We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff, newly renovated rooms, 100% non-smoking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
Ranked #41 of 68 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary by visiting the Biltmore. This nice little hotel was conveniently located about 5 miles from the Biltmore. There was a Cracker Barrel almost right next door where we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast. The staff was very friendly. The rooms were newly renovated and 100% non-smoking. I don't usually care about the shower as long as it is decent, but this shower had great water pressure and felt almost like a massage. Enough so that I think it's worth mentioning (which is saying a lot for me). Free Wi-Fi in the room.
The ONLY slightly frustrating thing for me was no hair dryer in the room. They had them available, but you had to go pick one up from the front desk.
Besides this one little hiccup, I would have to say this hotel was a pleasant surprise to be so affordable and convenient to everything we did. I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfig, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

We are so pleased you chose us for your anniversary and visit to The Biltmore Estate. We are happy our accommodations and service was just what you needed to help celebrate your special day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 572 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

The front desk clerk was nice and so was the night shift clerk whom checked us in at a late hour. Close to Asheville and way cheaper than all the rest. Pass the Rodeway Inn and Comfort Inn and stay here, you don't regret it.
Room 124

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfig, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

We appreciate your choosing us in Asheville as we have recently remodeled, and offer a great room at a great price!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is an aging motel, but the room was nice, clean, and quiet. The beds were comfortable and the free WiFi worked fine. The front office staff was friendly and the free coffee was decent. It was very convenient to downtown Asheville -- about a 15 minute drive -- but much less expensive than staying downtown. Very good for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_Baggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfig, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thanks for staying with us! I am pleased that you found us to be convenient to downtown, clean, and a good price for our area. Our recently remodeled rooms offer a great alternative to staying downtown while in Asheville!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We recently stayed here. The most reasonably priced motel that takes pets. It was very clean and newly renovated but very short on amenities like hair dryer and in room coffee. We found out that for $7 more we could have had it but ti was never offered.
The entry is VERY confusing. The Lobby sign is so small we almost missed it. It looks like an enlarged closet !!
We were directed to the elevator in the middle.
The elevator was right across from the laundry where there were full laundry carts in the open.
This is the most pathetic entry we have ever seen. Quite in appropriate.
If you are into franchis food you will very please as it is almost impossible to find a real restarant between here and downtown Asheville !!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfig, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

We appreciate that you found us to be a good value in Asheville, and we are happy to have you and your pet stay with us. We offer several room types, with the Superior King rooms offering additional amenities--microfridge, hairdryer, iron, and an in room coffeemaker at a slightly higher price. You will find that there are several celebrated non chain restaurants such as Sunny Point Café, Nona Mia's as well as other choices in the West Asheville area approximately 5-6 minutes from the hotel, before you reach the downtown area. We hope you stay with us again and enjoy more of the local area and downtown Asheville!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was working in the Ashville area for a week. Stayed here b/c of the proximity to the work location. I have NEVER stayed at a RRI before due to their poor reputation. Let me say this was a VERY nice hotel. Older building that had a few cosmetic issues on the exterior (no big deal). The room was really nice and clean. The A/C worked as did the heat. I actually liked hot the heat was a separate from a/c unit. heat was electric on the wall in 2 places, which was nice so it didn't dry out the air as much. Bed was fairly comfy (not the best but not the worst). Liked how hotel is 100% smoke free (patrons are supposed to be 30 ft from building to smoke). Free wifi had a good speed. Had several eating options nearby (Applebee's, Fatz, Cracker Barrel, and many more). I wouldn't recommend for a family vacation b/c there is no pool, and the hotel does NOT provide a breakfast. Overall it's a great stay for the price.

Room Tip: stay off 1st floor. hotel is completely surrounded by parking. upper floors are a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geo-guy-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfig, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for giving us a try during you recent business trip to Asheville. Our rooms offer a great, clean value to business and leisure travelers in our area! I am glad you enjoyed our remodeled rooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here because of the low rate and was pleasantly surprised at the quality. Clean room and very comfortable, ample parking and wifi facilities. Would be very good for families, only a short drive from downtown Asheville and located near a Cracker Barrel and other eateries.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcfly_85_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfig, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

I am glad you found us to be a good value! We appreciate your staying with us--come and visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very friendly staff here. The hotel has been renovated but our room smelt musty. Not much more than a room here. No breakfast available. Quite a distance to downtown and you will need a car. Alright for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zenshideaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfig, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us--our staff enjoys helping people have a great Ashevllle experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
9.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn West
Sleep Inn West
#17 of 68 in Asheville
991 reviews
10 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Tunnel Road & I-40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#29 of 68 in Asheville
338 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate), NC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Asheville West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Asheville West

Address: 16 Crowell Rd, Asheville, NC 28806-1105
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
#14 Business Hotel in Asheville
#25 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $50 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Asheville West 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Roof Inn Asheville West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Asheville West Hotel Asheville
Asheville Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing