We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location Terrible Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Omni Grove Park Inn
Ranked #11 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location Terrible Room”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Hotel is gorgeous and very convenient to downtown Ashville. Staff is exception in service and southern hospitality. Room was too small, mattress worn and needs replaced, ice maker at door to room. My sleep was not good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for the kind words toward the beauty of our historic Inn and warmness of our staff. We are very sorry you did not enjoy your room accommodations and that they appeared to tarnish your overall experience. We are continuously working to improve our rooms and hope you will come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,787
    1,091
    571
    279
    102
See reviews for
1,139
2,758
131
1,097
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grandy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I love staying at the Grove Park Inn in Asheville! I look forward to it from the moment I make reservations. It's always a special treat and a wonderful experience. The Grove Park Inn has so much to offer for all the senses. The views are breathtaking and the experience is always first class. Excellent attention to detail and excellence in service - neither is ever sacrificed. The spa, while pricey, is always welcoming and much more of a pleasure than most. The staff enjoy their work and make you feel very special and pampered. The food is wonderfully prepared and high quality. The rooms are well appointed. I highly recommend the iconic Grove Park Inn for any occasion,special, meetings, couples, family - you will be very pleased! This year they're celebrating their 100th year and it has never been better in my opinion of staying here for more than 20 years. Enjoy the Grove Park Inn on your next trip to Asheville!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
We truly appreciate you being a long-time guest of ours and the wonderful recommendation you gave us. We look forward to welcoming you back for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Historically rich, architectural unique, and customer service is a priority. Wonderful views. Loved the large open public areas with plenty of seating and rock chairs to sit back, relax and take in the views.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed at the GPI for 2 nights on a business trip. The Inn is fabulous, the setting could not be more relaxing and beautiful. We had a room with a great western view; an updated room! The Horizon restaurant held our dinner party, with outstanding food, and prices as well! The second night we went into downtown Asheville and had dinner at a local restaurant - that was excellent as well and about 1/2 the price of the Horizon restaurant. But, to be fair, it did not have the view! I enjoy going and staying there and will do so again at the next business meeting scheduled for the Grove Park Inn!

Room Tip: Western room view outstanding! Must remember that the rooms go down from the lobby - a little confu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smaertmove123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

There is no question the grounds and architecture of the Grove Park inn is spectacular. However, the rooms and amenities do not equal the costly nightly room charge. I had to call to remind them to restock my room and they never did restock water or coffee. I stayed for 3 nights. The food and wine prices are overpriced as well. I have stayed at many luxury hotels and never was expected to pay extra to swim in a pool or sit in the Jacuzzi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank WineTraveler1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us recently. We are very sorry for the inconvenience of not having your room restocked and not feeling like you got the value you wanted. Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations and we hope you can come back and see us next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I adore staying at the Grove Park Inn in Asheville! It's always a treat and a pleasure.; The views are breathtaking and the experience is always first class. Excellent attention to detail and excellence in service - neither is ever sacrificed. I highly recommend staying here any chance you get.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank janicefarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Grove Park Inn is a classic. Steeped in tradition and history yet updated with all the luxuries of an Omni Resort. The views are amazing. Sit on one of the many porches relax read and drink in the majesty of the Blue Ridge Mountains or cozy up in a rocking chair next to the fireplace. You will not want to leave. A mountain jewel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank beth993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 65 in Asheville
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 65 in Asheville
221 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 65 in Asheville
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Grove Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Grove Park Inn

Property: The Omni Grove Park Inn
Address: 290 Macon Avenue, Asheville, NC 28804-3711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#4 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#6 Business Hotel in Asheville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#8 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Omni Grove Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni Grove Park Inn, located in Asheville, N.C., Is one of the country's most celebrated resorts. Noted for its understated elegance and southern charm, ten U.S. Presidents and countless luminaries from the worlds of art, entertainment, sports and politics have stayed at this one-of-a-kind hotel. Offering sweeping views of the Blue Ridge Mountains, innovative and locally sourced restaurants, a Donald Ross designed golf course, an expansive tennis and fitness center, an award winning spa and spacious convention facilities. This AAA Four Diamond Property is listed on Fodor's "Top 10 Luxury Spa Resorts" and Travel + Leisure's rankings of "Top Spa Resorts" in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Omni Grove Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Grove Inn Asheville Nc
Park Inn Grove
Grove Park Hotel
Grove Park Spa
Grove Park Inn Resort Spa
Grove Asheville North Carolina
Grovepark Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing