We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Maysville, KY
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very basic”
Reviewed May 26, 2007

My adult son and I stayed at this Red Roof as the last stop on a week long road trip. We mainly stopped in Asheville for a couple of nights to pay a visit to the Biltmore. The staff here couldn't have been nicer. But having stayed in a Drury Inn in St. Louis and a Drury Inn just outside of Memphis before coming to Asheville, we really missed having a coffee pot and hair dryer in the room. That seems to be standard wherever you stay and I was surprised to see that this room didn't have either. The blankets on the beds need to be tossed as they are definitely old. On the upside, the room was very clean. There is a Cracker Barrel and an Applebee's very close by. This was an okay place to crash for a couple of nights but the worst of the accomodations that we had stayed in during our week. We arrived after dark and the drive to take to get to this hotel is not well marked. Also, right after getting off I-44, there was construction going on and you had to navigate through that while trying not to miss the turn lane.

  • Liked — The price and it was close to the interstate
  • Disliked — lack of amenities like coffee pot, hair dryer, internet service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KYBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    229
    80
    30
    23
See reviews for
127
206
57
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Nz
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2007

Seems that Asheville is a bit tough on accommodation, because I decided to go with this place even though it was low on amenities. Actually when I got there I found out it had no amenities at all -- no Internet, no breakfast, not even a coffee pot or hairdryer in your room. I traveled west coast to east and this was the only hotel I stayed in in this class without free wireless Internet. The bed was
starting to become a bit warped and there were stains in the carpet and on the chair. The staff was friendly and it was a fine place to just crash, but that's all that I can say for it.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suuzinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder City, NV
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2007

We were very pleased with our stay at this Red Roof Inn. Because we were travelling with our little dog, we were looking for a hotel which would be pet-friendly. The hotel had been recently renovated, the room was very clean and pleasant. The grounds were lovely as well--including a lawn and picnic table. We would stay here again.

  • Liked — Very clean, attractive room, pet-friendly
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank coralbaybon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lejeune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2006

I don't have one complaint. The staff was very friendly, the room was immaculate, and there were no problems checking in or out. There was a very cheap rate too!

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank marinecorps36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2006

I agree with the last post. The first room they gave us had a very musty smell. We changed rooms and the next one was clean except for the chairs. The air conditioner was very loud. The elevator smelled of smoke and whatever else. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RoanokeShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2006

Face it, this is still a Red Roof Inn. The only thing good about this is the price which is about $50 a night. The staff is very friendly and the hotel is in a quiet area. Thats where the good stuff ends. Rooms aren't very big and I always felt like I was closed in because the windows are on the outside walkway so you have to keep them closed for privacy. The windows don't open so you have to depend on the noisy A/C to get air. I hate to complain but the rooms I had was very musty and there was some mold in the shower. Hint, ZAP the mold with some anti mildew spray!

The location is good and a short drive to Asheville or Biltmore. The local area is nothing special but there is a Cracker Barrel right up the street so that helps.

If you want a bargain, go ahead. If you like a decent hotel, keep looking!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valleyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2006

For a basic hotel, this was not bad at all. The rooms were clean and had just what you needed. The outside is clean and well-maintained. Only 15 minutes away from the Biltmore (Exit 50, make sure to take I-40 WEST!), and it's located right off a major expressway, yet was super-quite. I recommend getting a room facing the back, though.

Cracker Barrel is right down the way, like 2 minutes, and in a very quaint area. Fine for a night stay or if you don't plan on being in your room a lot.

The office has complementary coffee, hot coco, cappucino and large, colored maps help get you around town.

I was surprised to learn that the hotel is 19 years old, as it looked practically new. The clerk on said that they were about to start renovation again soon, so be sure to ask how that is going when you book.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mev1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.5 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Asheville
WoodSpring Suites Asheville
#49 of 66 in Asheville
51 reviews
9.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn West
Sleep Inn West
#17 of 66 in Asheville
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Tunnel Road & I-40
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#26 of 66 in Asheville
300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Asheville West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Asheville West

Property: Red Roof Inn Asheville West
Address: 16 Crowell Rd, Asheville, NC 28806-1105
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
#14 Business Hotel in Asheville
#25 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Asheville West 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Asheville West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Asheville West Hotel Asheville
Asheville Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing