We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Asheville West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Asheville
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We've stayed at a lot of Red Roof Inns because they are super pet friendly. Pets are very welcome at no extra charge. This is by far the best property we've stayed at. Price is amazing. The locations was great. No, they don't have breakfast or even coffee in the room, but there's (good) fresh coffee in the lobby starting at 6 am, Hardee's, Dunkin Donuts, and Cracker Barrel are all within safe walking distance. By safe I mean no busy highways to cross, the entire place is safe.

We had a superior king on the "loud" side, next to the highway, but with the AC on at night, we never heard any traffic noise. Tell them you're if you're bringing a pet, because that's where the pet walking area is. Also ask for ground floor when you reserve, so much easier for pets, especially older ones like ours.

The room was exceptionally clean and plenty roomy. Great king bed, four pillows, flat screen TV, good internet connection. My only (very minor) complaint was that the towels were minimal, two relatively thin bath towels, minimal compared to everything else. Probably could have asked for extras.

People have commented on the charge for the in room safe. We did not use it, and were asked at check out if we had. Said no, and the charge was immediately taken off the bill. Be sure to ask for a receipt on check out to verify this.

Overall, a great stay. We'd go back any time we visit Asheville, NC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mathtac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfig, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while in Asheville--we enjoy offering our guests a great quality room at a reasonable price--hope to see you again if your travel plans take you through our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    198
    66
    24
    18
See reviews for
100
172
52
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed at the RRI one night as part of a weekend get-away. The room was clean, but with very few amenities. It had two double-beds and was big enough for 2 adults & 2 preteens, but with little room for anything else. We were surprised there was no in-room coffee maker. There were hot drinks in the lobby, but also many food options close by. Overall the room was sufficient since most of our time was spent out doing other things. Definitely a no frills accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyMack4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfig, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing us to stay with during your weekend getaway. I am happy that you found our newly renovated rooms offer a value and comfortable choice while touring the Asheville area. Come back and see us again should you be in the Asheville area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

They run what I consider to be a scam regarding use of the safe in the room. At check in the only way you can check in is to agree to have $1.50 added to your bill for the use of a safe in your room. You are not allowed to decline at check in. You can have the charge removed IF YOU SPECIFICALLY ASK at check out. They hope most people will forget.
I wrote to their corp website. They did not reply.
Finally after staying at another RR and reviewing it on tripadvisor and speaking to the manager there (they did not have safe's there), I got a call from their customer service dept.
Among other things she claimed that they can tell if you have used the safe, at which point I asked them why they can’t simply charge me if I use it. Towards the end of the conversation the agent spoke to her supervisor about my concern with their corrupt policy. His apparent only response was to have her tell me that I signed a form. He / she wouldn’t be bothered to talk to me. Absolutely no concern that they have lost me as a customer. It used to be the only chain that I stayed with if they had a location in town. NOW I NEVER STAY at another Red Roof.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler_315134599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfig, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
I apologize that you received this impression while staying at our inn. Our guests' safety and security is our number one priority, and we do offer safes in the room as an amenity to help protect your valuables while traveling. This is the intended purpose of our safes--and their only purpose. We hope that you will reconsider your decision as we value you as a customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a cat and we wanted to watch our expenditures so we made reservations at this hotel. I was so pleasantly pleased to find that our room was so comfortable and clean. We paid a total of $54 for the night. The beds were great. Our cat was also very comfortable :). I stayed in a Hard Rock Hotel one time that was nasty and that rate for the evening was ridiculous. Great going you folks at Red Roof Inn. Thanks for giving us a great room for a fabulous price!! We need more hotels to follow suit.

Room Tip: We were on the bottom floor not far from the highway but we heard very little, if any, road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfig, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your trip home. I am glad that you found our new beds to be comfortable for you and your pet! We hope to see you again in your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Went to Ashville for a last minute, weekend visit. Room was clean, looked like it was recently remodeled, very comfortable and a great value. Room was not overly spacious, but was large enough for two people. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loveroftrips86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfig, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
We thank you for staying with us during your trip! We are proud to offer our newly remodeled rooms at a great price. Hope to see you again if your travels take you through Asheville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I booked this room based on trip advisor reviews and I am so pleased to say I was not disappointed. The hotel was fully booked when we arrived and yet the staff were still pleasant and efficient. The room was clean and the "wood" floors were a nice bonus. (I hate hotel carpets). The superior king bed was huge and pretty comfortable. The view wasn't great but I didn't book it based on the scenery so I was fine with that. Close to an amazing Chinese buffet and only about 20 minutes from Biltmoe Estate. Total cost...$67. Thank you fellow travelers!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfig, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We appreciate your choosing us for your stay in Asheville! I'm glad you found our remodeled accommodations comfortable and affordable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was great! Hardwood floors, comfy bed, nice bathroom, and nice tv. You can not beat the value either! It took us less than 10 minutes to get downtown. We will most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfig, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We take pride in our new rooms and the value we offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn West
Sleep Inn West
#13 of 60 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 784 reviews
10.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#28 of 60 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Asheville Tunnel Road
10.0 mi away
Days Inn Biltmore East
Days Inn Biltmore East
#38 of 60 in Asheville
3.5 of 5 stars 794 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Asheville West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Asheville West

Property: Red Roof Inn Asheville West
Address: 16 Crowell Rd., Asheville, NC 28806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
#14 Business Hotel in Asheville
#25 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Asheville West 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn and Orbitz so you can book your Red Roof Inn Asheville West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Asheville West Hotel Asheville
Asheville Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing