We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep moving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Lacking in customer service, wi-fi problematic, rooms compact with miniature pillows. Changing Chanel's on the tv takes about 15 secs each change. Staff not fluent enough on local attractions or directions and not very convenient to local attractions.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmysim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear jimmysim,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept my sincerest apology if your stay was negatively affected by the customer service and quality of the hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

I trust that the above issues will not deter you from choosing us as your hotel on your next visit to Asheville.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 504 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here recently with my wife and two boys. The lobby, room and surrounding are clean. The free WIFI is fast.No complaints about he staff. Breakfast buffet is average. Supposedly "kids less than 12 eat free with each paying adult" but for breakfast buffet, kids can order only from kids menu. Kids cannot get from the breakfast buffet table. Fortunately kids price for buffet, is only $3.99- still a bargain but other Holiday Inn hotels lets kids eat free from buffet and not be restricted to the kids menu.
Five months prior, I stayed at Country Inn and Suites (1914 Old Haywood Road, Asheville, NC) two traffic lights away (about 3 minutes drive) same interstate exit as Holiday Inn hotel. Country Inn and Suites is a much newer facility and much better rating but $20-50 more expensive. The free breakfast buffet is above average. .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentuckyFamilyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I blocked some rooms at this hotel for out of town guests for our wedding this past weekend. One of our guests was a dear friend who flew all of the way from Spain to join us on our special day. The wedding was on Saturday, and it went well into the evening. When our friend returned to her room, her bag was on a luggage cart in the hallway and her purse containing her passport, money, tablet and phone was no where to be found. Upon further investigation, the night person had spotted her bag in the hallway and put in the back. The purse was no where to be found. Hours later. as we had already driven back to Atlanta, we received a call from the hotel that the purse had been in the safe the entire time. The manager at the desk could not have possibly been more indifferent throughout the entire event. She simply stood there shrugging her shoulders and doing nothing as we filled out a police report and our friend sobbed uncontrollably trying to figure out how she was going to get back to Spain without a passport. No one ever explained how the bags ended up in the hallway in the first place, which is the biggest question mark of all. The hotel staff could not have been more indifferent and incompetent. Do not stay at this hotel. Sincerely,
Patrick E

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed 3 nights. It was OK. As a PC member, I'd expect a bit more of a Holiday Inn. About the best or worst I can say is: "it suited our needs". Nothing glamourous nor special. It was handy to town and our business and visiting needs. Didn't use the facility for much more than a place to sleep. Day 2: A tip left on the nightstand did increase the number of towels in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaded-Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Spent two nights here while attending a family event, and it was certainly acceptable for the price. We had a 5th floor room that was clean and well equipped with a refrigerator and good Wifi. There are only 3 slow elevators that are widely spaced so getting up and down was sometimes slow, but otherwise things were fine. We also ate at the lounge one night and the service was excellent. Food was average but came fast and in nice sized portions.

Room Tip: Ask the desk about the best place to park base on your room as there are several entrances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerseymariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

With the exception of Annette, others at the front desk acted as if they were doing us a favor making our room booked in August available by check in time. Bed linens are wash worn and only two towels provided. Even less expensive hotels provide continental breakfast. Back to the Hampton for us.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foreversister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

My travel agency booked a double for me. Upon arrival, I requested a king as I usually get upgraded due to my platinum status.. They couldn't accomodate due to being sold out. As a business traveler (40+ weeks per year), I understand that upgrades are subject to availability; however, Bobby's approach was rather blunt and disrespectful. I feel that I was spoken to condescendingly and not as a platinum guest should be.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brookiej1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear brookiej1,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Platinum Rewards Member and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am glad that you found our room accommodations satisfactory enough for your needs. I am truly sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience due to the treatment you received from our staff. I will follow up with our staff to ensure incidents like this won't happen again.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
10.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#29 of 66 in Asheville
325 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn West
Sleep Inn West
#17 of 66 in Asheville
974 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West

Address: 435 Smokey Park Hwy, Asheville, NC 28806-1028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $104 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Mountains at Our Asheville, NC Hotel Come stay at the new Holiday Inn Hotel Asheville - Biltmore West and rediscover yourself in the Blue Ridge Mountains. Our hotel in Asheville is a place of relaxation and rejuvenation near the popular downtown area and just 11 miles from the Asheville Regional Airport (AVL). While lodging in Asheville, hotel guests will find many attractions nearby, such as the lovely Biltmore Estate, NC Arboretum and the arts district of downtown Asheville. Our hotel is also located near the Blue Ridge Parkway and Chimney Rock State Park, so you can experience the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains and discover waterfalls, hiking trails and rustic stops beyond the city limits of Asheville. Lodging in our hotel also provides business travelers with an ideal location near Thermo Fisher Scientific, First Step Farms, Slosman Corporation and other businesses in Asheville. Our accommodations offer over 4,700 square feet of flexible meeting space and a convenient on-site business center. We go beyond ordinary Asheville hotels to offer premium services like guaranteed wake-up calls, a breakfast bar, a fitness center and free high-speed, wireless Internet access. You can take a dip in our heated, indoor/outdoor pool and unwind with dinner and drinks at 435 Grill. We invite you to discover exceptional comfort at the Holiday Inn Hotel Asheville - Biltmore West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West Hotel Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing