We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
Ranked #31 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Holiday Inn during a recent vacation to Asheville, and am very disappointed in Holiday Inn. It was very difficult to sleep, because the bottom sheet wouldn't stay on the bed (it wasn't just us - I saw a couple of other reviews with the same problem). I'm not sure why H.I. is skimping on the pillows, but we had a king sized bed and the pillows were the size of marshmallows. The room was dingy and the walls were very scuffed. Also, the mini-fridge was missing from the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyDPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear NancyDPA,

Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. I am sorry you were not fully satisfied with the room you received. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    178
    94
    35
    21
See reviews for
167
148
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We mistakenly booked this hotel thinking it was the Holiday Inn-Biltmore East. Therefore, we missed the previous reviews. Our room had a musty smell and the walls were stained, dingy, and shabby. The air conditioner didn't function properly. Hotel needs updating. On the other hand, the staff was friendly and the rates were very reasonable. The room was neat and the bathroom clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 565Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear 565Thomas,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I went to this hotel for Labor Day Weekend. We previously stayed at this hotel in February. During the checkin process, the desk clerk talked to someone else while serving us, didn't thank us for being a Priority Club member and didn't thank us for staying there. It went downhill from there. We stayed at the 6th floor, and we were immediately greeted with the smell of cheap perfume and cigarette smoke and stains on the hallway carpet. The bath towels reeked of cigarette smoke, even though the room itself smelled clean. The AC worked okay, and the beds were comfortable. When we checked out, the desk clerk didn't thank us for staying, nor did she ask how our stay was. It was like wham, bam, no thank you ma'am.

Is it too much to ask for? Make us feel welcome! But because of our latest experience, we probably won't come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Russ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Russ G,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Member and for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had with the condition of our facilities and the poor service you received during your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Another wonderful weekend stay! Bobby at the front desk was wonderful at check-in and even checked on us the next day. Scott made sure every meal was exceptional (breakfast is highly recommended). Be sure to see Raina at the bar. She is a gem and we wish we didn't live so far away so that we could talk to her more often. (Thank you Raina for fixing my back so I could enjoy a concert!)

We had a room with a whirlpool tub and separate shower. The king size pillowtop was heavenly. We didn't have any issues with the sheets, and our room was spotlessly clean. They use Bath & Body products if you forget shampoo/lotion/soap.

The only negative I could find is that there was a water stain on the curtain in our room. If that's a big deal to you, go find a $400 room-but you'll be missing out on everything else this hotel offers. Also, the main jacuzzi was out of order - a kid had put pancakes in it and they had to drain and refill - not the hotel's fault.

Overall, we love this hotel. It is comfortable, clean, and a wonderfull staff (kudos to management-some of the staff has been here since our last stay). We are looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaribbeanBound11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I can't say enough what a great stay we've had at this hotel. We had booked a different place to stay originally - awful, dirty, smelly cabins that looked great online but were a totally different story when you got there. Long story short, we ended up leaving that place and made our way here. The front desk staff was amazing! It was later in the evening and they set us up in a beautiful king room for an amazing deal and treated us to a glass of wine and cheese for our anniversary. All we were looking for was a clean bed to rest our weary heads on and they went above and beyond for us. They proved that good customer service really does still exist. The room itself was very clean, smelled fresh and had up to date amenities. The lounge's food and wait staff were excellent. We will stay here again, these folks have our business for life.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandRRoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Kansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

I haven't even checked out and I just had to warn travelers not to stay here. I did not check TA or look up Holiday Inn rates. As a Priority Club Rewards member I assumed all would be well. Not so. First the positive ( the only one). The room/ bathroom was very clean. Ok, for the rest. The fitted top sheets not deep enough and kept popping off all night. Without a mattress pad I don't really like sleeping on a bare mattress that isn't mine. When I brought this to the attention of the front desk ..nothing..blank stare...the elevators are very slow. The room smelled terrible. There is a breakfast.. But you have to pay. Their free coffee in lobby is not good at all... Very strong. I looked up their rates on their website and was charged 8.00 more. I realize the walls In the rooms get bumped and furniture gets stained, but this room is long overdue for a touch up.Desk chair had some scary black stain.Paint doesn't cost much. The only pleasant person I met was the housekeeping gentleman.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank peabodygal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear peabodygal7,

Thank you very much for being a Priority Club Member and for taking the time to share your comments online. I am glad you found our housekeeping staff pleasant. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with your room accommodation as well as our facilities and services. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Once again, thank you for alerting us and bringing these unsatisfactory circumstances to our attention.

I sincerely hope that the next time you are in Asheville you will give our hotel another try.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Good points: hotel was neat & clean
Bad: Room smelled VERY musty/mildew. Air conditioning never worked. Would have changed rooms if wasn't so tired, late, unpacked & p.j.'s.
Advice: stay here but make sure AC works and doesn't smell like mildew!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Curi0us22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Curi0us22,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I'm so glad you liked the cleanliness of our hotel. Your comments encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. Please allow me to apologize for the unusual condition of your room and any inconvenience you may have experienced. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you would give us a chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Asheville
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#26 of 65 in Asheville
295 reviews
10.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn West
Sleep Inn West
#16 of 65 in Asheville
924 reviews
0.2 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Asheville
WoodSpring Suites Asheville
#48 of 65 in Asheville
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West

Property: Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
Address: 435 Smokey Park Hwy, Asheville, NC 28806-1028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Mountains at Our Asheville, NC Hotel Come stay at the new Holiday Inn Hotel Asheville - Biltmore West and rediscover yourself in the Blue Ridge Mountains. Our hotel in Asheville is a place of relaxation and rejuvenation near the popular downtown area and just 11 miles from the Asheville Regional Airport (AVL). While lodging in Asheville, hotel guests will find many attractions nearby, such as the lovely Biltmore Estate, NC Arboretum and the arts district of downtown Asheville. Our hotel is also located near the Blue Ridge Parkway and Chimney Rock State Park, so you can experience the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains and discover waterfalls, hiking trails and rustic stops beyond the city limits of Asheville. Lodging in our hotel also provides business travelers with an ideal location near Thermo Fisher Scientific, First Step Farms, Slosman Corporation and other businesses in Asheville. Our accommodations offer over 4,700 square feet of flexible meeting space and a convenient on-site business center. We go beyond ordinary Asheville hotels to offer premium services like guaranteed wake-up calls, a breakfast bar, a fitness center and free high-speed, wireless Internet access. You can take a dip in our heated, indoor/outdoor pool and unwind with dinner and drinks at 435 Grill. We invite you to discover exceptional comfort at the Holiday Inn Hotel Asheville - Biltmore West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West Hotel Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing