We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Omni Grove Park Inn
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dissappointed”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We have been going to this hotel for years. Regretfully after being taken over by the Omni group the prices were doubled and the quality vanished. Food at the restaurants is close to uneatable, quality of products was vastly reduced, the Spa is overcrowded when we arrived every chair was taken inside and out we had literately nowhere to seat and signs of trying to maximize profits at the expense of the guests’ experience abound – like half emptying the hot tabs to save money on heating the water. The only remaining reason to go to the Grove Park Inn is if your main purpose in a vacation is to make sure the Omni shareholders are better off when you leave.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tower7NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for being a long-time guest of ours and passing along your comments related to your most recent experience with us. We were extremely disappointed to discover that your time spend in our outlets and spa were not up to the standard that you have set for us. We take great pride in the consistency and high levels of service and are alarmed to learn that these elements were not present during your stay. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again someday and show you that our brightest days are yet ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,663
    1,075
    563
    273
    99
See reviews for
1,101
2,686
125
1,069
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (702)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Participated in a conference held at the Inn. Meeting rooms were excellent.
The lodge is large and yet has a wonderful rustic feel. The views of the mountains and the golf course were very relaxing. The staff were very helpful. It is a good base to explore Asheville.

Room Tip: get a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleve2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2014

since the omni took over...Grove Park has gone down hill fast. We stayed on the club floor at 700 a night and before Omni it was worth it. NOt now. Spa was grungy. At least half the staff was unfriendly. menus have changed dramatically and the quality of food, but not the price has gone down.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your stay with us. We were surprised to hear that you felt our resort has gone downhill as we have made numerous improvements to our facilities and refocused the greatest portion of our attention towards our guest service and thus seen our service scores continuously rise since the acquisition. We sincerely hope you will consider returning and giving us another chance to reframe your impression of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is a 1st class experience. The Omni purchase of the Grove Park Inn has resulted in improved efficiency, more restaurant choices, and exceptional service. The location is unbeatable with great mountain views. The Sunset Terrace is a must!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Richflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Grove Park Inn for 2 nights. It was our first time to Asheville, NC and we were not disappointed! We loved the hotel and all that it offered. We ate in the main hall's bar when we arrived (my husband had the burger and loved it). Next time we come I am anxious to try some of the hotel's (many) other restaurants. We listened to great live music in the main hall on Saturday and then headed down to the piano bar which was really fun. We had a great time here and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Sammons, overlooking the golf course. We didn't have a fancy room, but we thought i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raechelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Grove Park Inn was above anything I expected. Historic Inns sometimes have a hard time balancing modern amenities with a sense of the past. This is NOT the case at GPI. They know how to blend legacy and modernity. The rooms were comfortable, clean, spacious and a joy to be in. So much so, that we purposely planned a meal in the room so we could enjoy the space. The views are spectacular, particularly in the public areas. And there is ample chance to soak in those views as there are plenty of places to lounge and relax. The food at the Blue Ridge restaurant was wonderful. They demonstrated imaginative uses of local products. The chefs at the buffet stations that were interactive were happy to show everyone, especially kids, how the food was prepared. The Spa facilities were sheer bliss. I liked that there were so many shared facilities for both genders. You lose that in so many spas. I was able to indulge alone and with my husband. This meant I was able to enjoy the pampering and his company. But above any of the "things" at GPI stand the people. Every single person I encountered had time to be pleasant, answer questions, inquire about my stay. The customer service I received was unparalleled and made a great trip spectacular. We just found the "special occasion" hotel for us. I plan to go back as often as I can afford it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank StefiMayTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at the Grove Park Inn. Be sure to sign up for Omni rewards -- it costs nothing and you get some great perks, even on your first stay. We were able to check in early and got two free coffees for doing nothing at all! The front desk, restaurant/bar staff, and valet folks were so friendly and nice. Sign up for the free history tour of the hotel. Our tour guide was knowledgeable, funny, and just plain nice. You'll learn a lot about the unique history of this century-old hotel and the city of Asheville itself. The views of the hotel and grounds are incredible! Also stop by the shops, Biltmore Industries museum and antique car museum on the property. It was worth the visit. It is a short walk, but if you can't climb stairs or don't want to walk, the hotel shuttle will pick you up and drop you off. If you want to use the spa, book early. We did not and were disappointed that the spa was booked the entire time we stayed. The entire hotel is beautiful and full of incredible Arts & Crafts details. Look out for the hundreds of sayings painted on the various rocks throughout the hotel. We enjoyed just spending time in the lobby with a drink or two by one of the two gorgeous grand fireplaces. We can't wait go back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the wings, but found out that you can request one of the original rooms in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Grove Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Grove Park Inn

Property: The Omni Grove Park Inn
Address: 290 Macon Avenue, Asheville, NC 28804-3711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#6 Business Hotel in Asheville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#8 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Omni Grove Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni Grove Park Inn, located in Asheville, N.C., Is one of the country's most celebrated resorts. Noted for its understated elegance and southern charm, ten U.S. Presidents and countless luminaries from the worlds of art, entertainment, sports and politics have stayed at this one-of-a-kind hotel. Offering sweeping views of the Blue Ridge Mountains, innovative and locally sourced restaurants, a Donald Ross designed golf course, an expansive tennis and fitness center, an award winning spa and spacious convention facilities. This AAA Four Diamond Property is listed on Fodor's "Top 10 Luxury Spa Resorts" and Travel + Leisure's rankings of "Top Spa Resorts" in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Omni Grove Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Grove Inn Asheville Nc
Park Inn Grove
Grove Park Hotel
Grove Park Spa
Grove Park Inn Resort Spa
Grove Asheville North Carolina
Grovepark Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing