We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit or miss or maybe just not for me”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Omni Grove Park Inn
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hit or miss or maybe just not for me”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is a wonderful historic building with a reputation that far exceeds the reality of this hotel if you are looking for high end service and food. It felt more like a national chain than the special place it claims to be. That said, the views are spectacular, the spa is gorgeous and unusual, and Asheville is definitely worth a visit and contains some very interesting and very good restaurants.There are often conventions and large groups at the hotel which, as a private guest, is a minus for me. The entertainment is geared to a traditional crowd that I find corny and old fashioned., The food is very run of the mill and the service haphazard. On the plus side, the crafts shop, located on the property but not inside the hotel, is outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizznyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
We apologize for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay with us but appreciate you taking a minute to let us know your thoughts. We are happy that you found some attractive aspects of our resort and will work on improving the areas where you felt we did not deliver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,877
    1,112
    583
    287
    104
See reviews for
1,174
2,813
133
1,115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2014

"Golf, Games, Shuttles to key local attractions, Romantic dinner for 2 or 500, The Grove Park Inn has always been a classic venue to begin a new era in your life, wherever that era is heading - the choice is up to you." - Ross D. Macartney - TAS-'99

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoybeanMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We just got home today from a convention at OMNI GROVE PARK INN & I had written a review 2 years ago about BAD SERVICE. This time the service was better (WHEN WE HAD TO CHASE THEM DOWN IN THE LOBBY) upon our ARRIVAL we were told by the girl at the front desk said THEY HAD NO ROOMS AVAILABLE FOR US then after she saw me getting ANGRY she said well we can find a double bed ROOM we are not the smallest people and am married and was told we would for sure have a QUEEN or better. Well after standing at the front desk for well over 20min. They said "well we have a KING room its not clean yet but will call you when its done" it was in the MAIN INN well finally NO CALL I went back to the desk at 4:20 & Finally we got a room!

We get in the room there was some kind of like nasty build up in the corner of our Shower (I rinsed off) our last night there the toilet started acting up (I DID NOT CALL ANYONE CAUSE I WALKED AWAY AND THOUGHT IT WOULD GO DOWN) and then at 11:00 P.M. we ordered FRIES & GRILLED CHEESE the sandwich barely had any cheese on it (for $15.00 it should be more cheese on it) This morning the toilet was still messed up we advised housekeeping and front desk.

This HOTEL was so much better BEFORE OMNI got it...this is actually my 4th trip and every time we go it just gets worse I think! I would love to go again but I think this just might be the final trip..all around it is a NICE HOTEL, STAFF IS NICE, FOOD is OK, BUT I HATE THAT IT IS NOW A "OMNI" HOTEL. I JUST HOPE THEY DO BETTER AT CLEANING THE BATHROOMS IN THESE ROOMS & GET ORGANIZED AT CHECK IN!

Room Tip: The main inn is very nice & has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for being a repeat guest of ours and providing feedback about your most recent experience. We are very glad that the service you received was improved from past visits but would like to apologize for falling short in some areas. Please consider returning and allowing us the chance to continually raise our bar of expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

I'm a true tripadvisor follower & have put off traveling hear for a year, because of all of the bad reviews. Our stay was absolutely perfect! The valets, bellhops, front desk, & wait staff. Very friendly, very helpful & were happy to see us. We stayed in a great room, too. We wished we could get a second night, but w/ a baptist convention & an industrial engineers convention - they were at full capacity. Next time we'll stay 2 nights and try the spa out too! There are shops, restaurants and lots of history to soak in. Definitely, try this place! I wait a whole year, just bring your own pillow; the ones in our room were way too soft. My favorite part were the 2 oversized fireplaces w/ rocking chairs!! So relaxing!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nayst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
We are very glad you finally decided to visit us and really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience. Thank you so much for the wonderful comments and recommendation you have provided us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landrum
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Beautiful fireplaces throughout the hotel. Nice shopping and a variety of restaurants. We had the best time at Elaine's Dualing Piano Bar. We did feel a little lost and hoped someone could help us know what was available to experience, however we had to figure it out ourselves. Hope we didn't miss anything.Room was cozy and pleasant.

Room Tip: King size bed with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Service was very Good. Rooms are Ok for the price. Did not eat in any of the restaurants at the Hotel as Asheville has so many wonderful places. I thought this particular stay was average at best but prices are well above average

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The hotel is very appealing. Cozy, elegant, classic and historic. Their service is good, their brunches and breakfasts excellent. But you have to be careful in the room assignment. You could be paying too high a price for maybe a lesser than 3 star room type with bad design and facilities without any view whatsoever.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Guillermo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
4.8 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
3.3 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,180 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
1.8 mi away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
230 reviews
1.9 mi away
Haywood Park Hotel
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Grove Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Grove Park Inn

Property: The Omni Grove Park Inn
Address: 290 Macon Avenue, Asheville, NC 28804-3711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#4 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#6 Business Hotel in Asheville
#8 Family Hotel in Asheville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Omni Grove Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni Grove Park Inn, located in Asheville, N.C., Is one of the country's most celebrated resorts. Noted for its understated elegance and southern charm, ten U.S. Presidents and countless luminaries from the worlds of art, entertainment, sports and politics have stayed at this one-of-a-kind hotel. Offering sweeping views of the Blue Ridge Mountains, innovative and locally sourced restaurants, a Donald Ross designed golf course, an expansive tennis and fitness center, an award winning spa and spacious convention facilities. This AAA Four Diamond Property is listed on Fodor's "Top 10 Luxury Spa Resorts" and Travel + Leisure's rankings of "Top Spa Resorts" in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Omni Grove Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Grove Inn Asheville Nc
Park Inn Grove
Grove Park Hotel
Grove Park Spa
Grove Park Inn Resort Spa
Grove Asheville North Carolina
Grovepark Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing