We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable Change to Grove Park Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Omni Grove Park Inn
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Omni Resort has done a fantastic job with Grove Park Inn. We used to travel to Asheville and stay at Grove Park Inn at least two times per year for the last ten years. Sadly, there was a time when Grove Park Inn fell below desirable.

Times have changed. Omni Resort has made many changes. One most noteworthy is the check-in procedure. No more long congested lines for check in. Omni now has a pre check in board with your name and room key waiting.

Other changes include both fire places in use in the main great hall. More seating. Additional places created throughout the Inn to include bars, dining, seating.

There has been an abundance of jobs created with more staffing. The spa area now has spa side servers for drinks and food.

What a delightful change.

Room Tip: I like Sammons wing for convenient parking and great mountain views.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,222)
There are newer reviews for The Omni Grove Park Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,576 - 5,582 of 6,224 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

First stay at grove Park Inn and will stay again. Very romantic throughout with exceptional service and food. The lobby with the two huge fire places, rocking chairs in from of them and live music most of the time was great. Christmas decorations made it even better

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My mother and I recently visited The Grove Park Inn and we're delighted by many of the changes. In the past our extended family has spent several Christmases at GPI...all delightful trips. This year I hesitated to make my reservation at GPI due to the negative online comments. I am so glad that I went ahead with the trip. Yes, there are changes at the hotel, but as someone who frequently stays there during the holidays, I think they are mainly for the better.
For the Good
1. New, fluffier pillows. Pillows used to be flat as a pancake
2. Only the Top Ten Gingerbread houses in each category (adult, teen, children) are displayed. I think less is more in this case. I know that families would like to see little Timmy's gingerbread house, but if it isn't that good, please don't make me waste my time
3. Edison's replaced Sunset Terrace restaurant. Love how the space is now a craft brewery, high end/quality eatery, sports bar and elegant meeting spot all at once. Excellent use of space. The changes breathed new life into what used to be a kind of stiff, stuffy environment.
4. Pink Pink candy and soda shop was brought out of the shadows where you could hardly find it to the main drag leading to the Blue Ridge Dining Room. Excellent.

What hasn't changed or should change
1. It is STILL nearly impossible to get a rocking chair by the big fireplaces in the lobby. That has not changed. By the way, the Omni put out more seating in the lobby. Nice warm, cheery feel. Energetic.
2. Still crowded at Christmas. If you're popular, you just are.
3. The staff is still warm and friendly. A shout out to the elevator operators and front desk....awesome! Also Abel, Laura and CiCi from who work in the Blue Ridge dining room. Great job guys. Thanks for working over the holidays.
4. The food in the Blue Ridge dining room could stand to come up a notch in the area of entrees and desserts. BR has one of the best salad sections ever but the entrees are forgettable. The desserts should be made in house at an establishment such as GPI.
5. The minty herb smell of the toiletries is still off putting to me. Please change to a citrus or fresh smelling scent.

All in all the changes are good. The Omni has given the Grove Park Inn a much needed face lift without losing its charm.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

A once storied resort in the moiuntains of western North Carolina has become nothing more than franchise hotel. Many of the new staff are poorly strained and do not realize they are in the coimpetitive hospitality business. We experienced difficulty obtaining the premier view room we reserved. More sadly, we were seated in poor restaurant locations when in one case many superior free spots were open/available and in another case a seating reservation we made months earlier was not honored. The once fabulous food is now barely passable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
4  Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for being our guest recently and letting us know of the areas where we fell short of your expectations. Please accept our apologies for the mishaps with your reservations. We try very hard to accommodate all of our guests requests and regret falling short for you. We have reviewed your comments with the proper management and have identified where the break downs occurred and can ensure you that these instances will not be repeated in the future. We hope you will consider staying with us again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My husband and I have gluten sensitivities and I also have a seafood allergy, so dining out can be a real challenge. We did review this hotel's restaurant choices and menus before arriving, and thought the Spa Cafe would work for us. After sitting at our table for a while an attendant finally came with water and we did mention our issues, just to make sure we'd be okay. She came back shortly after with a chef who preceded to tell us we shouldn't eat there or any of the restaurants at the hotel, as there is a great deal of cross-contamination, including the gluten free offerings that they specifically list on their menus. We had already paid $10 to park (after waiting in a parking line for about 10-15 minutes before doing that and then getting lost in the employee area trying to get from the parking garage toward the restaurants), so we were a bit stunned and hungry. Our look of shock did cause the chef to say he'd prepare us salads in a safe area (of course it was no better than a grocery store salad, but three times the price). Our servers kept changing, which caused my husband to have to flag down someone to get a refill of coffee. That took another fifteen or more minutes before it ever arrived.

$50 dollars later my husband and I were out on the terrace eating Larabars, since we were still hungry. It was all edible and it doesn't appear we had any side effects, although I keep wondering about all that cross contamination of food. Certainly we couldn't be the only diners with allergies.

A beautiful hotel that we will not return to.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank byzantine513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017

Thank you for providing feedback about an experience you had at our Spa Cafe so that we can leverage your feedback to make continued improvements. We are sorry that you had difficulty parking and navigating our resort, only to be met with disappointment in regards to our menu offerings. We have passed your insights along to our culinary management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We were told about the Grove Park Inn by other people also traveling in Asheville and went to check it out. The place is huge. It was built in one year 100 years ago. There are 4 restaurants and many stores to shop all under one roof. We had lunch and drinks on the covered and heated outside sitting area. Great food and service. Wonderful views of the mountains from everywhere you go. Huge real log burning fireplaces in the main building with several rocking chairs placed in front on them. We did not stay here so I can not comment on the rooms but we did spend about 6 hours visiting here and it was great. Next time we come to Asheville we will check into staying here.

Room Tip: Do the valet parking. It cost $15.00 but if you choose to self park anywhere on the grounds it will...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My family has been going to the GPI for 30 years. They have struggled at times but have always been friendly and service oriented in the past. This year we went for the Gingerbread houses and to have dinner in the Blue Ridge room. It was very disappointing. My party had reservations for several weeks and confirmed the day before, but when we arrived we were seated at a folding table in front of the service entrance to the kitchen, clearly not a "real" table. When we asked to be seated at one of the many open tables elsewhere, we were informed that they were all assigned to other parties. We were told to take it or leave it they would do nothing else. We left, stunned. What has happened to you GPI?

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
2  Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you for choosing to dine with us over the holidays. We are sorry that you did not like the location that you were seated and please understand that we always do everything in our power to accommodate and exceed our guests expectations. We hope you will consider returning to dine with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
4.8 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
3.3 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,208 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
1.8 mi away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
258 reviews
1.9 mi away
Haywood Park Hotel
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Grove Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Grove Park Inn

Address: 290 Macon Ave, Asheville, NC 28804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#6 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#6 Business Hotel in Asheville
#8 Family Hotel in Asheville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $253 - $1,106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Omni Grove Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni Grove Park Inn, located in Asheville, N.C., Is one of the country's most celebrated resorts. Noted for its understated elegance and southern charm, ten U.S. Presidents and countless luminaries from the worlds of art, entertainment, sports and politics have stayed at this one-of-a-kind hotel. Offering sweeping views of the Blue Ridge Mountains, innovative and locally sourced restaurants, a Donald Ross designed golf course, an expansive tennis and fitness center, an award winning spa and spacious convention facilities. This AAA Four Diamond Property is listed on Fodor's "Top 10 Luxury Spa Resorts" and Travel + Leisure's rankings of "Top Spa Resorts" in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Omni Grove Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Grove Inn Asheville Nc
Park Inn Grove
Grove Park Hotel
Grove Park Spa
Grove Park Inn Resort Spa
Grove Asheville North Carolina
Grovepark Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing