We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice retreat in winter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Omni Grove Park Inn
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice retreat in winter”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed at the Grove Park Inn for one night back in December. We wanted to see all of the Gingerbread houses and experience the Inn's accommodations. Instead of paying for valet parking, we just continued around to the parking garage, unloaded our bags and easily found our way to the front desk to check in.
Our room was in the beautiful stone main building, and though it wasn't luxurious, it was comfortable and gave us easy access to everything in the Inn. Before dinner, we sat on one of the porches overlooking the glorious mountains. And, even though it was a chilly night, there was a fire in the gas fireplace and heaters to keep us comfy.
The breakfast was my favorite meal - I had a very hard time choosing which of the many breakfast items to put on my plate. The buffet encompassed 3 rooms and had so many options but if you take it slow you can manage to enjoy most of it! And our table was by the window so the view was amazing.
The price for a room is high and you are paying for all meals and drinks so that would be my only reason for not giving it stars

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishBulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,878
    1,113
    583
    287
    104
See reviews for
1,174
2,813
133
1,117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Douglasville, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Wonderful place filled with history not just in Asheville but at the hotel itself. We spent an entire night just roaming the halls reading about the history of the building. A must see location for a getaway to the mountains and Spa time. Very close to Biltmore Estate as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mehrdad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stayed with Grove Park Inn several years ago and have not stopped talking about it since. The service, the food, the accommodations, everything was off the chart spectacular. Unfortunately, we stayed there again recently and it is not at all the same. The staff is not as friendly. The billing was confusing. The room was awful! And the greatest disappointment was the Spa. We made reservations well over a month before our stay but when we got there they did not have us in the system. They were booked solid so we did not get the treatments that we had anticipated for so long! This was supposed to be a special romantic weekend for us but it was disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Please accept our apologies for falling short of the expectations you have set from your previous visit as well as the problems you encountered with your reservation at our spa. We hope you will be able to visit us again in the future and give us the opportunity to re-frame your perception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We went for the Sunday brunch buffet. It was AMAZING. They had every kind of food you could want, except a custom salad bar. We were told there was one....but didn't ever find it. Regardless, there were still plenty of options. They had the best biscuits we have ever had in our lives.

They gave us mimosas while we were waiting to be seated, and our server was very friendly. He offered to take a picture of us together at the window, which was a really nice gesture. We had window seats, and the view was incredible (it helps that it was clear and sunny outside).

The buffet was nuts. There was so much food around, and all of it good. You'd be hard pressed not to find something you would like there.

It was a great experience, I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My 25th year coming here and the 3d ownership...I hope Omni does a good job tending to the hotel and values their old staff. The previous owners, KSL, did a lot of upgrades which I like (Omni did NOT do the upgrades as is the popular misconception). The food at the new Edison (I really like how they change the old restaurant in this spot and opened it up to the great mountain views) and the Marketplace Cafe is decent and not too bad a value. I must comment on their liquor and wine prices and servings: high and small. Tiny martinis for $14 and while the wine pours are decent, the prices are almost unfathomable for the wines offered. Come on, regular pricing of drinks/wine is a tremendous profit maker. When will places learn that fair pricing makes it more likely patrons will come to their place and (and likely order more) and not leave with a sour taste??

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Vermont1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for being such a long time guest of ours. We appreciate your kind comments towards the recent updates we have made as well as your feedback related to beverage pricing which we are taking into consideration. We are excited to have you as a valued guest and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is the heart of the Arts and Crafts Movement. We come for the Arts and Crafts Conference in February and they seem to handle the crowds well. Sitting in the Great Hall before the fireplace is magical. The food in the Vue and Edison is very good, but the service can be a little slow during the peak hours. We try to eat off peak if possible. The new pastry chef is amazing, and there are many water stations throughout the complex to keep us hydrated. On the whole, we really enjoy the setting and the service. The Spa is overpriced, but very lovely.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is a very nice hotel. The food is some of the best we have had. The Sunday brunch buffet was $36 per person, but it was our favorite and well worth it in our opinion. The room was not at all what we expected for the price we paid to stay. It was nothing more than a basic hotel room, with nothing to "set it apart". The hotel staff were not too friendly and check in took quite a while. Also, a day after returning I had noticed a $168 fee on my bank account... I called and the person quickly apologized and said they had been having trouble with all cards being overcharged. Be sure to make sure you are not over charged for an already overpriced stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We appreciated having you as a guest recently as well as your taking the time to review our property. Our Sunday Brunch is a long-standing tradition and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed it. We were disappointed to learn of the inconvenient check-in process you experienced and are sorry for not meeting the expectation you had for your accommodations. We will continue to work on these areas and hope you will join us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
4.8 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
3.3 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,181 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
1.8 mi away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
230 reviews
1.9 mi away
Haywood Park Hotel
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Grove Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Grove Park Inn

Property: The Omni Grove Park Inn
Address: 290 Macon Avenue, Asheville, NC 28804-3711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#4 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#6 Business Hotel in Asheville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#8 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Omni Grove Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni Grove Park Inn, located in Asheville, N.C., Is one of the country's most celebrated resorts. Noted for its understated elegance and southern charm, ten U.S. Presidents and countless luminaries from the worlds of art, entertainment, sports and politics have stayed at this one-of-a-kind hotel. Offering sweeping views of the Blue Ridge Mountains, innovative and locally sourced restaurants, a Donald Ross designed golf course, an expansive tennis and fitness center, an award winning spa and spacious convention facilities. This AAA Four Diamond Property is listed on Fodor's "Top 10 Luxury Spa Resorts" and Travel + Leisure's rankings of "Top Spa Resorts" in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Omni Grove Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Grove Inn Asheville Nc
Park Inn Grove
Grove Park Hotel
Grove Park Spa
Grove Park Inn Resort Spa
Grove Asheville North Carolina
Grovepark Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing