 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan392will71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Staying at the 1900 Inn on Montford is a bit like being a cosseted guest in the luxurious home of a knowledgeable, sophisticated and welcoming aunt and uncle. The day begins with a soft knock on the door at 8:00 (if one wishes), signaling the arrival of a velour bag containing thermos cups of excellent coffee. Next is an excellent and varied breakfast, served on beautiful china in a bright, spacious and interestingly decorated dining room. After a day’s exploration of Asheville and the beautiful mountains nearby, the returning guest finds excellent cake and cookies available in a reading room. From 6:00 to 7:00 or so, the inn’s owners poured examples of the very nice Biltmore Estate wines; the weather was ideal when we were there, so the gathering took place on the porch. Our room, not surprisingly, was spacious, bright and very nicely furnished. Add to this owners who are generous in their sharing of local knowledge – they led us to two excellent restaurants, Curate and Corner Kitchen, as well as to some lovely waterfalls in the Pisgah National Forest – and you have a very winning combination.

Room Tip: The inn's web site has excellent photos and descriptions of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWLNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I spent a long weekend at the Inn in early September. It was a last minute trip and there were only two rooms left when I booked out trip. We ended up in the Edith Wharton room. Wish we could have booked a different room, but no matter - the room was very spacious, yet cozy. We had a fireplace (too warm to use when we were there) and a jacuzzi tub.The sheets were like silk on the very comfortable bed. The owners were not there the weekend we stayed, but they had quite competent people looking after the Inn while they were away. I was so sad to find out that the Inn's cat had passed away - I was looking forward to meeting her. We did enjoy the Saturday night live music on the front porch - the Tater Diggers - however, they were one shy - no fiddle player. I guess many people take off on the long Labor Day weekend, including innkeepers and musicians. No matter - the music and wine was still very enjoyable. The breakfasts are as the other reviewers indicated - 3 courses. Quite nice and they never repeat a dish when a guest is there, so there was always something to look forward to every morning. There were a couple of niggly little things - like we ran out of shampoo and they did not leave a spare, some of the guests who were there the same time we were there talked about the beautiful flowers in their rooms (we had a single flower - it was beautiful, but hey). Also, we completely enjoyed the bath salts in the tub the night after a long day touring the Biltmore House. It would have been nice to do the same thing the next night, but the bath salts were not replaced. Nothing major. Would I stay here again? Of course - it is quite charming and the location is great. But the next time, I might consider trying a B&B or other accommodation in a slightly different area of town. By the way - this was a trip to celebrate our wedding anniversary, which we did not share when we made our reservations. I wish we had - perhaps it may have changed some of the niggly little things we encountered.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellover3868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I visited Asheville in February and stayed in the William Morris suite. The room was wonderful, with the most comfortable bed I have slept in ever. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. The breakfast served the two mornings we were there was incredible. The location was perfect and in spite of the surprise snow storm, the visit was fantastic. We highly recommend the1900 Inn on Montford to anybody looking to visit Asheville.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinM02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

What an amazing anniversary we had here! Highlights:

1) fitzgerald suite....the bathroom is amazing
2) this aint your grandma's bed and breakfast. for those worried about a house filled with musty antiques from aunt myrtle's attic, put your fears aside. the decor and accommodations are first class at this b and b.
3) music on the porch in the evening is fantastic....especially if the tater diggers play!
4) breakfasts are out of this world (drooling)
5) location is super close to downtown (fit in with the townies and bring your bikes so you can ride into town at night!)
6) Inn Keepers are a pleasant duo and will gladly entertain you with stories or stay out of your way. Ann has great taste in restaurants and will steer you in the right direction (curate is awesome!)

Room Tip: we love the fitzgerald room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lux_travel_by_HD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Ron and Lynn are the perfect hosts. Warm, welcoming and helpful. We were surprised one evening on the porch with banjo and guitar music. Wine overflowed each night at 6:00. The room was clean and comfy, the sheets incredibly soft. Did I mention the breakfast? Out of this world delicious!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamela a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Princess Anne Hotel
#2 of 68 in Asheville
718 reviews
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#14 of 68 in Asheville
6,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Biltmore Village Inn
#7 of 39 in Asheville
1,652 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1900 Inn on Montford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1900 Inn on Montford

Address: 296 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $264 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 1900 Inn on Montford 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and Romantic AAA Four-Diamond Inn with four large bedrooms and 1000 sq ft suite in main house and three secluded pet-friendly suites in Griffin Cottage with private, enclosed back gardens. King beds, fireplaces, whirlpools, steam baths, HDTV, personal refrigerators, and high-speed Internet access. Social hour each evening with live music Saturday nights. Full three-course breakfast served at 9 am. Breakfast delivered to your room in Griffin Cottage Suites. Fodor's Choice Award selection for 2009 thru 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your 1900 Inn on Montford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1900 Inn On Montford Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing