We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you like to book through discount websites, BE WARNED- This hotel's staff will treat you like dirt. Booked through Priceline and requested a non-smoking room. Called before arrival to confirm and was told no non-smoking rooms were available. At check-in I again requested a non-smoking room and again was told none were available. Then I overheard the guy checking in next to me. He had no reservation but requested a non-smoking room and got one. I asked to speak with the manager, who told me because I booked through Priceline I couldn't change my reservation as it was "pre- paid". I told him I had requested non-smoking because priceline doesn't guarantee room type, it's based on availability according to website and he refused to give me the NS room still. And this was the foulest, most burned up outdated room in the hotel. I'm pretty sure the staff took their smoke breaks in there, it was that awful. Also had our camera stolen from the room. Too many nice hotels in the area to stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluegrasslass73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear bluegrasslass73,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. I am sorry that you were inconvenienced by the service received from our staff and the room accommodations you were given did not meet your expectations. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 504 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here while visiting the Biltmore Estate. The entire hotel has been updated. The rooms are contemporary and very clean and quiet as long as you are NOT near the pool which is in the lobby area. Pool is a nice size and clean. Breakfast is a nice buffet for $7.99 per adult. There is a separate menu for children as well as booster seats available. McDonalds is next door if you prefer that. All staff were very nice. Many restaurants are within a mile of this hotel. Beds are comfortable.

Room Tip: If you have children who will be swimming, be sure to ask for a first floor room near the pool. Thos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarthaIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I come to this location every April so that my children may compete in a Tae Kwon Do tournament. Last year our experience here was not that good due to an issue with the lounge and the front desk staff. However, it seems that is no longer and issue. The only issue I have is that they really do not acknowledge priority club members even though one the rooms I reserved was redeeming points from the club. With that said, the front desk folks were just fine with us. The morning breakfast was good and the wait staff was attentive too. I do however think that they remember us coming here every year. We did use the pool and had no issue with anyone complaining about us being noisy (as I have seen in a few other reviews). We usually stay on the second floor but this year we were on the third floor. I don't know if they updated the beds on that floor but they sure were comfortable. Also one employee, Annette stood out with us. Perhaps she remembered us from previous years but she made it a point to come over to the restaurant for breakfast and say hello to my boys. Overall something has happened here mostly with the staff. It was an excellent stay

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We recentely stayed at this Holiday Inn and I was expecting much more for $140 per night. The lobby area looked nice, but the rest of the hotel is not up to par. I don't know who thought it was a good idea to put a pool in the lobby, but that was a terrible idea. The staff at the hotel constantly fussed at the children in the pool for being too loud. What do you think kids in a pool will do? Not to mention who really wants the entire hotel watching you swim or relax by the pool. Every staff member we encountered was rude. The breakfast is way overpriced. The air conditioning never cooled the room down. The bathroom had no vent and the lights flashed on an off for about a minute before they would actually turn on. Rooms are very small and the beds seem small as well. Not your typical Holiday Inn experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashlee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Ashlee B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Please accept our apologies for the condition in which you found your room. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We will be addressing the matters with the respective departments in order to avoid these unnecessary issues in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This has become my family's meeting place from now on. it is half way for my family in Lee County Va and me in Mount Pleasant, NC . The kids love the indoor pool and are anxious to use the outdoor pool this summer. The rooms are so spacious and so nice and the beds sleep wonderfully. The rooms are very clean and just great! The restaurant is wonderful especially for breakfast buffett. Great variety of foods and big lobby area to sit around and visit and watch several different televisions. We just love it and plan to keep on coming back for our get togethers!

Room Tip: wonderful views and balconies on 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAREDSMOMCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Recently stayed here while traveling through the area. For the price paid, I was a little disappoined. It wasn't bad but for some reason I expected more. The room could have used better lighting and the internet sucked (I need good internet for my biz). No complimentary breakfast (even as a priority club member). The front desk people were nice as was the bartender but I don't know if I would choose this location again unless the internet was working better and a better price point.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creekguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Creekguy,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. I am truly sorry for the challenges you experience with the internet service. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note of your valuable comments and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel was a disappointment - the lobby was nice and the front desk staff very friendly, but the room was not worth the price. It was also very noisy - could hear noise from the elevator, halls, lobby, and pool, all in our room. I thought for the price it would have been a nicer property.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paular358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear paular358,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. I appreciate the compliments on the hotel lobby and staff. I understand that having a good night sleep is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. I am sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the level of noise encountered and if you found the room rates less than satisfactory. I have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

While I understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
10.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#29 of 66 in Asheville
325 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn West
Sleep Inn West
#17 of 66 in Asheville
975 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West

Address: 435 Smokey Park Hwy, Asheville, NC 28806-1028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $104 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Mountains at Our Asheville, NC Hotel Come stay at the new Holiday Inn Hotel Asheville - Biltmore West and rediscover yourself in the Blue Ridge Mountains. Our hotel in Asheville is a place of relaxation and rejuvenation near the popular downtown area and just 11 miles from the Asheville Regional Airport (AVL). While lodging in Asheville, hotel guests will find many attractions nearby, such as the lovely Biltmore Estate, NC Arboretum and the arts district of downtown Asheville. Our hotel is also located near the Blue Ridge Parkway and Chimney Rock State Park, so you can experience the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains and discover waterfalls, hiking trails and rustic stops beyond the city limits of Asheville. Lodging in our hotel also provides business travelers with an ideal location near Thermo Fisher Scientific, First Step Farms, Slosman Corporation and other businesses in Asheville. Our accommodations offer over 4,700 square feet of flexible meeting space and a convenient on-site business center. We go beyond ordinary Asheville hotels to offer premium services like guaranteed wake-up calls, a breakfast bar, a fitness center and free high-speed, wireless Internet access. You can take a dip in our heated, indoor/outdoor pool and unwind with dinner and drinks at 435 Grill. We invite you to discover exceptional comfort at the Holiday Inn Hotel Asheville - Biltmore West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West Hotel Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing