We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place, but some issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Omni Grove Park Inn
Ranked #11 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, but some issues”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I booked a weekend at The Grove Park Inn for our "babymoon" and a relaxing get-away while I'm still comfortable in my pregnancy. We booked the Drive and Revive package that came with 2 rounds of golf, 2 massages, breakfast each morning, and an appetizer each day. We booked the first weekend in November in hopes to still be able to see some of the beautiful fall foliage, and we weren't disappointed. The beauty of the hotel and property are by far one of it's best features.

Upon arrival, we were checked in quickly, but were given no further information about our package or the amenities, just a little map of this confusing property. Need I remind you, this is a quite large and quirky place so a little intro would have been great! Further, we weren't given and vouchers or further information on how to get our free appetizers or breakfast each morning. We arrived very late on Friday night and went to order one of our appetizers from room service, but first called the Front Desk to make sure this was allowed. The Front Desk as well as Room Service was completely clueless about our package or if the appetizer was covered. After calling the 800# for resort info the customer services agent told us we weren't even in their system (turns out our last name was misspelled). We promptly went down to the front desk and were assured we were in the system and that they no longer did vouchers, we just had to order our appetizers and get our breakfast and these would be removed at check-out, but room service wasn't included in this. We were quite uncomfortable with this process as everything is pretty expensive and we were left wondering how we would know what was covered and wasn't. This was further validated when one of the appetizers showed up on our bill anyway. The front desk took care of this promptly at check-out, but how disappointing! What if we didn't double check our bill?

Lastly, the next morning after breakfast we received a call from the spa 30 minutes before our appointment only to be told that my husband's spa technician was sick and we would need to re-schedule his massage. The whole point of this was for us to experience this together not have two separate appointments. The only solution was to re-schedule for the next morning (at 8:30am, I might add! Yuck!). We then had to re-schedule our golf tee time to accommodate this. It was just a mess!

We made the most of our time and thoroughly enjoyed everything about our stay, once we got everything figured out, scheduled, and settled in! For the price you pay to stay here, however, I'm very frustrated with the amount of effort it took for us to make everything happen. Again, the hotel was beautiful. We enjoyed the food. The spa services were great (once we got them!), and we had a great time on the golf course... but things just didn't come together quite as smoothly as we had hoped, especially for booking everything out months in advance.

Room Tip: We had a classic room with a partial view in the old part of the inn, mostly because of the price po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puggypeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for being our guest and giving us such detailed feedback for us to use as a tool to improve. We are very sorry for the breakdown you encountered while booking the various components of your package. We have discussed this internally and will make sure the situation does not repeat itself. Despite the inconveniences is seems as though you had good "babymoon" and we hope you will bring the little one back with you when the time is right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,787
    1,091
    571
    279
    103
See reviews for
1,140
2,758
131
1,097
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We did not have good reference or booklet of what was going on in and around the hotel. We found out by luck, and to late about activities and opportunities. Maybe because the hotel just changed hands and they are yet to get organized. There was a lot of promotion of the very expensive spa services, but that was for the really rich. The map of the place was limited and did not show the exits to the self parking ares. It took an hour and asking 3 of the staff and a lot of luck to get out of the hotel on the side of the self parking. If I had used their services rather than choose to just pick up my bag and head to the self parking area, it would have been so very much easier.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to give us some points that we could have done a better job. Please accept our apology for not providing a smoother experience upon arrival. We are working hard to train our staff and get all aspects of our Inn up to our guests standards. We hope you will consider returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I came to the Grove Park Inn for our 10th wedding anniversary. I had high expectations for our stay and I was still blown away by the quality of the hotel, the restaurants and especially by the friendly service provided by the staff. The giant firepits, blissful spa, outstanding breakfast buffets and amazing views made it the most memorable hotel stay I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us on such a memorable occasion! We are so happy that we were able to meet your admittedly high expectations and give you the trip that you were wanting. Happy anniversary! We hope you will return for more great memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is my third trip here in past 5 years. We have stayed in each wing and loved each visit. Tonight, upon arrival, we were told no king size beds as reserved...led to a dusky, dank wing of rooms...we are onto our third room...double beds...substandard bathroom for this resort...and there is a smell that is burnt into my nose...room one had an aerosol scent I would have used in college to mask smoke, room two was musky and dank..and room three...something that might be paint but has both my nose and my husbands running...is it too soon to wish I was home?! My memories of our last trip was wanting to stay just one more day...counting the hours/regrettably days until we leave. Yes, no refundable visit.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatLaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
It really sounds like we let you down while staying with us recently and we are extremely sorry that we weren't able to meet your standards. Thank you for being a repeat guest of ours and taking time to point our some areas where you felt we could improve. It is unfortunate that after 3 attempts to meet your requirements we still fell short of your expectations. If you decide to return we hope we can provided a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, NC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Walking around here you see mostly old rich people, and conventioneers. I was a conventioneer. It's very expensive. The spa prices are excessive, for an okay spa. The food is pricey, and good, but not very interesting. (chicken lettuce and tomato sandwich - the soup of the day was chicken and vegetable). The layout is illogical, it takes quite a while to get to meeting rooms. Yes, the views are good, the hotel is historic, it is nice to see it once. It is not a great place to spend 4 nights. There are much nicer places to stay in Asheville, I wouldn't go back, but I probably will. For another convention.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We are sorry that you were disappointed with your recent stay with us. It seams that we did not communicate the layout of the property to you well enough and we regret the unnecessary confusion that you encountered. We continuously make efforts to increase our dining, entertainment and all other aspects of the Inn and hope that you have a better experience next time you come for business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
196 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights with my wife while attending a conference in Asheville. This hotel is celebrating its 100th anniversary. We insisted on being placed in the most recently updated rooms since not all the rooms have been recently redone. Even so, the accommodation was OK, nothing more.

The hotel is located on the outskirts of Asheville with beautiful views of the town and surrounding mountains and golf course.This is a large hotel with a resort-like atmosphere.
The service was good, accommodations are OK ( good 3 star, average 4 star ). Given the options for accommodation in Asheville I would say this is probably the best. There is not a lot to choose from and the location and vistas make this the best of the bunch.

If you like to golf or spa then the facilities for these are particularly good at The Grove.

Asheville is particularly great to visit. Very upmarket restaurants with above average food at reasonable prices.
The Biltmore Estate is really worth a visit for its gardens and a tour of the mansion. Set aside a full day for this.You can rent bicycles on the property to tour the estate.

Room Tip: Request a recently updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tokalosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for staying during your conference recently and showing us some areas where we can improve. We are sorry that you felt that our accommodations were average but are glad you enjoyed other aspects of your experience. We hope to welcome you back whether is on business again or for pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Wonderful amenities - spa, fitness center, ballroom with large fireplace. Excellent staff. The golf course, restaurants, shops all enrich the entire experience. Beautiful views of the mountains from this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 65 in Asheville
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 65 in Asheville
221 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 65 in Asheville
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Grove Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Grove Park Inn

Property: The Omni Grove Park Inn
Address: 290 Macon Avenue, Asheville, NC 28804-3711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#4 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#6 Business Hotel in Asheville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#8 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Omni Grove Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni Grove Park Inn, located in Asheville, N.C., Is one of the country's most celebrated resorts. Noted for its understated elegance and southern charm, ten U.S. Presidents and countless luminaries from the worlds of art, entertainment, sports and politics have stayed at this one-of-a-kind hotel. Offering sweeping views of the Blue Ridge Mountains, innovative and locally sourced restaurants, a Donald Ross designed golf course, an expansive tennis and fitness center, an award winning spa and spacious convention facilities. This AAA Four Diamond Property is listed on Fodor's "Top 10 Luxury Spa Resorts" and Travel + Leisure's rankings of "Top Spa Resorts" in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Omni Grove Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Grove Inn Asheville Nc
Park Inn Grove
Grove Park Hotel
Grove Park Spa
Grove Park Inn Resort Spa
Grove Asheville North Carolina
Grovepark Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing