We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lori's Birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Omni Grove Park Inn
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, United States
1 review
“Lori's Birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

overall a great trip...would love to come back, however the price makes it hard. Will certainly keep it in mind - the upgrade to club level made the stay that much better. Edison's and the spa were fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your time while staying with us! Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did and Happy Late Birthday Lori!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,581
    1,057
    552
    267
    96
See reviews for
1,079
2,625
124
1,045
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Since Omni took over Grovepark, it has taken every opportunity to gouge its guest. The $25.00 resort fee is a joke. Any other hotel offers free wi-fi and access to their work out equipment. On top of the fee you have to pay for the exercise classes. Although Edison's is a nice addition, the value of my meal was not acceptable. The celery with the wings was the part that 99% of people trash and the wings did not even resemble a wing. I have always considered Grovepark a class operation but no longer. I will continue to discourage people from staying their. I was even disappointed with the Spa. The robe I receive was in poor condition. It saddens me that I no longer desire to stay at the Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Sheree24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for being our guest recently and taking the time to give us feedback on your experience. We are very sorry that you feel our prices are too expensive. We meet and discuss our pricing structure on a daily basis and firmly believe that it is in-line with the product that we offer. We strive to provide a unique and unmatched resort experience that you can't find anywhere else and regret not providing a first-class experience for you. We hope you will consider coming back some time and letting us show you the warm, hospitable, legendary time that we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

This was my second trip to Grove Park - both for business. The 100 year old hotels offers some of the best views in NC. While the rooms themselves are nothing to write home about (kind of small but clean, what do you expect from a hotel this old?), the gigantic fireplaces in the huge front lobby are so large you could walk inside them. I will never grow tired of the view from out the back of the lobby/restaurant.

The golf course is good. Very typical Donald Ross with small fast greens and a tight fairways. Fun to play but challenging.

The only downside is the price. You really pay for the history of the hotel. Food and room prices are outrageous, but fun to do on rare occasion.

Room Tip: Get a room in the Sammons wing so you get the great view over the golf course with the mountains in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel, but we were told not to leave Asheville without a small detour to the Grove Park Inn. Right outside downtown, and high-perched, the hotel/resort is beautiful, build like an enormous log cabin, a theme that is brought throughout the lobby, with big rock fireplaces. But what makes the site is the outstanding views that guests can enjoy. So close to downtown Asheville, and such a feel of being in the wild—with all modern comfort. The resort includes everything that you would expect from an upscale hotel, plus an entire “village” of shops and restaurants. It seems that they can cover whatever you feel like eating or doing. Of note, if like us, you are only planning to sightsee the hotel, beware that a parking fee could be requested.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DJinNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Omni took over the Grove Park Inn a few months ago. Changing their reservation system is the excuse I received for being charged two nights' deposit. If I hadn't checked my credit card online charges, they would have collected my weekend stay over a month early. It left such a bad taste, I ended up canceling my reservation.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kendell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Please accept our apologies for the honest mistake that was made with your reservation. We hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

From the moment you walk in, you can feel the history in this fantastic hotel, with the soaring ceiling, huge fireplaces, and cozy seating. The staff were very attentive and helpful in describing all of the amenities of the grand resort. And while we did not book a room with a view, we were indeed pleased at the peaceful hillside and trees outside our window. Our room was in the Vanderbilt wing, nicely appointed and oversized. The bed was very comfortable. The only disappointment was that I found Omni amenities in the bath and I was looking forward to the spa brand - they must have run short. It is a long walk from the lobby to the rooms, which was fine for us, but might be a little difficult for those with difficulties walking. The shops are charming, and the hotel was decorated for Christmas - all magical. The pool in the sports complex served both families and swimmers equally well, and the other facilities looked outstanding. Staff were amazing - willing to consider any reasonable request and very caring. Everyone should stay at a resort like this to see why it was the choice of Fords, Firestones, and Edisons...

Room Tip: Get to the Blue Ridge dining room early for window-side seating at breakfast. The food and the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedeetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

My wife and I returned to the Grove Park Inn over Veteran's Day weekend. It was our first visit since it became an Omni Hotels property, and we were so glad to see that the character and service were as excellent as it has always been. They had also completed the renovations, and the hotel is absolutely gorgeous. We also enjoyed The Spa (our first time!) and it was incredible. We will definitely be including a reservation the next time we return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank rjrhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#18 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Grove Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Grove Park Inn

Property: The Omni Grove Park Inn
Address: 290 Macon Avenue, Asheville, NC 28804-3711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#4 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#6 Business Hotel in Asheville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#8 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Omni Grove Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni Grove Park Inn, located in Asheville, N.C., Is one of the country's most celebrated resorts. Noted for its understated elegance and southern charm, ten U.S. Presidents and countless luminaries from the worlds of art, entertainment, sports and politics have stayed at this one-of-a-kind hotel. Offering sweeping views of the Blue Ridge Mountains, innovative and locally sourced restaurants, a Donald Ross designed golf course, an expansive tennis and fitness center, an award winning spa and spacious convention facilities. This AAA Four Diamond Property is listed on Fodor's "Top 10 Luxury Spa Resorts" and Travel + Leisure's rankings of "Top Spa Resorts" in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Omni Grove Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Grove Inn Asheville Nc
Park Inn Grove
Grove Park Hotel
Grove Park Spa
Grove Park Inn Resort Spa
Grove Asheville North Carolina
Grovepark Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing