We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall Pretty Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Omni Grove Park Inn
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, United States
1 review
“Overall Pretty Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

A great hotel with wonderful staff and food. Top of the line amenities with breathtaking views. The navigation and the layout of the hotel is quite confusing. The only negative comment I have is that the hotel, especially my room in particular felt a little stuffy. I am sure this would be the case with any hotel close to 100 years old. Nonetheless the hotel was wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Garrett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,577
    1,057
    551
    267
    96
See reviews for
1,078
2,624
124
1,042
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

We had a work convention and knew very little about the hotel and it was fantastic! The staff is unmatched and we travel frequently. While my wife was working I was able to enjoy the Donald Ross golf course on the property and while pricey it was worth every penny. Thanks to all for a wonderful getaway!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jacob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to fill out a survey about your recent stay with us. We are so glad you found our staff to be helpful and accommodating and really appreciate you kind remarks towards our historic Donald Ross course. Thank YOU for being a guest of ours and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

Our room at the Grove Park Inn overlooked the golf court and the mountains. It was well appointed and had all the amenities we needed. Only complaint was that we could hear the neighbors when they arrived late at night. We stayed during the week at a reduced rate which was lowered even further after I found an even better ideal on Expedia, which the hotel quickly honored. The spa was amazing. The fitness center offers a variety of classes where we felt welcome. The hotel itself is beautiful. The food was wonderful. I definitely recommend this hotel if you can travel at a reduced rate.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

I have been to Asheville in the past and wanted to visit the Grove Park, but did not make it on that visit. Fortunately, I got the chance to spend three wonderful nights here on my company's dime and it was fantastic!! When making reservations at a hotel they always remind you to bring the credit card you make the reservation with, I am sure this is to ensure that you are not using a stolen card. . . I made the reservation with my husband's card and they very graciously accepted it when I presented it. From that moment on the staff was simply incredible. From the elevator operators to the people who opened pretty much every door for you they were pleasant and smiling and eager to answer any questions.

My room was in the original section of the hotel on the third floor. The elevator, though very cool in the stone fireplace, was a bit sluggish. Fortunately I found the stairs which were convenient and helped me to work off some of the delicious food I ate there! My room had a most comfortable queen size bed, a very large closet, a small fridge hidden in a shaker cabinet, a small but perfect bathroom for me, and a stunning mountain view out original windows with slide out screens! This is an old hotel, I am sure if you are desiring a larger room, you can afford to pay for one, otherwise, enjoy the beautiful scenery and wood work and your cozy room. Not once did I hear the flush of a toilet, a shower turn on, noise in the hallway, or the people in rooms around me.

The SPA is amazing!!! This is one of the top 20 spas in America and is worth every penny you may spend to enjoy some time there. The prices are no more than any other high end spa you may visit in travel, once again, you get what you pay for. They offer guests a $50 twilight pass that is worth every penny. It begins at 5:00 p.m. and you can enjoy the pools, hot spring tubs, saunas, steam rooms, outdoor views, and spa café services. . . any spa service includes these for your use throughout the day. Spoil yourself and get the hot stone massage!!! Trust me, you are worth it.

And now to dining. . . I had by far the best roast duck breast I have had in all my dining at Vue. It was stunning. Once again service was exceptional from the lobby bar to Edison's and on into the night at Elaine's piano bar!! It is not an inexpensive place to eat or drink. . . but every once in a while don't you deserve a splurge?? I know I do and the Grove Park is the place to do it!!

Relax, enjoy, and spoil yourself. . . You and the Grove Park Inn are worth it!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the original Inn with a mountain view, may be a bit smaller for "regular"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EXGO27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful recommendations you have provided us about your recent stay. We are so glad to hear that appreciated the security measure in place to ensure the privacy of our guests and also that your encounters with our staff were meaningful and helpful. We also loved reading how much you enjoyed your accommodations in our historic Main Inn and that you were able to obtain a restful nights sleep. We are exceptionally grateful for your wonderful review and will anxiously await your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Providence, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

This was one of the best places I have stayed in many years. The hotel was clean, the mountain air great, the food the best and so close to a fun city. Truth be told it should be kept a secret at how good it is so as not to overload the hotel that should always have space for people like me. This was truly a WOW! place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you very much for being a guest of ours and for the incredibly generous comments you have provided. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

make sure you ASK if you have a room with a window! mine had a small window up in the air and I felt I was in a basement. asked to be moved but there were "no more rooms" room was booked months in advance.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank claireg515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed here with my spouse for two weekend nights. The Hotel exterior is amazing -- massive stonework covers every elevation. The lobby is equally stunning, massive fireplaces, 30 foot ceilings, stonework, galore, etc. Unfortunately, you can't sleep in the lobby and the rooms, well, were simply pathetic. Laughable almost. Dated. Small. Think "Very old Microtel" or "Red Roof Inn", with paneling and a cushioned chair. The bathroom was marginal, at best. We were given a room in the basement (first floor), two or three levels below the lobby level. The hallways were dark, depressing. We overlooked the golf course, so the view was okay. For the money, one would expect rooms at least along the lines of Marriott or a Hilton. Not here. When you arrive and pull into the motorcourt, the view and exterior amenities will lead you to believe you are about to experience something amazing. You won't. What you see when you arrive is NOT what you'll get. The Omni Grove Park Inn should do one of two things: (1) drop its rates substantially, or (2) renovate the rooms.

Room Tip: Insist on higher floors. Can't be any worse than the basement levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Higmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
We appreciate you staying with us and then forwarding your comments to your fellow travelers. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your accommodations but were confused about the location of your room. Our property sits on the side of a mountain and our lobby level is on the top (or 10th) floor. We do not have any rooms in a basement and if you were two or three levels below the lobby you would have been located on the 7th or 8th floor, high above the ground level. We do apologize that you did not appreciate your accommodations and want thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#18 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Grove Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Grove Park Inn

Property: The Omni Grove Park Inn
Address: 290 Macon Avenue, Asheville, NC 28804-3711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#4 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#6 Business Hotel in Asheville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#8 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Omni Grove Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni Grove Park Inn, located in Asheville, N.C., Is one of the country's most celebrated resorts. Noted for its understated elegance and southern charm, ten U.S. Presidents and countless luminaries from the worlds of art, entertainment, sports and politics have stayed at this one-of-a-kind hotel. Offering sweeping views of the Blue Ridge Mountains, innovative and locally sourced restaurants, a Donald Ross designed golf course, an expansive tennis and fitness center, an award winning spa and spacious convention facilities. This AAA Four Diamond Property is listed on Fodor's "Top 10 Luxury Spa Resorts" and Travel + Leisure's rankings of "Top Spa Resorts" in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Omni Grove Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Grove Inn Asheville Nc
Park Inn Grove
Grove Park Hotel
Grove Park Spa
Grove Park Inn Resort Spa
Grove Asheville North Carolina
Grovepark Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing