We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Biltmore and Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We stayed here over Mother's Day weekend. We wanted to take my mother-in-law to the Biltmore. The hotel was about a 5-6 mile drive to the house and downtown. I was pleasantly surprised to how intimate the town felt. We were able to spend time at the house during the day, went and grabbed late lunch at the Asheville Bier Garden downtown, headed back to the Biltmore winery for tastings and finally had a drink at the Grove Park Inn. The hotel is right off the interstate and very easy to get to. The lobby was large but the pool water was a dirty green color while we were there so there was no swimming this trip. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant which was decent but a little over priced. Would have been better off hitting up a breakfast place instead. This was the second time we had stayed at this hotel and would most likely stay here again if we head back to Asheville.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank packfollower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 496 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2009

Not sure what other reviews are talking about. I just returned from a weekend trip and found everything to be nice including the lobby. Great location right off of the interstate so we could quickly get to everything. The pool was a bit small but served are needs. We had a room with sliding glass doors that opened right onto the indoor pool. which was nice. There was also a computer with printer that you could use in the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waterdogooder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2009

The hotel had a drab appearance on the inside. I get really annoyed when Hotels put their best foot forward with pictures of their newly remolded lobbies on their homepage but the rest of the hotel is WORN OUT. Our room was very old with tired looking carpet. Hotel staff was great however. Not worth what we paid. I would suggest the new holiday inn downtown its almost the same rate...

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank totallymytravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2009

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for a long weekend and found the hotel to be a pleasant surprise. The lobby is beautiful, rooms are large and clean, buffet breakfast adequate (especially for the price) and the staff is nice. The Biltmore , downtown Asheville are 10 minutes away and the hotel is convenietly located near a highway. The only problem that we had - we were unable to find water in any of the vending machines one night.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 02212012r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

I came here with my wife for 2 nights. We got a jacuzzi tub room for a very decent rate.

The staff was mostly competent but I have to ding a star for poor training of maid staff. Not everybody who comes here appreciates listening to loud Spanish conversations at early hours of the morning. Worse still is the unprofessional use the door lock as a door jam technique so the door slammed us awake every 30 secs as they cleaned the neighboring rooms (we were jet lagged so 8:30am was 5:30 am to us). The noise insulation level of the hotel was average at best and being near a busy road didn't help either.

That said, the property overall was nice and considering the rate was a solid deal even with the aforementioned issues. I did not use the common facilities but the jacuzzi tub in our room was excellent, even offering a view of the TV! The bathroom layout was clearly very recently renovated with an excellent shower. The bed was amazing, I believe a foam mattress and quality linens.

Conveniently located next to the freeway and a straight shot to downtown. I would stay here again if I was in Asheville because of the value of the room and excellent jacuzzi tub.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank cpbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

We really liked the price tag on this hotel (<$100/night), and found it to be clean and accommodating. We were about a 10 minute drive from nearly everything we wanted to see (downtown, Biltmore, etc.). Unfortunately, the pool was closed for most of our 2-night stay, and when it was open, there were lots of noisy kids running around (so, good if you've got kids but not so good if you're on a romantic get away). We enjoyed room service for breakfast both mornings (only a 20% service charge) and the bed was quite comfortable. The free wi-fi was and the cable selection were great, but a flat-screen TV to go with the cable would have been even better!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phreethynker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

Overall, we loved the comfort of the beds and linens. I did use the gym, but it only had 1 ellyptical and 2 treadmills. No weights or any other equipment. Worse, they didn't have any disinfectant to wipe down machines. The morning buffet and wonderful wait staff was great. The rugs in the corridors are ugly and stained and the keys for the locks were constantly in need of exchange. Even the desk people were quite tired of that! It is very convienant to the highway, yet still perfectly quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjwbigcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#29 of 66 in Asheville
320 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Asheville
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn West
Sleep Inn West
#16 of 66 in Asheville
965 reviews
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville at Asheville Outlet Mall, NC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West

Address: 435 Smokey Park Hwy, Asheville, NC 28806-1028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $110 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Mountains at Our Asheville, NC Hotel Come stay at the new Holiday Inn Hotel Asheville - Biltmore West and rediscover yourself in the Blue Ridge Mountains. Our hotel in Asheville is a place of relaxation and rejuvenation near the popular downtown area and just 11 miles from the Asheville Regional Airport (AVL). While lodging in Asheville, hotel guests will find many attractions nearby, such as the lovely Biltmore Estate, NC Arboretum and the arts district of downtown Asheville. Our hotel is also located near the Blue Ridge Parkway and Chimney Rock State Park, so you can experience the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains and discover waterfalls, hiking trails and rustic stops beyond the city limits of Asheville. Lodging in our hotel also provides business travelers with an ideal location near Thermo Fisher Scientific, First Step Farms, Slosman Corporation and other businesses in Asheville. Our accommodations offer over 4,700 square feet of flexible meeting space and a convenient on-site business center. We go beyond ordinary Asheville hotels to offer premium services like guaranteed wake-up calls, a breakfast bar, a fitness center and free high-speed, wireless Internet access. You can take a dip in our heated, indoor/outdoor pool and unwind with dinner and drinks at 435 Grill. We invite you to discover exceptional comfort at the Holiday Inn Hotel Asheville - Biltmore West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West Hotel Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing